Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly Good
There is some great music around at the moment.... but this is something really special. Angus and Julia Stone under the influence of Rick Rubin have produced an album that sounds like an album rather than a collection of singles. The production values are superb and the music its just fabulous. What does it sound like well.... Hope Sandoval meets Paulo Nutini meet Dylan...
Published 1 month ago by D. Beeston

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Surprised
Simple songs that are well crafted and interesting. I was surprised I liked it but I do. Perhaps the novelty will wear off though.
Published 22 hours ago by DB


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly Good, 6 Aug 2014
By 
D. Beeston (STONE, Staffordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angus & Julia Stone (Audio CD)
There is some great music around at the moment.... but this is something really special. Angus and Julia Stone under the influence of Rick Rubin have produced an album that sounds like an album rather than a collection of singles. The production values are superb and the music its just fabulous. What does it sound like well.... Hope Sandoval meets Paulo Nutini meet Dylan meets Neil Young. If you like real melody with great vocals then you will not be disappointed. I am a big fan of The War on Drugs recent Lost in a Dream album but this runs it very close for my record of 2014 so far. Angus and Julia Stone play a couple of venues in the UK in December i will definitely be there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this album is ethereally perfect. Don't leave the free mp3 download unchecked, 6 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angus & Julia Stone (Audio CD)
Everything I was hoping for and then some, this album is ethereally perfect. Don't leave the free mp3 download unchecked, there are 3 extra tracks on there and they're wonderful.
I can't imagine my life without Angus and Julia ♡
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome back, Angus and Julia! (and thanks for the great new album), 9 Sep 2014
By 
Paul Allaer (Cincinnati) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Angus & Julia Stone (Audio CD)
Angus and Julia Stone, the brother-sister duo from Australia, debuted in 2007 with their "A Book Like This" album, reminding us of other indie-folk bands like the Weepies. With their next album, 2010's "Down This Way", the Stones expanded their musical landscape beyond just the folksy-intimate sound, and with great results. Now, after what seems like forever, the Stone siblings finally return with their third album.

"Angus & Julia Stone" (13 tracks; 60 min.) opens with the pleasant "A Heartbreak", with Angus and Julia's voices juxtaposed in perfect harmony: Julia's dreamy, at times angelic, voice against Angus' deeper, at times baritone voice. I love it when they sing together. "My Word For It" reminds me of Aimee Mann. "Grizzly Bear" has that certain SoCal Laurel Canyon vibe to it, and in fact that is true for a number of songs on here (check also "Get Home" and "From the Stalls", among others). If it's not clear by now, the folksy sound from the debut album has pretty much disappeared by now ("Wherever You Are" is the only song that is somewhat reminiscent of the early sound). The album closer, an epic 7 min. "Crash and Burn", even leans towards the bluesy side. A great way to finish things out. Maybe it's just me, but the album is a bit too long for its own good, and it would've been fine by me to leave off "Please You" and "Main Street", both of which drag on way too long.

Bottom line, despite perhaps being a bit too long, this is nevertheless a very fine album. When a band or artist releases a self-titled album years into their career, it's usually to try and reintroduce themselves to the outside world. This album is by far the most accessible of the Stones output to date. Welcome back, Angus and Julia, we've missed ya! The Stone siblings will be touring the US in support of this album in October, but sadly Chicago is the closest they will come to Cincinnati, so I'm hoping they'll add more Midwest dates later. Meanwhile, "Angus & Julia Stone" is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Foul language is unnecessary, 30 Aug 2014
This review is from: Angus & Julia Stone (Audio CD)
This is an excellent album not unlike the Civil Wars first album but with one big flaw.
The track 'Other things' has some completely unnecessary foul language, it is just not
in keeping with the rest of the album. Therefore you cannot play it to your children or your parents.
An embarrassing mistake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Surprised, 22 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angus & Julia Stone (Audio CD)
Simple songs that are well crafted and interesting. I was surprised I liked it but I do. Perhaps the novelty will wear off though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars disappointed, 20 Sep 2014
By 
Paul Wood (spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angus & Julia Stone (Audio CD)
did not meet expectation, having read a critique, was not as anticipated; will listen in future before buying...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Sep 2014
By 
Great record and a great digital download copy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angus & Julia Stone (Audio CD)
met all expectations ... lovely
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Angus and Julia they don't get any better than this, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angus & Julia Stone (Audio CD)
Fantastic album, rick Ruben cannot do nothing wrong as always, great to have angus and Julia back recording together,although I love all they do.solo or together this album is filled with class. Every track grows on you.i think in my opinion this is best to date,please buy to support,you will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 12 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angus & Julia Stone (Audio CD)
OK - a bit hit and miss
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Angus & Julia Stone
Angus & Julia Stone by Angus & Julia Stone (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews