Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


81 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great for novice website builders
This book is a great starting point for people wanting to set up their first website, or even weblog.
The book is broken up into four sections, covering how to plan your site, find a good webhost and register your funky new domain name, through to a primer for HTML and CSS and web graphics and finishing off with some excellent advice on how to attract visitors to...
Published on 9 Dec 2005 by D. Graham

versus
22 of 51 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Creating Websites
I cannot agree with the other rave reviews. It is supposed to be a beginner's guide. So how can one write 'Fire up your favorite text editor and start writing HTML content.' What is a text editor? It has not been explained yet! To have a 'favorite' one needs to know what it is, have experience of different ones, and from experience to have chosen a 'favorite'. All that is...
Published on 25 Nov 2008 by Silver surfer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

81 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great for novice website builders, 9 Dec 2005
By 
D. Graham (Wakefield, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This book is a great starting point for people wanting to set up their first website, or even weblog.
The book is broken up into four sections, covering how to plan your site, find a good webhost and register your funky new domain name, through to a primer for HTML and CSS and web graphics and finishing off with some excellent advice on how to attract visitors to your site, and how to get them to stay! The final section looks at 'web frills', adding javascript, audio and video to your site.
The book is firmly aimed at the web-novice - some of the sections on html and css are fairly basic, but cover the material well, staying clear of the too much jargon pitfall that dogs other books on the subject. Even so, there are some excellent tips and examples which taught me some new things!
As with all O'Reilly books, the style is clear and concise, with clear examples and pictures illustrating key points.
So. Recommended for beginners and worth chccking out for those past the first steps in building a website. Overall, a fine book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good book, 19 Jun 2009
By 
Marie B. Stein "mariestein" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book last year when a friend was building a website for me. I didn't want to be able to build it myself, just to follow what he was doing and learn a bit more about websites and the internet. But I actually think that I would have been able to build my own site with the guidance given in this book, it is so well written and takes you through step by step. And I have no IT knowledge, other than how to do the usual stuff of switching on, doing emails and using various Microsoft Office programmes.
One of the reviewers has criticised the book for the use of IT terminology but in fact everything is explained as you go along. There is an excellent index and HMTL glossary. I didn't even understand what HTML stood for when I opened the book and now I am sufficiently confident to do basic HTML stuff on my website. This has certainly given me enough knowledge to enable me to run my site without bothering my tecchie friend too often!
The best thing about the book is that it covers all aspects of creating a website, including SEO techniques to get traffic and using Google ads to generate a bit of income from the site. I regularly pick it up and re-read sections when I need to remind myself of something! Well worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, excellent, easy to understand, 22 Nov 2007
This book is really good if you're new to website design and blogging. As usual, the missing manual series has debug website design in easy to understand manner, and with less jargon. It takes one through the very basic website design method, lays down the tools you need and how to use it. This is a must read book if you are new to web design and want to learn from scratch. It can't get better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book for beginners, 28 Nov 2009
By 
Barbara Vaughan (Corinaldo, (AN) Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book provides a good basic introduction to the creation of a web site. Little or no prior knowledge is assumed; in fact, the earlier chapters were a little too basic for me. It doesn't cover any topic in depth, but covers the basics of xhtml, design tools and editors, CSS, frames, tables, menus and buttons, and javascript. Some of the topics, such as publicizing your web site, were of little interest to me. Others, such as the chapter on blogs and the advice on choosing a web site host, even seem a bit off topic.

If you're starting from scratch and want to create your own web site rather than use one of the canned ones offered by many providers, this book should be sufficient. The resulting code will be much cleaner than that produced by some of the more basice web page design packages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When you are looking for a excellent manual - this is the one, 15 Dec 2009
By 
K. Leeger "my bookshelf - nl" (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Some booktitles do not always correctly reflect the contents of the book in question.
This one does! "Creating a website - The missing manual" gives you exactly that - all the
missing information you have been trying to dig up from software manuals, internet instructions,
library books. All to no avail, until you get your hands on this book. It will force you
to accept the unescapable disciplines of XHTML and CSS as well as good planning. Some important
items however are hidden, as well and you have to look for them. Such as the item concerning
"not to save" standard pages made up in Word or other programs as a web page in HTML (page 86).
This should have been in CAPITALS. Another one is that ALL web-page-elements are in escence
images, including most text elements. Boy, have I been wasting time in trying to get made-up text
into a number of "easy" WYSIWYG software packages. I am not overly keen on the "tips" in the book
being printed white on a grey background. Doesn't make for easy reading, especially when you're a bit older.
Otherwise, this book IS the missing manual that you need at the side of your computer, whilst constructing a website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I wanted, 31 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is just what I have been looking for. It takes you from the basics of using XHTML to putting together a quality website and getting it online. Author uses really clear language and doesn't go over your head or talk down to you. It's approach is to teach you the PROPER way to write web pages, i.e. in XHTML, rather than showing you the quickest way. That way you get a good foundation and skill set for future development and you understand how it all works. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good starter, 29 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent introduction to the subject that looks at HTML, XHTML, CSS etc and also covers the commercial aspects of website creation ie how you can attract visitors to your site and use it to generate income (if that's what you're after). But make sure you get the revised second edition featured here.

This book fully deserves the five-star reviews given to it and I seriously object to the ludicrous one-star review left by 'Silver surfer'. His/her complaint is that the books tells you to "Fire up your favourite text editor" without explaining what a text editor is or what it does.

Really?

The text quoted above appears on page 28 of the book. If you look at page 25 you'll find a perfectly good explanation of what a text editor is and does, and painstaking instructions on where you'll find one on your computer and exactly how to open it. That was on page 25. What were you doing, Silver surfer? Reading the book backwards?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 3 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. L. D. T. Sheppard "Luke Shep" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm slightly confused about the previous review. Is he suggesting that he's never used a text editor?? So what if you haven't? The book DOES suggest which ones you might want to use and, since they all do essentially the same thing, does it really matter which one you choose? To focus on one sentence like that in a book of hundreds of pages is short-sighted to say the least.

To say that this is not a good beginner's book because it doesn't spoonfeed you what a text editor is is completely absurd. The fact is that it IS a good beginner's book and I would strongly advise people not to be put off by the previous review.

It walks you through all the skills you need to create your own stylish-looking websites in a logical, easy-to-follow manner, which is pretty much all you want from this book. It does EXACTLY what you'd want it to do and it does it very well. If you're looking for other good beginner books, try Head First HTML with CSS & XHTML, which will give you a very good grounding in most things html and css.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good beginning to web site building, 27 Mar 2009
This book starts from basics but contains a lot of interesting information, so much so that I have not investigated all of it. If you are a beginner to web site building this book is an excellent start along with a good site building program.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for beginners, 8 July 2011
This book is brilliant if you are totally new to creating a website. You do not need to be a computer whizz to follow the chapters. I did not really know what html was before picking up this book but I had created my first webpage (albeit very basic) within a couple of hours of receiving the book. Don't get me wrong... you're not going to be able to create a decent looking website immediately after reading the book but it does give a good overview of all the main considerations.

I tried to figure out how to create a website from reading through numerous things on various websites but none of the information was a clearly set out as in this book. It's written in plain English.

If I had one tiny problem with it, it would be that the book focuses a lot on how to create websites using either Dreamweaver or Expression (expensive text editors that the beginner would not necessarily have). I would have liked to see more advice on how to use the free editors like NVU.

I now feel pretty confident in making my first website... and that is coming from someone who has only ever used WORD and EXCEL before!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews