Shop now Shop now Shop now Wedding Guest Edit Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars16
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.84+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 July 2014
It's great for what it is, but the album title is proper trades description super-misleading. The bonus disc is the only one that fits the album's title, having been recorded at a BBC Evening Session. The other 2 CDs are original releases, which is fine if you don't have the originals, but I largely do, and was thinking this album would all be culled from the BBC archives. It ain't, and I feel conned, so buyer beware.
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2014
Not actually from the BBC. They are the studio versions and a waste of money. You could have got the studio versions from I Tunes, or better still, from the BBC itself. Total waste of time and why Amazon sent me an incentive to buy it is just a waste of time too. I'm listening to it now and not one bit is the BBC and the live section is an after thought. All they have done is added the DJ's name and made it look big by putting BBC initials on it. Joke!
11 comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 14 July 2014
To anybody who already owns a boxset or even a single CD of Britpop music, the track listing here has a familar look to it.

On this new compilation, you have 44 classic hits, cherry picked by by the BBC Radio One's "Evening Session" presenters Steve Lamacq and Jo Whiley. Virtually all the bands you've expect to be featured can be found on the first two CDs with one song each, including Oasis, Blur, Ocean Colour Scene, Shed Seven, Ash and Cast to name six of my favourites. What you have in itself is an excellent compilation of songs known by people of all ages, and a great way to introduce a friend to the genre. To any established listener though, there should be very few surprises, and chances are you already own the majority of these songs on other compilations anyway, or indeed selected band's studio albums.

However, what makes this three disc set really special (and actually has relevance to the title), is that it collects 14 tracks on the third CD of important band's archival performances recorded for ''The Evening Session'', and features unreleased performances by Supergrass, Pulp, Suede and The Charlatans. These gems will be of interest to any avid fan, and considering you are paying the same price often recommended for a single CD, never mind a boxset, I think it is excellent value for money. Here's hoping an album devoted entirely to such unreleased material will come about some day.

'Britpop at the BBC' celebrates 20 years since the Britpop era, and is a solid reminder and souvenir of all the quality music which came from it.
11 comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2015
Bought as a Christmas gift for my husband who loves the music of this era. It is exactly as described and delivery was very quick! Good selection of songs as well as some that we haven't heard before.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2014
The title is misleading as this is quintessentially a Britpop compilation of singles and album cuts. Disc 3 is a selection of BBC in Concert tracks. Certain tracks are stretching Britpop to it's very limit.

Packaging is digipack, so the term box set is very loose.

I was less than pleased when a week after release Amazon reduced the price by £2, but with very few viable alternatives to the behemoth that is Amazon, I have to put up with the constant issues I have personally with them.

As a compilation for a breezy lazy afternoon it suffices with some dross and some outstanding tracks, just wish it had been 'in session' tracks and alternate takes.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2014
Was expecting live recordings seeing the CD is called....."at the bbc" but in actual fact is 2 CD's of studio recordings + a bonus CD from the evening session. This isn't made clear on the sleeve. Also, the definition of britpop is a bit loose...wannadies and cardigans are Swedish and songs by the La's and Manics are about 4 or 5 years early. Not great.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2014
Brilliant album :)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2015
What a shame, it's not live version , just the third cd but good compilation
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2014
I bought this as a present and my brother loves it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2014
Good cd but telco selling 2 pound cheeper
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)