Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I WANT MY LIFE BACK
Ryan (Noel Clarke) suffers from PTSD. He has severe memory lapses where he is someone else. He has 10 minute intervals to "reboot." During those 10 minute intervals he tries to save a young boy (Art Parkinson) a prostitute (Alexis Knapp) and the world while keeping time with an Omega watch and trying to figure things out.

This was an interesting sci-fi...
Published 7 months ago by The Movie Guy

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Noel Clarle self promotion movie!
A confusing mess of a complex movie, directed and starring Noel Clarke as the film's hero.
It's difficult to tell whether the movie has a genuinely complex plot or whether it is a a much simpler tale but confusingly told.
Noel Clarke isn't the most convincing actor in the world and his directing chops seem no better.
Unfortunately this movie seems nothing...
Published 2 months ago by Mr. K. Lam


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I WANT MY LIFE BACK, 20 Oct. 2014
This review is from: The Anomaly [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Ryan (Noel Clarke) suffers from PTSD. He has severe memory lapses where he is someone else. He has 10 minute intervals to "reboot." During those 10 minute intervals he tries to save a young boy (Art Parkinson) a prostitute (Alexis Knapp) and the world while keeping time with an Omega watch and trying to figure things out.

This was an interesting sci-fi film as well as an action film as Ryan physically battles his employers and their enemies too. The computer graphics and special effects were excellent for an indie. There is an air of mystery as Ryan and the audience try to figure out what is happening. A must for indie sci-fi fans.

Parental Guidance F-bomb, sex, nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A true gem for the true sci-fi fan - don't miss it!, 11 Dec. 2014
By 
Tue Sorensen (Denmark, Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Anomaly [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
As I watched The Anomaly, I was a happy camper. Excitement and suspense with a completely new scene every 9 min. 47 seconds, very decent martial arts action which I love in combination with sci-fi, and a complex story that only very gradually becomes clear. I am a seasoned sci-fi fan, and unlike most people, judging by the amount of poor reviews this movie has received, I recognize a good science fiction script when I see it. This was a surprisingly complex story with lots of twists and turns and great details. It continued to build my suspense and awe all the way to the finish. Even the motivation of the bad guy (Father) was so interesting that I almost disagree with calling him a bad guy! He just wanted to stop war and suffering. His son, of course, was a bit different...

But it was an intelligent script that made demands of the viewers; they had to think for themselves in order to piece things together; it did not hold the viewer's hand all the way through like most movies. Good! Great work, Mssrs. Clarke & Lewis!

Did the story have shortcomings? Perhaps a few, especially in the climactic scene. What the hell was that acid stuff, and why was Alex enfolded in plastic that contained such acid? Seemed a bit silly. The whole thing with Alex was pretty much just a McGuffin to move the plot along. But that's nothing compared to the nonsensical silliness in most action and low-budget sci-fi efforts, so it really doesn't detract that much from the overall impression. And being impressed, that overall impression is: Impressive!! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Noel Clarle self promotion movie!, 16 Mar. 2015
By 
Mr. K. Lam (South Midlands UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Anomaly (DVD)
A confusing mess of a complex movie, directed and starring Noel Clarke as the film's hero.
It's difficult to tell whether the movie has a genuinely complex plot or whether it is a a much simpler tale but confusingly told.
Noel Clarke isn't the most convincing actor in the world and his directing chops seem no better.
Unfortunately this movie seems nothing more than an attempt of self promotion by Noel Clarke to sell himself as a James Bond/Jean Claude Van Dame action movie star.
A pretty forgettable watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Ambitious Effort on a Low Budget, 10 July 2014
This review is from: The Anomaly [DVD] (DVD)
Set in the future, ex-soldier Ryan (Noel Clarke) awakens in the back of a van with a young boy who is being held captive. Ryan realises he can only stay awake for 9 minutes every few days as he awakens in the middle of various situations such as interrogation and visiting a prostitute (Alexis Knapp). Harkin (Ian Somerhalder) is a mysterious man somehow connected to alternate life Ryan is leading outside his 9 minutes of consciousness.

During his chunks of 9 minutes Ryan has to figure out how to stay awake, what his other life is, and how to save the young boy he met in the van.

This is a British indie sci-fi thriller so don't expect a Hollywood blockbuster budget, nevertheless it was entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kick ass sci-fi action, 13 Jan. 2015
By 
I Am Tyler Durden (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Anomaly (DVD)
Noel Clarke's sci-fi action romp seems to have disappointed some people. If you order takeaway you don't expect cordon bleu but you might end up with some damn fine takeaway. Very linear plot leads to some great fight sequences that are quite stunningly put together. I was hooked all the way through. The mystery element unravels slowly until you know exactly what is going on and that "what" leads to some interesting switches in who is bad, who is good. To those people saying they want heir 90 minutes back. Sure, you can have 90 minutes of my time so long as I get to watch this again. Noel is underrated these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just gave up., 30 April 2015
This review is from: The Anomaly [DVD] (DVD)
This just didn't work for me at all - trying to be way too clever and just not managing it. I found the quality of acting really mixed and the sense that if all else fails shove in a fight scene in the style of the matrix. I really wanted to give it one star but that didn't seem fair to the good actors who were trying hard!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Save your money., 6 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Anomaly (Amazon Instant Video)
Watched this for about 20 minutes and turned it off. I love scifi but this is just not up to standard. The fight sequences with the slow motion, speed ups and stops were annoying to watch. The filming technique just didn't work. Cheap and tacky. But that's just my opinion. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A poor man's Source Code..., 28 April 2015
By 
Jon Gritton (North Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Anomaly (Amazon Instant Video)
The trailer makes this movie look like the love child of Source Code and The Adjustment Bureau but it really isn't anywhere near as good as either. Most of the disappointment came from the rather poorly choreographed fight scenes that simply looked clumsy and at times rather ridiculous. Towards the end I completely lost track of what was going on - unusually for me - and I was ultimately unimpressed.

It still gets 3 stars because I thought Noel Clarke gave it a good stab and I'm sure he's got a future ahead of him in mainstream movies. This one, however, he'll probably forget...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The best thing about it is the cover - for that ..., 9 May 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Anomaly [DVD] (DVD)
Totally pointless and crud film. The best thing about it is the cover - for that I am giving it 1 star
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great Idea!, 11 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Anomaly (Amazon Instant Video)
A great idea for a film, and it starts off well, but then degenerates in chaos, leaving the viewer scratching his/her head. Might get better with second viewing. Would recommend to people who like Twilight Zone kind of stories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Anomaly [Blu-ray]
The Anomaly [Blu-ray] by Noel Clarke (Blu-ray - 2014)
£7.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews