Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A solid intoduction to Britpop, with 14 unreleased performances
To anybody who already owns a boxset or even a single CD of Britpop music, the track listing here has a familar look to it.

On this new compilation, you have 44 classic hits, cherry picked by by the BBC Radio One's "Evening Session" presenters Steve Lamacq and Jo Whiley. Virtually all the bands you've expect to be featured can be found on the first two CDs with...
Published 2 months ago by ReviewBlog51

versus
24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not At The BBC. Should Be "Now That's What I Call Britpop"
It's great for what it is, but the album title is proper trades description super-misleading. The bonus disc is the only one that fits the album's title, having been recorded at a BBC Evening Session. The other 2 CDs are original releases, which is fine if you don't have the originals, but I largely do, and was thinking this album would all be culled from the BBC...
Published 2 months ago by M. Stent


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not At The BBC. Should Be "Now That's What I Call Britpop", 15 July 2014
By 
M. Stent (Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britpop At The BBC (Audio CD)
It's great for what it is, but the album title is proper trades description super-misleading. The bonus disc is the only one that fits the album's title, having been recorded at a BBC Evening Session. The other 2 CDs are original releases, which is fine if you don't have the originals, but I largely do, and was thinking this album would all be culled from the BBC archives. It ain't, and I feel conned, so buyer beware.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not at the BBC, 14 July 2014
By 
Ms. L. J. Sargent "Lisa" (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britpop At The BBC (Audio CD)
Not actually from the BBC. They are the studio versions and a waste of money. You could have got the studio versions from I Tunes, or better still, from the BBC itself. Total waste of time and why Amazon sent me an incentive to buy it is just a waste of time too. I'm listening to it now and not one bit is the BBC and the live section is an after thought. All they have done is added the DJ's name and made it look big by putting BBC initials on it. Joke!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A solid intoduction to Britpop, with 14 unreleased performances, 14 July 2014
By 
ReviewBlog51 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Britpop At The BBC (Audio CD)
To anybody who already owns a boxset or even a single CD of Britpop music, the track listing here has a familar look to it.

On this new compilation, you have 44 classic hits, cherry picked by by the BBC Radio One's "Evening Session" presenters Steve Lamacq and Jo Whiley. Virtually all the bands you've expect to be featured can be found on the first two CDs with one song each, including Oasis, Blur, Ocean Colour Scene, Shed Seven, Ash and Cast to name six of my favourites. What you have in itself is an excellent compilation of songs known by people of all ages, and a great way to introduce a friend to the genre. To any established listener though, there should be very few surprises, and chances are you already own the majority of these songs on other compilations anyway, or indeed selected band's studio albums.

However, what makes this three disc set really special (and actually has relevance to the title), is that it collects 14 tracks on the third CD of important band's archival performances recorded for ''The Evening Session'', and features unreleased performances by Supergrass, Pulp, Suede and The Charlatans. These gems will be of interest to any avid fan, and considering you are paying the same price often recommended for a single CD, never mind a boxset, I think it is excellent value for money. Here's hoping an album devoted entirely to such unreleased material will come about some day.

'Britpop at the BBC' celebrates 20 years since the Britpop era, and is a solid reminder and souvenir of all the quality music which came from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Britpop NOT at the BBC, 28 July 2014
This review is from: Britpop At The BBC (Audio CD)
The title is misleading as this is quintessentially a Britpop compilation of singles and album cuts. Disc 3 is a selection of BBC in Concert tracks. Certain tracks are stretching Britpop to it's very limit.

Packaging is digipack, so the term box set is very loose.

I was less than pleased when a week after release Amazon reduced the price by £2, but with very few viable alternatives to the behemoth that is Amazon, I have to put up with the constant issues I have personally with them.

As a compilation for a breezy lazy afternoon it suffices with some dross and some outstanding tracks, just wish it had been 'in session' tracks and alternate takes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sleeve is misleading, 28 July 2014
By 
Mr Mark Harrison (Litlington, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Britpop At The BBC (Audio CD)
Was expecting live recordings seeing the CD is called....."at the bbc" but in actual fact is 2 CD's of studio recordings + a bonus CD from the evening session. This isn't made clear on the sleeve. Also, the definition of britpop is a bit loose...wannadies and cardigans are Swedish and songs by the La's and Manics are about 4 or 5 years early. Not great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britpop At The BBC (Audio CD)
A good collection of the music from the Britpop period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britpop At The BBC (Audio CD)
I bought this as a present and my brother loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 27 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britpop At The BBC (Audio CD)
Good cd but telco selling 2 pound cheeper
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britpop At The BBC (Audio CD)
Brilliant album :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SOLID COMPILATION OF BRITPOP GEMS, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britpop At The BBC (Audio CD)
Its not a live at the BBC or the old grey whistle test that some buyers may mistake this compilation album for, but a solid introduction to a much celebrated and at times maligned genre that sunk faster than a stone.

across two discs we have bands that where not associated with Britpop but do so in spirit like Manic Street Preachers "Motorcycle Emptiness" which showed they had songs of chart potential whilst being balanced out by the mournful yet yearning "Creep" by Radiohead through to the suger rush of Ash's "Girl From Mars" a song that has yet to age and wither.

Its also good so see "Happy Man" by the verve make an appearence as opposed to the often overplayed "bittersweet symphony" coupled with the one two of Blurs " parklife" and oasis's "wonderwall".

But what is aslo good to see is the less celebrated bands and one hit wonders like Elastica, Catatonia, Pulp, Suede, The Boo Radleys, Dodgy, lush and The wannadies giving the album a nice balance of quality whilst being let down slightly by one band that where more or less scenesters than celebrated musicians like Menswear.

The 3rd disc of live performances by some of the bands above round this compilation off well.

for under ten quid its a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Britpop At The BBC
Britpop At The BBC by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews