Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where does great marketing stop and customer manipulation start?
In the mid to late 2000s, the cult of the Internet marketing gurus developed and this book's author was both a leading light and the source of the astonishing marketing theory that accelerated many of the others to fame and fortune.

Since then allegations that the product launch process was being abused as a way to bleed Internet newbies of their money has...
Published 8 months ago by Paul Simister

versus
26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lots of theory but thin on the details.
The hype around this book was huge as you would expect if you know anything about Jeff Walker.

I've actually completed Jeff Walkers online Product Launch Formula course which costs $1999. I went through every video and took action and as a result created a website giving me a secondary online income of around $50,000 per year so the stuff in there works...
Published 7 months ago by Paul W. Browning


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lots of theory but thin on the details., 13 July 2014
The hype around this book was huge as you would expect if you know anything about Jeff Walker.

I've actually completed Jeff Walkers online Product Launch Formula course which costs $1999. I went through every video and took action and as a result created a website giving me a secondary online income of around $50,000 per year so the stuff in there works.

The title does NOT reflect the contents of the book. And at 186 pages including bibliography and introductions and back patting quotes from peers you would be hard pressed to even scratch the surface of what you need to know in order to launch a product online. In my experience, creating an online business involves a vast amount of tasks such as:

Product creation
Building a website
Taking online payments
Product delivery (physical or digital)
Autoresponder setup
After sales / helpdesk
To name just a few things.

This book is more of an outline of some of the things you will need such as a big list of e-mail subscribers and how to get joint venture (JV) partners to come on board. Jeff covers much of the psychology he uses for the PLF and this is the best part about the book. You get the core message and strategy of the PLF but for a few bucks.

If you are new to internet marketing, you will get to the end of the book and realise that you are a long way off launching a product. I know no single book can give you everything you need but I really feel that the title does not reflect the content. It would be more appropriate to call it 'Product Launch Psychology and Tactics.'

I was hoping that the case studies would give me some more details but they really only give you stories of people who have used the launch formula to great success. I recognise the names from the $1999 course I took so these guys had used that and not the book.

The book has hit the New York Times Bestseller list and the same for Amazon and I congratulate Jeff for that. I feel that the success was more due to his huge list and that of his JV partners than due to the actual contents of the book.

Bottom line is this. This book will really help you get the steps and psychology for a launch right but you will have to refer to a large number of other resources to actually accomplish your launch. The bonus website is basically just a large set of links to websites such as HostGator, ClickBank, GoDaddy etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where does great marketing stop and customer manipulation start?, 26 Jun. 2014
By 
Paul Simister (Birmingham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Launch: An Internet Millionaire's Secret Formula To Sell Almost Anything Online, Build A Business You Love, And Live The Life Of Your Dreams (Kindle Edition)
In the mid to late 2000s, the cult of the Internet marketing gurus developed and this book's author was both a leading light and the source of the astonishing marketing theory that accelerated many of the others to fame and fortune.

Since then allegations that the product launch process was being abused as a way to bleed Internet newbies of their money has caused a number of these gurus to withdraw.

The book introduces you to the Product Launch Formula (PLF), which while drawing on old style direct marketing, brand building and the influence and persuasion tactics of Robert Cialdini is a brilliant innovation that can benefit new and old businesses, in both online and off-line markets.

You can see similarities between it and how Apple launch new products with little leaks, a big public launch announcement and then long queues outside the stores on launch day. Big Hollywood blockbuster films are similar. Think of how anticipation builds up into a crescendo for the latest James Bond film and how the news is everywhere and everyone is talking about the film, the girls, the cars and the gadgets.

The Product Launch Formula theory is so powerful and effective that it will force you to confront the issue of where great marketing stops and customer manipulation starts. For me, the difference depends on whether you are hoping to use these potentially astonishingly effective tactics to primarily help customers solve their frustrations or mainly to make more money for you and your business?

In my opinion, there's nothing wrong with you getting rich from genuinely helping others. Taking but not really giving back to customers is another matter.

The PLF ideas are both admired and hated in the "make money online" niche of Internet marketing. Another guru Dan Kennedy admits that only about 20% of the people who buy expensive training programs will do enough to recoup their money and only about 4% (20% of the 20%) will do really well. Basic human nature means the rest get sucked into buying hope and doing next to nothing about it. He spent years trying to improve the ratios but, in the end accepted them. The brutal truth is that there are doers and dreamers.

The dreamers buy the opportunity but they don't act on it.

Where does "buyer beware" end for responsible sellers? It's often said that many more business books are bought than read or acted upon but paying (and wasting) £10 for a book is very different from wasting 100 or more times that investment on training. It's a problem for tangible products too. An expensive garden barbecue grill may be sold through hard sell tactics and hardly ever used so the buyer wastes his money.

The PLF builds up anticipation, desire and want before a launch by pressing hard on emotional triggers told through a three part story and then forces the interested buyer to make a decision under time and/or quantity pressure. The choice is simple. Take advantage of this great opportunity now or miss out, potentially for ever.

The book tells the story of how Jeff used the idea to earn six figures (i.e. over $100,000) in seven days by selling a stock market newsletter and how, with him advising, another Internet guru used the process to create a million dollars of sales in just one 24 hour day. Since then it has gone on to many more successes in many different markets.

Used for good, it is terrific marketing but it can also be used for self enrichment at the expense of the customers.

It is not a simple, easy get rich quick scheme. Anyone who has gone through a big product launch will tell you that it's very demanding in logical and emotional energy.

In some senses, a business is a series of launches but experience has shown that businesses based on the pure PLF theory of now you see it, now you don't product launches are not as stable as businesses that launch a product, leave it available in the market and then launch another. A PLF business has a surge of revenue that quickly falls away and then another surge with the next all-important launch.

There is danger that, if your competitors are also using the PLF process, the entire market becomes numb and sceptical about everything going on. I feel that's been the situation with the make money online niche for some years.

The book is a very good introduction to the product launch process and it includes links to get more resources from the author's website. That's both good and bad since it tells you that the book doesn't have the entire detailed process. It will make some readers want to know everything. I disagree with some other reviews that I've read, this book is subtly selling and buyers of the more advanced and expensive products risk going into that 80/16/4% ratio.

For that reason, I've knocked a star off because it's a start rather than a definitive guide.

Should you read the book? Yes, as both a buyer and a selling, you should understand the product launch process. Should you take up some of the principles for your next launch? Yes. Should you watch other product launches and analyse the use of the tactics? Yes.

However, I am conflicted because I've seen the process used to manipulate people. Jeff Walker talks about ending hope marketing (where you design or build a product or service first and then hope it will sell) but in its place I've seen the process create too much hope buying as people are swept along by the drama and excitement of the launch.

This really is very powerful marketing voodoo but its strengths can be abused.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dangerous stuff!, 6 Sept. 2014
By 
A. Marshall (Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Launch: An Internet Millionaire's Secret Formula To Sell Almost Anything Online, Build A Business You Love, And Live The Life Of Your Dreams (Kindle Edition)
Before reading this book you should get some real clarity on whether the time is right for you (from both a business and a personal perspective) to be spending $2000 on Jeff Walker's training program. Because by the time you finish this book, you will be begging him to take your $2000 for his full training program.

Why?

Because this book, which of course does NOT give you the secret formula to sell almost anything, is highly persuasive because it uses extremely manipulative persuasion techniques, indeed so powerful are they that even though you know they are being employed, you still feel almost completely defenceless against the torrent of hypnotic sales techniques.

Yes it gives you the outline of the formula, but certainly not enough information to do it yourself. But then you did not really think he was going to give you the exact formula for a paltry £3.72 ( kindle) did you? Not when he sell that information for a much more splendiferous $2000.

If you want to educate yourself about these enormous manipulative principles of persuasion, I suggest you read Cialdini's the Psychology of Persuasion. Far cheaper than Mr Walker's training.

The only positive thing that came out of reading this book for me, was that now I can spot these sales techniques from a distance, and that is certainly worth £3.72.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Launch is the must have book if you want to create an online business that actually works, 26 Jun. 2014
By 
Ms Ann E. Wilson "The Wealth Chef" (paris, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What a joy to finally find a book on how to start and grow a successful online business that actually give you the how!

Not only is Launch easy to read, it really is actionable, and being someone who does take action, I get very irritated with those, hyped up books that promise to give you the step-by-step how to do it, but then just waffle on about how great their strategy is without teaching anything. Launch is not like that at all.

I loved that there are steps and strategies you can use from where ever your business happens to be. Like the section on the Seed Launch in chapter 9 which shows you how to build your online business from scratch and then once you're going where to focus next all the way to doing joint ventures and using affiliates.

The other thing I love is that Jeff Wlaker is the real deal - he has clearly walked the walk and shown others how to do it too. The book is packed with case studies and Jeff also gives access to free resources via his websites.

If you are serious about using the internet to expand your business or to create a great new business then you should get and read Launch now - better still apply it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hype, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Launch: An Internet Millionaire's Secret Formula To Sell Almost Anything Online, Build A Business You Love, And Live The Life Of Your Dreams (Kindle Edition)
Too much hype not enough fact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant review well done Paul, 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The review - Lots of theory but thin on the details by Paul W. Browning says it all. Brilliant review well done Paul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jeff Walker - Launch, 24 Jun. 2014
If you're looking for a way to launch a product online then this is the book for you. I've been through Jeff's Product Launch Formula course, which this book Launch is based on, and the information is top notch. I've used Jeff's information to successfully launch my online SEO business, [...] and have had considerable success in selling my SEO (search engine optimisation) services using Jeff's strategies.

Jeff has also inspired me to finish my own book, which will be launched soon here on Amazon soon (more information at [...] <-- yes that's a shameless plug!

They call Jeff the $500m man because of how much his students have generated in revenue based on the strategies that he teaches and which are in this book. Jeff has also been featured in numerous places, including Forbes.

One of the reasons that I pay such close attention to what Jeff says is because of his down to earth nature. I know many successful people whose attitude changed when the big bucks started to roll in. Jeff is a rare breed and he still remains humble to this day. Watch the videos on his blog at jeffwalker.com and you'll quickly see this.

I wish this book had been around a few years ago. Jeff changed the way in which products were sold online and revolutionised internet marketing with his strategy of taking a long form sales copy letter and turning it sideways into a series of videos.

Get this book as soon as you can. It'll be the best investment you've made if you're looking to sell more of your products or services online. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A very dissapointing read., 27 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just 1 big long sales letter. Then he offers free videos but its just a ruise to get you in his sales funnel to bombard you with emails for his course- which incidentally i thought the book was going to teach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 24 Jun. 2014
By 
Culture Enthusiast (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Jeff Walker is THE go to person for anyone interested in being successful with online marketing. Don't bother wasting time and money with other people, most of them are trying to be copycat and do not reach the level of JW. In this book he does not hold back: he goes through the steps of his Product Launch Formula and provides some examples (not that many, but the book would be 600 pages and it is not feasible). For those who want to dip their feet in the water of marketing on line the Seed Launch is the perfect playground.
I have always liked JW honesty and integrity: he does not sell fluff, he does not claim majestic results - everything is backed up by clear evidence. He also makes it clear that without hard work and a great offer his formula is not going to work.

Definitely worth buying if you want to learn how to launch successful products on line. The only disappointment is that the links to his bonuses do not work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lots of repetitious hyperbole and froth, no substance, 21 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Launch: An Internet Millionaire's Secret Formula To Sell Almost Anything Online, Build A Business You Love, And Live The Life Of Your Dreams (Kindle Edition)
Full of hyperbole and froth, no substance. What's more, the hyperbole and froth are simply repeated so frequently, one might wonder whether the author thinks his readers have brain damage. The book is alsolaced with promises that eventually he'll explain his magic formula, which never comes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews