Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Unhealthy Hospital
Hospitals are supposed to heal not to harm. This is not the case in Latchvale Hospital.

Andrew Puckett’s fast-moving thriller pits Sister Farewell against a mystery killer. Hospitals are full of experts in the human body and here they have the means to murder while seeming innocent. Puckett is adept at detailing how a determined killer can use the myriad...
Published 10 months ago by Martin Lake

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Thriller With An Added Edge
This is a thriller with the added edge that it could happen to anyone. After all there have been so many similar scenarios in real life. The basic premise is good and I liked the way the story was set up. There was much to raise a wry smile, especially the washing of hands and prohibition of taking it further when the possibility of murder in the ITU was first raised...
Published 10 months ago by Aurora


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Unhealthy Hospital, 1 July 2014
By 
Martin Lake (French Riviera) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sisters of Mercy (Kindle Edition)
Hospitals are supposed to heal not to harm. This is not the case in Latchvale Hospital.

Andrew Puckett’s fast-moving thriller pits Sister Farewell against a mystery killer. Hospitals are full of experts in the human body and here they have the means to murder while seeming innocent. Puckett is adept at detailing how a determined killer can use the myriad of means that a hospital provides to engage in a spree of death.

This is a fast moving thriller and it kept me guessing concerning the murderer and motives. The heroes are ordinary, down-to-earth people, the villains equally so. There’s a little bit of rather brittle, sad romance thrown in, just the right touch for the situation.

It’s an entertaining holiday read but not one to take with you if you’re going in to hospital. You might not find it easy to sleep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is a mystery with menace and genuine insight into ..., 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sisters of Mercy (Kindle Edition)
This is a mystery with menace and genuine insight into hospital goings-ons. It deals with the responses of staff toward the most vulnerable of patients, and the difficulties for whistleblowers in institutions that instinctively close ranks. The author shows his scientific background as Jo and Tom pursue a serial killer - the terse dialogue carrying us through until the final twist.
Be prepared to have your hospital suspicions debunked and reinforced in turn, through an effortless and entertaining who-dunnit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Thriller With An Added Edge, 23 July 2014
By 
Aurora (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sisters of Mercy (Kindle Edition)
This is a thriller with the added edge that it could happen to anyone. After all there have been so many similar scenarios in real life. The basic premise is good and I liked the way the story was set up. There was much to raise a wry smile, especially the washing of hands and prohibition of taking it further when the possibility of murder in the ITU was first raised. Typical NHS hierarchical buck passing. Thank goodness that some people prefer to follow their own instincts rather than follow someone else's rules.
I have to say that I didn't get the ultimate perpetrator, nor the person they were using for their own nefarious purposes. When the killer was unmasked it seemed too easy,too predictable and a little too glib, but of course no story is over till the last page.
I do have one gripe however - what on earth was a Department of Health Investigator (or Home Office - he was attributed to both, didn't seem to know who he worked for) doing with a gun? Not even the police routinely carry guns here, so an investigator of indeterminate origin would be unlikely to do so. Tom's exact role was never made clear but I suspect that this was entirely deliberate.

Whilst not an unputdownable book this was entertaining with enough mystery to hold the attention for a couple of hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Medical Thriller incorporating many suspects and twists, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sisters of Mercy (Kindle Edition)
Sisters of Mercy

**** Rating 3.85/5

Sisters of Mercy is a medical thriller set in a hospital in England, involving the ITU ward and donor transplants. Although the percentage of deaths is higher in this area, Sister Jo Farewell comes across an increased number of unexpected deaths, relating to patients who were expected to recover.

Jo Farewell comes across as a well rounded believable character with all the human emotions you would expect to be displayed in the situations; even down to her heading for the whisky bottle when stressed. Tom Jones, an interesting character but complex. I had a problem relating to him carrying a gun, just did not ring true given his job title but maybe it went deeper than that.

A good read, with lots of red herrings and action. I must admit I did not see the end coming, skilfully achieved with all the loose ends tied up. Worth reading.

It was obvious Andrew Puckett has a medical background and I would be interested in reading some of his other novels. Despite my problem with some aspects of his character, I would like to see more of the gritty, maverick Tom Jones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good read!, 15 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sisters of Mercy (Kindle Edition)
The main character, Sister Farewell, becomes suspicious after a series of deaths in Latchvale Hospital's Intensive Care Unit. The author, Andrew Puckett, weaves a thoroughly gripping and thrilling story. Sister Farewell teams up with a Department of Health Investigator, Tom Jones, to unravel the crime. The author's medical background is apparent throughout the story. I found it hard to stop reading this book. The story starts off with a bang and gathers pace up until the end. The plot also had plenty of interesting twists and turns. I would heartily recommend this book! I found it a really enjoyable read and I look forward to reading more books from this author in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 25 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sisters of Mercy (Kindle Edition)
from Jan O on 25 April 2015

I was initially irritated by this book due to the lack of proper punctuation which had been replaced with hyphens, brackets and half lines of full stops. Fortunately this improved as the story progressed. It was a good story, well worth reading, including some interesting characters and plenty of twists. It was hard to keep track of all the medical terminology at times but this was inevitable. The ending was neatly done if a little abrupt. A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sisters of Mercy, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sisters of Mercy (Kindle Edition)
Fast paced thriller with plenty of blood and gore. Nice twist at the end and heavy with suspense.
Excellent piece of writing, a one hit read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well-researched, 15 July 2014
By 
This review is from: Sisters of Mercy (Kindle Edition)
Andrew Puckett's skill in writing this novel is undoubted, beginning with a sweeping start, well-introduced and full characters that are not only convincing but are equally entertaining. The dialogue too is excellent and the setting speaks of an intuitive-observed story line. It is a rare package, seen in stories like Flash of the Sun and Inferno. I like stories like these that are well-researched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent thriller. Just when you thought you had it ..., 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sisters of Mercy (Kindle Edition)
An excellent thriller. Just when you thought you had it worked out, there'd come another twist to the plot. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing., 10 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sisters of Mercy (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed the book. Easy reading with a very interesting story line, something that could happen in real life, but hopefully not. The twists and turns had me changing my mind who the suspect was and I still got it wrong. I would recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sisters of Mercy
Sisters of Mercy by Andrew Puckett
£2.32
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews