Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT!
As you would expect from David after all the years of high class entertainment he has given us all over the years BRILLIANT!
Published 8 months ago by Wayne Bradshaw

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not great.
Well that was mostly embarrassing. The first 5 seasons were excellent, but it's now turned into a cartoon. I still managed to watch it 'til the end, but some of the episodes were just plain awful (as one other reviewer noted, the scene with the hologram at funeral is where it jumped the shark). Yes, I'll still watch the next season, but they really need to get away from...
Published 5 months ago by SausageSupper


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not great., 29 July 2014
Well that was mostly embarrassing. The first 5 seasons were excellent, but it's now turned into a cartoon. I still managed to watch it 'til the end, but some of the episodes were just plain awful (as one other reviewer noted, the scene with the hologram at funeral is where it jumped the shark). Yes, I'll still watch the next season, but they really need to get away from the 'crazy famous person hires Hank to write blah blah whilst the rest of the cast just do slapstick and see how many swear words and sexual deviance they can fit in an episode' formula. Previous seasons were the right mix of funny, intelligent and risqué...fingers crossed for season 7!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shows signs of probable irreversible failure., 7 July 2014
If I cleanse my mind of the last episode and think objectively, season 6 was passably pleasant. There were some good elements and characters but there were also some absolutely awful points. First, the awful:

1) the hologram at the funeral - when Californication ends, this will be a top contender for the 'jumping the shark' moment
2) Marilyn Manson's cameos - he's past his prime musically and physically; his cameos just feel like a marketing exec's plan for extra 'celeb' exposure
3) the god-awful continuing 'will-they-won't-they' of Karen and Hank - this really was the 'suspicious chocolate' icing on the cake of the last episode
4) the re-use of Lew Ashby via dream-sequence - Lew was certainly one of my favourite characters but dream sequences really don't belong in CF (except the opening of the pilot)

The good points:
1) Bates returns every so often, always welcome in my book
2) the episode about critiquing showed how Faith had true potential as a parallel with the Greek muses; I've always been unsure about whether CF is a subtly intelligent show with allusions to great literature like Gatsby (season 2) or Lolita (season 3) but said allusions are always weak at best. It was nice having the parallel of Hank critiquing Becca and then himself getting blasted, but it did feel rather alone is an otherwise aimless season
3) Rob Lowe makes another appearance, although I accept that that may be a bad point for some
4) Stephen Tobolowsky - it's a pity he's not in it more
5) Tim Minchin - again, some people hate his character and the whole wild, sex-crazed rockstar has been done several times before but I still like him

So, yeah; if you're a dyed-in-the-wool fan then go ahead and watch season 6. But if you're new to CF or just want to keep your good memories of the early seasons then just pretend Hank drowned in the pool or from the psycho-ex's pills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a little disappointing, 1 Jun 2014
By 
Laura (St Albans, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not the best series they've done...felt like they were scraping the barrel for story lines this time. Some odd extra characters too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT!, 25 April 2014
As you would expect from David after all the years of high class entertainment he has given us all over the years BRILLIANT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Madafakaaaaaaaa!, 21 May 2014
By 
K. White (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"Worst intervention everrrrrrr" Hank Moody is a legend. For those new to Californication you need to watch Seasons 1-5 before watching this instalment. For seasoned veterans there is no need to review as this is a must have addition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars What's the point?, 14 Sep 2014
What's the point. I love Californication. But I'm starting to see a pattern. Introduce interesting characters that are fun and interesting (Love Tim Minction) also through in a strong confident female character that shows no interest in Hank Moody. Then by episode 4/5 starts sleeping with him anyway (3 seasons in a row?). And then by the end say good bye because there is no possible way you are seeing these characters ever again.

I always feel good characters deserve good character development. Sadly there is almost no development between this season and season 1. Despite this I still enjoy watching the show. It's funny and at times relatable. Even though Hank is still the same as he was in season 1. As is Karen, Charlie and Marcie. Becki got too old to be the all knowing child after season 3 and they have had trouble writing for her ever since.

Going into season 7 I can't help feel they need to take a gamble and actually comite to changing things up. Showtime have always been afraid of developing/changing characters. Which lead to the final few seasons of Dexter almost spoiling the show as a whole.

I honestly hope they have the courage to change things up because this show is heading down a all to familiar path.

P.S. Tim Minchin is fantastic in this season and is a complete scene stealer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great!, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed it as a fan of previous series.
I wonder where they can go with it next, the formula is almost exhausted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved Season 6, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Can't wait for the next season, Hank great as ever.....
Good to see Tim Minchen doing well too....
Roll on Season 7
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars more of the same, 26 May 2014
By 
ROGER BARLOW (LONDON/NEW YORK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i guess its harder for a frivolous sex comedy to remain interesting for 6 seasons in the way that more gritty shows like breaking bad or the sopranos did. this is still worth watching if you are a fan but it feels like they've ran out of ideas. tim minchin's role as the sex addict washed up rock star doesn't help proceedings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic acting Brilliant funny sad has all the elements of a brilliant cast well done very enjoyable can't wait for more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Unforgiven
The Unforgiven by David Duchovny
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews