Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real treat to have this given a proper mainstream release at last
This disc is a real treat, showcasing Queen on the tour for their third album. What a difference to all that twatting-around-in-a-yellow-jacket mid-80s Magic Tour stuff that the media tend to remember them by!
The band's albums back then were a tour-de-force of lavish studio overdubbing - massed vocal harmonies and guitar overdubs... so you might wonder if they were...
Published 1 month ago by feline1

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The naughty queenies are back! How do you like that?
Well the picture quality is amazing!! But on my player the sound is distorted which is unfortunate I checked my other music bluerays and they all sound great. Then I listened to a bit of the spotify version of the queen concert and that sounds much better than the blu ray. Hummmph
Also what happened to my fave queen song doing alright? It's not there!! And to grumble...
Published 1 month ago by Alan D. Evans


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real treat to have this given a proper mainstream release at last, 15 Sep 2014
By 
feline1 (Brighton, Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This disc is a real treat, showcasing Queen on the tour for their third album. What a difference to all that twatting-around-in-a-yellow-jacket mid-80s Magic Tour stuff that the media tend to remember them by!
The band's albums back then were a tour-de-force of lavish studio overdubbing - massed vocal harmonies and guitar overdubs... so you might wonder if they were going to sound a bit rubbish live on stage with only four people... but there was no need to worry, they sound huge! Taylor's drums in particular are just IMMENSE, great pounding beefy tom fills all over the place. May copes admirably with the task of translating his multi-tracked guitar parts to the stage - a lot of the time, he's just whanging out big power chords, with a delicious overdriven sound that's quite massive - his other trick is to use an 'echoplex' device to play in harmony with himself on many of the solos. Mercury's vocals are, of course, superb. By the 80s he sounded like he was blasting out of the bottom of an ashtray half the time, but here in the early 70s he still has a purity and sweetness in his voice despite the strident trumpet-blasts of power he belts out. Obviously the three-part vocal harmonies aren't as elaborate as in the studio, but when they do do them (e.g. Ogre Battle) they are glorious! John Deacon, as ever, provides a solid foundation on bass under all this showing off, bless :) Mercury's performance is what really dazzles of course - he prances around like some kind of bacchanalian satyr, giving it 110%, utterly ludicrous but utterly brilliant. He is usually too busy doing that to have time to play the piano, but when he does that adds a further lovely flavour: 'White Queen' for instance is beautiful, the mass guitar orchestration of the record being taken care of by Mercury's sensitive playing whilst Brian does a delicious howling solo over the top.
Songs like 'Father to Son', 'March of the Black Queen' and 'Now I'm Here' are belted out with a raw power that arguably blows the meticulous studio versions away.
On a technical level - the concert was shot on 625-line PAL video (the UK television standard of the day) and whilst it isn't "high definition", they've done a brilliant job with this BluRay of going back to the original source and getting the best out of it. It's amusing to see video artefacts like "microphony" (horizontal bands on the picture where the band were playing so loud it made the camera tube resonante!) and overloading the video signal (this actually looks brilliant when the dry ice is unleashed in Lap of the Gods Revisited). Another benefit of the video shoot over film is that there's a lot of great electronic vision-mixing, blending camera feeds in that Top of the Pops way, so you get to see two band members in closeup at the same time.
As a bonus, some scraps of film are included from a concert 6 months earlier on their Queen II tour... with a message at the end asking if anyone knows the whereabouts of the rest of the missing footage! (come on, someone out there must have it in their attic!! Stop hoarding! ;)

Really, this concert footage is as good as it can be, given the technology of the day. It's a brilliant performance. Some people might miss certain songs being in the set - obviously none of their later hits are there, as they hadn't written them yet! But if you love the early Queen albums you need to see this BluRay. It's brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, simply awesome.., 14 Sep 2014
By 
This DVD captures Queen at their very best in my humble opinion. Just three albums into their career, with their 3rd, Sheer Heart Attack, just launched, this amazing live performance at The Rainbow is proof, if ever any was needed, that this band were going to be huge and that absolutely nothing would stop them. Polished, powerful, raw, virtuosic, tight and brimming with energy and presence, they blast their way through Queen, Queen II and Sheer Heart Attack with medleys, guitar solos and drum solos thrown into the melting pot. What else can I say? The individual performances are sublime with Mercury honing his unparalleled showmanship and stagecraft that he would be known for throughout his lifetime, and for all eternity. Even in these early days May's guitar solo was evolving and was largely the same when I actually saw them in 1982 at Milton Keynes Bowl. Even John Deacon was running around like I've never seen before and Roger Taylor's drumming is amongst the most powerful I've ever seen, in any Queen DVD since. Don't forget this is long before the big hits and stadium tours that would follow, and seeing the band work a relatively small theatre is a pleasure to behold. I wish I had gone to this gig, not the Milton Keynes Bowl gig 8 years later.

As far as the DVD goes, considering this show was 40 years ago, lavish attention has been paid to the picture and sound quality. I went for the DVD rather than Blu-Ray (so I can play on my Laptop as well as through my TV/home entertainment) and the picture and sound is far far better than I was expecting. I have a large collection of music DVD's and this will quite rightly be ranked as my absolute No. 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Queen - Simply Amazing !, 9 Sep 2014
By 
Richard C. Button (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yes folks i actually waited to receive my Blu-Ray before reviewing it!
First of all the sound quality is amazing (LPCM Stereo or DTS Master Audio). The picture is in original format, so not widescreen (this was 1974 folks) , but it is free from grain and any other surface noise and is remarkable for it's age. Strong blacks and deep colour with good contrast. There are four bonus tracks from the same tour & the quality here is also very good.
And finally there's a very nice booklet with some great shots of the band.
That's all you need to know ... worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last - Fantastic!, 11 Sep 2014
By 
Mr. M. J. Morris (Sheffield, South Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a 1H Queen fan. That is Keep Yourself Alive up to We are the Champions (Innuendo song was great though). I've owned a bootleg of this concert for a few years but this is a major , major improvement on that. The bootleg didn't have all these tracks and had inferior picture and sound. The remastering here and DTS 5.1 soundtrack is fantastic. The 4:3 picture doesn't matter because of the dark stage. The 4 bonus tracks are interesting as its noticeable Freddie's stage persona develops in the months inbetween. An essential purchase for 1H Queen fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is Awesome!, 11 Sep 2014
Crikey....wasn't really expecting anything much more than a reasonable VHS to Blu-Ray transfer but this is so, so much more. The colours, clarity and sound are way beyond expectation. And the setlist......never did I think I'd get to see this stuff live. This is Queen at their best in the early days. Freddie's voice is fabulous and the harmonies are to die for. If you like the first three albums or were lucky enough to see them in concert in 73 or 74 then buy this. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really big, bad Queenies !!!, 16 Oct 2014
By 
Mr. Richard A. Denham "Dickie Denham" (Waltham Abbey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Queen when they were a rock band !! I was at the Queen II gig - contrary to the cover details it wasnt sold out ( it should've been !! ) - I borrowed £ 1.75(just over a dollar)from my Mum for the bus fare and a ticket on the door - and it was probably the best gig I've ever been to. The audio visual quality is fantastic here and just listen to the early singles - Keep Yourself Alive and the mould breaking Seven Sea's of Rhye - so superior to the subsequent populist drivel of We Are The Champions, etc. People who should know better whinge on about rock music being dead - bilge of course, but bands new and old could benefit by going back to the basic tricks of their trade and learn from this incredible vid... BUY IT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Queen at their very best - awesome, 24 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a lifelong Queen fan in my 50's it is my pleasure to write this review.

I review the blu ray disc and double CD of both concerts.

Having seen Queen live in concert on several occasions it is my opinion that Queen were 2 seperate bands, one from the 70's and then the 80's, in particular Freddie, who changed so much is hard to imagine the Freddie from this concert is the same one from Wembley just 12 years later.
Anyone who considers themselves to be a fan of Queen based on the commercial material of the 1980's would do well to watch this concert from 1974, its a timely reminder as to just how hard and heavy Queen were in the early years.
Mercurys voice is simply perfect, he just nails every song throughout the gig, something sadly missing from the later gigs of the 1980's, you cannot compare this in the same breath to Wembley, when heavy smoking seems to have got the better of Freddie's voice.
I love the slower songs too, my favourite is "In the Lap of the Gods " and "Killer Queen" from The November gig.
Overall i rate the March concert as having the better sound quality, have played it for days now and it just gets better every time i hear it.
When people talk of Queen they so often refer to the commercial stuff and the Wembley gig, which i attended. This concert from 40 years ago is so much much much better than any Wembley / Milton Keynes, its a shame that its not from this era for which they will be best remembered. Fantastic.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Queen at there best, 10 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is must buy for all queen fans new and old,having seen them live on all there uk tours since mid seventies this is queen at there very best ,audio and picture have been restored with great care and you won't hear queen sounding any better. Please can we have queen at hammer smith 79 next to be restored as I know this was filmed on 26.12.79
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GODS !!!!!, 11 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I saw Queen in 79,80 & 82 and looks like they were just as good in 74 (when I was at school) as they were when I was there :)

All time best "live" band ever, never ever forget them .......

"long live Freddie" ( born to perform )

god bless Queen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars About time!!!, 28 Sep 2014
By 
Clashcity Rocker "Clashcity Rocker" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's out! Finally!!! After years of waiting for this, and watching poor VHS to DVD transfers from the VHS "Box Of Flix" release, we have in our hands this gem. Queen in 1974, on the verge of greatness showcasing their new material in their full outlandish Zandra Rhodes outfits.

This is a must own for any Queen fan that loves the early bands material. The restoration is done well, and the show is the full show (not the cut down heavily edited one from the Box Of Flix).

It's worth noting, it's 4:3 format, not widescreen, obviously, and the Blu-Ray release in particular will reveal the limitations in the original recording. But don't let that put you off, this is a great release, finally getting the justice it deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live At The Rainbow '74 [Blu-ray] [2014]
Out of stock
Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews