Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sex in the City, 11 Jun 2004
This review is from: Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret (Audio CD)
When Marc Almond and David Ball met at Leeds Poly in the late 1970's neither could have known the impact they were to have on pop in the early 80's and beyond. Their first release, Mutant Moments EP, brought them to the attention of Some Bizarre supremo Stevo and secured them a deal. First single Memorabilia/A Man Could Get Lost hardly dented the singles chart, but their follow-up gained rather more success.
Tainted Love was a late-summer hit in 1981 across most of the civilised world, and has completely eclipsed the Gloria Jones original. It's status now is iconic. It was released as a double A-side with Where Did Our Love Go? - the 12" moving sweetly from one song to the other. Soon after, Bedsitter was released, the first Ball/Almond composition to come to the attention of the record buying public. A better song about the ennui of a Sunday alone in, well, a bedsit has not been written.
The album was released to much critical acclaim and commercial success. Third single, Say Hello, Wave Goodbye, a Scott Walker-ish torch song about a man who falls for a hooker, cemented Soft Cell in the psyche of the nation and made them a favourite with those who liked their pop slightly more alternative.
The album has plenty of strong songs apart from the singles. Personal favourites are Secret Life and Youth, the latter still evoking in me the despair of the early 80's. Chips on My Shoulder and Entertain Me are chirpy froth, and of course Sex Dwarf has a video that has secured a place in pop infamy.
Buy it.
(And I didn't use the word 'sleaze' once.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Non-Stop Enjoyment, 17 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret (Audio CD)
Possibly one of the most depraved, hedonistic, perverse, sickening, sleazy, filthy, kinky and enjoyable albums of all time. I went and bougth this cd after seeing the performance of Tainted Love on TOTP. I didn't realize at the time how different my life was to get. Everything here is brillinat. From the disturbing Frustration, to the excellent Tainted Love, the ultra-kinky Sex Dwarf and the excellent Say Hello, Wave Goodbye. Later songs on the album such as What?, Torch and Facility Girls expand on an already perfect album. If you want to know what real sleaze and filth are then I suggest you get this album. You will not regret it. A perfect lesson in the depravity that exists in all big cities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best album of the Eighties., 18 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret (Audio CD)
The inventiveness of both the hook lines and Marc Almonds' lyrics make this album a timeless classic. A dose of real life from the early eighties to take the gloss off the fluffy pop of the time (e.g. Wham, Duran Duran, Kajagoogoo...ETC). Rarely does any artist lay himself as bare as Almond does and his imperfect voice only adds to a near perfect album. This guy was the Eminem of his generation, singing reality songs that some people could just not handle!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like a good wine................, 16 April 2013
By 
Mr. C. Hewitt (London, Ingerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret (Audio CD)
Having just read Marcs autobiography I was drawn back to this album. After 30++ years I'd forgotten how good it is. I was fortunate enough to be old enough when Stevo launched himself on the music industry with his groundbreaking 'Some Bizzare Album' so I bought it at one of his Clarendon Hotel nights. Then came the original version of Memorabilia on 12 inch ( included in the extra tracks on here) which is so under rated. Got to see Soft Cell live for the first time with Some Bizzare Album stablemates Blah Blah Blah at the Venue in Victoria and I was hooked. Marc held the audience in the palm of his hand as they went through their set consisting of basically the Cabaret album with Dave stood at the back of the 'padded cell' stage set up. Never seen an audience go so mental for electronic music before or since.I also got to see them on their 'Wave Goodbye' gigs at Hammersmith Palais while at the peak of their career. This album has aged well, I was surprised my self actually, and reminds me of being 17 again with some sublime tracks like Youth ,Entertain Me and my favourite Chips On My Shoulder along with the 3 hit singles.The world is a better place for having Soft Cell records in it. I bought this to replace my battered vinyl copy, not that I needed an excuse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 2 Jan 2009
By 
A. Lloyd "a lloyd" (Bolton England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret (Audio CD)
In my teens this had to have been one of my most overplayed records...(my parents hated it). I've just repurchased it on cd, no idea whatever happened to the vinyl. It just takes me back 20 years instantly, every track is so memorable. I just love it! Tainted Love, Bedsitter, Torch and Where did our love go .. to be honest I could name every track as a favourite!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect pop deprevation!!, 22 Mar 2007
By 
Mr. Nathan Armstrong - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret (Audio CD)
one on the first albums i ever bought on vinyl! them where the days!

still sounds as fresh and dirty as it did then! it is an album for a teen on the wild side - today -as i was then!

its a masterpeice of sleaze, pop and love that anyone who has ever felt on the outside will adore!

the huge hits hide so many hidden gems - in fact every single track is amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Oldie but Goodie, 16 July 2014
By 
William Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret (Audio CD)
Hard to believe that this music is now 30 years old. The combination of David Ball with his Roland and Korg synthesisers, and Dr Boss drum machine, with Marc Almond on vocals, singing from the heart with every word, was mesmerising back then and still holds it own to this day. The World and his mother know Tainted Love, but there are so many other gems here, including Say Hello Wave Goodbye, with glorious work from Dave Tofani on clarinet and alto saxophone. Bedsitter is an anthem for young people leading a hedonistic lifestyle and paying the price for it in the mornings. Sex Dwarf is a notorious and insanely catchy ditty (catch the video on YouTube), and might have been influential in the video work for The Prodigy's equally notorious Smack My Bitch Up. If you like deep warm analogue synth bass lines with smooth as silk synth chords, and heart on the sleeve vocals, this fits the bill. If you like this music, the videos for these songs are equally inventive and naughty, and worth catching on YouTube.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life Changing, 15 Nov 2003
By 
K. Tune "mustard57" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret (Audio CD)
The first time I heard this album I was blown away. I was 13 and had heard little except Top40 pop and the Beatles ( this is in 1981 ). Frustration ( Track 1 ) was like nothing I'd heard before - angry, passionate - frustrated! I thought it summed up brilliantly the dis-satisfaction with suburban life.
But there was more to come. This album is just fantastic - and nearly all the tracks are memorable - ( maybe Entertain Me / Chips / Secret Life not quite up there with the rest ) - and on this album Soft Cell did something I think no-one had done before - making sleaze glamorous and exciting - Seedy Films was such an effective evocation of blue cinema that Soho clubs took to pumping it through their sound systems. Sex Dwarf is over the top and ironic - but has a real subversive edge - and Marc's sheer gusto keeps the song focussed and prevents it being what could be an oh so clever exercise in superciliousness.
At the same time this album contains brilliant pop songs - Tainted love needs no introduction, but I think it is bettered by Bedsitter with its superbly pithy lyrics - and Say Hello Wave Goodbye - my favourite song ever. It's big, it's passionate, it's a great tune - just wonderful.
And if all this isn't good enough there's a clutch of extras - Memorabilia - still sounding like a great cutting edge dance tune after all these years, What! and Torch - again one of the best songs ever written - a duet, a trombone solo and a tune to die for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Standing in the door of the Pink Flamingo.........., 31 Aug 2011
This review is from: Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret (Audio CD)
Perhaps it's an eighties thing, but this album has really matured with time.

Yes, there's the obvious singles, (Tainted Love, Say Hello, etc), but what you have here is a beautiful collection of very personal songs, very well put together.

"Isn't it nice, Sugar and spice, Luring disco dollies, To a life of vice"..........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Album, 8 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret (Audio CD)
Nice album. They have tried to redo the songs recently on other albums, but nothing replaces the drive commitment and enthusiasm of this original
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret [VINYL]
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret [VINYL] by Soft Cell (Vinyl - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews