Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good
This book arrive3d on time and was an excellent read. Another different slant on Davis Niven's life. He was a gentleman to the end.
Published 17 months ago by Pendlewitch

versus
24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is a disgrace
Entire passages lifted from Graham Lord's 'Niv'. A lucid deathbed confession? This is an appalling book. Michael Munn, with his unprecedented 'access' to so many stars, despite having been nothing more than an extra on a few movies, should be ashamed of himself.

I don't believe that he recorded interviews with David Niven. Personally I think this book is a...
Published on 1 Aug. 2009 by Zloty Harbinger


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is a disgrace, 1 Aug. 2009
By 
Entire passages lifted from Graham Lord's 'Niv'. A lucid deathbed confession? This is an appalling book. Michael Munn, with his unprecedented 'access' to so many stars, despite having been nothing more than an extra on a few movies, should be ashamed of himself.

I don't believe that he recorded interviews with David Niven. Personally I think this book is a compilation of plagiarised text, half-truths and outright lies and makes a mockery of the life of a flawed, but ultimately decent and kind-hearted gentleman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars USEFUL FOR PROPPING UP A TABLE, 7 April 2012
I often had to stop reading this book and check the front cover to see who it was meant to be about! It comes over as the author simply saying ad nauseum `Look at all the famous people I have known!'

It is written in a peculiar lumpy style which makes reading it very hard if not impossible. Some of it reads just like a very bad script.

"Stewart Granger said............... and then Gregory Peck said............ and then James Stewart said.................."

A total ego trip for the author who really enjoys dropping names like confetti at a cheap wedding.

The most disgraceful part was the very last line in the book is all about him and not David Niven!

Personally I think this is a very poor offering and one that really did not have to be published.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ....to be taken with a pinch of salt., 9 July 2009
Sadly this 'biography' somehow doesn`t ring true. There seems to be an attempt at sensationalism and salaciousness that is unworthy of an 'author' and unfair to the subject, albeit now departed.

Further investigation shows that surviving friends and family claim many allegations to be total nonsense. This author has had the same criticism with other biographies of celebrities, who are not around to rebutt.

In this day and age it`s worth looking in to the reputation of authors before parting with hard earned cash !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable, 18 Feb. 2014
I admired David Niven as being a great screen presence and when he wrote `The Moon's a Balloon' I thought it was terrific. He was one of those people - and there's not many of them - who successfully made the transition from raconteur to author.

Graham Lord wrote a very good account of Niven's life, as well, as did Sheridan Morley but Michael Munn, in my opinion, has not.

Quite frankly, it is unbelievable, with the most salacious comments reserved for people who are now dead. Having read this book, I was astonished that the author had not entitled it `Me and my mate, Dave'. Much of the alleged conversations were between author and subject; there's a perpetual `I said', `He said', the vast majority of which simply does not ring true and the theological passages were so nauseating, they made me want to throw up.

I started by saying that Niven was a great screen presence and it's true - he was also a very interesting man, with a man's failings. Let's remember him from those other books - not this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Check carefully - one star for cheek, 25 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Before you buy, please form an opinion of the author. A British journalist called Tim Adams wrote a very witty article about him in The Guardian/Observer newspaper that you can still find online which charts the strange pattern of accidental friendships that Munn seems to have created with a very long line of Hollywood's Greatest. Caveat Emptor and God Bless David Niven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Celebrities - how can they get away with it !, 16 Jan. 2015
By 
Berniebob (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Niven: The Man Behind the Balloon (Kindle Edition)
A reasonably interesting read but as another reviewer has stated it is very much a re-working of 'A Moon's a Baloon'.
It did appear that the author has a tendency to repeat or at least labour various themes and one did want him to 'get on with it'
The book would have been more enjoyable if it had been condensed into half the size.
Having said that it is always interesting to see how the so called 'big screen' celebrities have been so indulged and continue to be.
Celebrity status is a strange phenomenon and one that I do not understand.
It would be interesting to see how anyone 'normal' could get away with the behaviour we see in the idols of yesteryear or of today.
It is an interesting reflection on us all I guess.
A good read but it has all been covered in Nivens books previously - mainly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 12 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book arrive3d on time and was an excellent read. Another different slant on Davis Niven's life. He was a gentleman to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Niven: The Man Behind the Balloon (Kindle Edition)
Excellent very funny and I have recommended it to several friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 17 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Trying to sort the lies from the truth must have been hard work..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Niven: The Man Behind the Balloon (Kindle Edition)
Fabulously entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews