Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great story, rather poor book production.
Great story, very lucidly told. But what is going on with the editing? Typos, missed words, missed punctuation... It worsened as the book progressed and did spoil the experience. Splash out on a copy edit, Thistle Publishing! The book merits the effort.
Published 11 months ago by Muncher of Books

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
This book came on time but i found the story empty it was overated in my opinion.
Published 8 months ago by Mrs. S. L. Hawkins


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great story, rather poor book production., 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unravelled: The inspirational true story of a journey out of darkness (Kindle Edition)
Great story, very lucidly told. But what is going on with the editing? Typos, missed words, missed punctuation... It worsened as the book progressed and did spoil the experience. Splash out on a copy edit, Thistle Publishing! The book merits the effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An incredible story about an incredible journey. You won't want to put it down, 30 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unravelled: The inspirational true story of a journey out of darkness (Kindle Edition)
This is an incredible story. Throughout the story I genuinely had to keep stopping to take it in and question whether this was actually a true story. For one person to have gone through so much and come out the other end is quite phenomenal. Vikie takes you on a journey of her life which is so unbearably sad at times I just wanted to reach into the pages and do something to help. On so many occasions I found myself actually sharply intaking my breath as I couldn't quite believe what I reading. With no yardstick from her own fractured childhood to pull on she had no idea what 'normal' was. I believe she did know (deep down) right from the start what was and wasn't normal but, due to her own childhood, she just wasn't confident enough to put enough stall in her own convictions. It read as though she almost felt like she didn't deserve to lead a good life. It is deftly told and you quickly get to know and understand Vikie and really go on this journey with her. I wont ruin the story because this is a book that deserves to be picked up and a story that deserves to be read. I am in awe of Vikie and her family for all they have achieved in the face of such heartbreaking adversity. If you want to read a story which really will put your own problems into some kind of perspective it is this one. I read it in two sittings as I couldn't put it down. Finally...if you want a book which will really show you it IS possible to achieve anything despite what life throws at you then buy this book. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars shockingly truthful, 18 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unravelled: The inspirational true story of a journey out of darkness (Kindle Edition)
Wow, downloaded earlier today , couldn't stop reading it, roller coaster if emotions reading it from the pit of my stomach , sadness, fear , anger to then fill my heart with empathy, understanding , compassion, & love a Mother Love , would definitely recommend reading, out of something so horrific, has & will continue to be something so positive, you were chosen to be the wonderful mother you are & will continue doing so, thank you so much for sharing this with you, can't imagine how difficult it was for you writing & reliving it all, but hope it has been a healing process for you & your wonderful & beautiful children, bless you all xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is beautifully written and an incredible story of strength, 17 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unravelled: The inspirational true story of a journey out of darkness (Kindle Edition)
The true story of Unravelled is heartfelt and heartbreaking. It is beautifully written and an incredible story of strength, courage and love. I personally love stories of people who sacrifice everything for love even if it means they suffer as a result.
The message behind this story is of love defeating pain and coming out on the other side stronger.
I recommend this book because it is an inspirational true story of a journey out of darkness and will stay with you as a reminder that no matter how trapped you feel, you can get through anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be warned: it's unputdownable and will leave you hankering for a sequel, 18 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Unravelled: The inspirational true story of a journey out of darkness (Kindle Edition)
Vikie Shanks is the ultimate single parent, caring for seven children in the wake of her husband's death. In this powerful true tale, she describes in often painful detail the trials that have beset her, whilst also showing her incredible determination to beat them all. I found it utterly compelling and would recommend it without hesitation. A remarkable lesson in how to survive, no matter how rocky the road becomes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly an inspirational story and I couldn't recommend it more, 13 May 2015
I was deeply moved by this book.
I was left in awe and admiration of Vikie and her children and the strength through which they saw through one of the most difficult times of their lives. I read this book in little under two days as I just couldn't put the book down!
Truly an inspirational story and I couldn't recommend it more.
I wish this family all the happiness in the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly inspirational lady, 28 Feb. 2015
By 
This review is from: Unravelled: The inspirational true story of a journey out of darkness (Kindle Edition)
It just makes you think again when you are moaning about the small things that go wrong in your life, that really you have nothing to moan about. What a truly inspirational and wonderful mother Vickie Shanks is. God bless you and all your beautiful children. I would recommend this book it has been well written and is really worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The general grammar and punctuation could have been much better., 6 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unravelled: The inspirational true story of a journey out of darkness (Kindle Edition)
Very interesting story but ended abruptly. The general grammar and punctuation could have been much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read., 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unravelled: The inspirational true story of a journey out of darkness (Kindle Edition)
What a great read a real page turner book I really enjoyed it. Vikie writes with such clarity and you become more and more engrossed in her life with each chapter.
I can only reiterate what other reviewers have said that this is one special lady and I am looking forward to reading more of her work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 27 Oct. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unravelled: The inspirational true story of a journey out of darkness (Kindle Edition)
This book came on time but i found the story empty it was overated in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews