Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Dig MOST Of 'Em
Gotta say, I enjoyed this break from hardcore rockin' and rollin', r&b, doo wop, country(billy) and similar. Its content is mainly teen, tho most of the artists were new to me. The big-hitter here is Freddy Cannon, with five cuts, including the lesser (but enjoyable) 'Transistor Sister', but the mighty 'Buzz Buzz A-Diddle-It' - instant replay! - more than compensates;...
Published 5 months ago by Tony Martin

versus
0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Not bad
Published 4 months ago by T Kings


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Dig MOST Of 'Em, 21 July 2014
By 
Tony Martin - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: I Dig 'Em All: The Swan Records Story 1957-1962 [Double CD] (Audio CD)
Gotta say, I enjoyed this break from hardcore rockin' and rollin', r&b, doo wop, country(billy) and similar. Its content is mainly teen, tho most of the artists were new to me. The big-hitter here is Freddy Cannon, with five cuts, including the lesser (but enjoyable) 'Transistor Sister', but the mighty 'Buzz Buzz A-Diddle-It' - instant replay! - more than compensates; perfect teen r&r of the period. Danny & The Juniors are pleasant enough, perhaps they should've left 'A Thousand Miles Away' to Shep and chums. Maybe rockabilly legend Ronnie Dawson is still embarrassed by his 'pop' outings? Billie & Lillie are r&b'ish, the Frankie Grier Quartet try pop doo wop, Ron Hoffman's 'Sleep Baby Sleep' is a teen rocker, fine guitar. Talking of which, Roy Buchanan throws in tricks for the instro 'Mule Train Stomp' (he's the guitarist on 'Buzz Buzz...') and 'Wild Weekend' was a moody sax and guitar hit for The Rockin' Rebels. Couple other instros worthy of mention: Jackie Lee's 'Happy Vacation' is an organ-led item (Cherry Wainer on speed!) and 'Flying Circle' by Frank Slay is the old kletzma kosher klassic 'Hava Nagila', tho Slay claims composer credits! Novelty item 'I'm No Run Around', by Ginger Davis & The Snaps is the answer to Dion's 'Runaround Sue', almost note-for-note backing, too.

I'd lose The Upbeats, pure schmaltz, likewise The Quaker City Boys (college sing-song) and move the opener down the pecking order - shrieking girly backing. But overall, I derived a degree of pleasure from the set. Probably because it reminded me to those early 60's record buying jaunts I so enjoyed. (I bought 'That's Life' by Gabriel & The Angels, sorta pop doo wop, didn't know they'd released another, so 'Don't Wanna Twist No More' is a bonus). But if you dig teen, this'll do it for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ne Ne Na Na Nu Nu, 28 Aug 2014
This review is from: I Dig 'Em All: The Swan Records Story 1957-1962 [Double CD] (Audio CD)
The hit-making machine Freddy Cannon is the major highlight here, but there's other content to discover. The genre is mainly "pop-ish" to coin a modern adjective, although this music does encompass the Rock N' Roll Era. There are some great instrumentals like "Wild Weekend" by the Rockin' Rebels, No. 5 in 1963 (released though in '62).

Teddy & The Twilights "Woman is man's best friend" should have been a bigger hit in its day.

Dicky Doo & The Dont's just show you how fun music and radio was in the past. Probably the stupidest (if the superlative exists) song on record Ne Ne Na Na Nu Nu, but would have been fun to play if I were a DJ in 1958.

All in all, another fine release from ONE DAY and another series for my collection at home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 13 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Dig 'Em All: The Swan Records Story 1957-1962 [Double CD] (Audio CD)
Some great tracks that I have not herd before
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Aug 2014
This review is from: I Dig 'Em All: The Swan Records Story 1957-1962 [Double CD] (Audio CD)
Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 23 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Dig 'Em All: The Swan Records Story 1957-1962 [Double CD] (Audio CD)
Ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Dig 'Em All: The Swan Records Story 1957-1962 [Double CD] (Audio CD)
Not bad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews