Customer Reviews


114 Reviews
5 star:
 (105)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last - Fantastic!
I'm a 1H Queen fan. That is Keep Yourself Alive up to We are the Champions (Innuendo song was great though). I've owned a bootleg of this concert for a few years but this is a major , major improvement on that. The bootleg didn't have all these tracks and had inferior picture and sound. The remastering here and DTS 5.1 soundtrack is fantastic. The 4:3 picture doesn't...
Published 8 months ago by Mr. M. J. Morris

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WHY take 40 years to release this?
Why has it taken so many years to release this, it would have been great in the 80's or 90's but for me now, was a bit dated. I still listen to the tracks on the early albums and still enjoy them but live performances now are so much advanced in comparison to what they were 40 years ago. Sadly It minded me of sixth form concerts. As I said,at the beginning of this...
Published 5 months ago by Mr. Michael J. Young


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last - Fantastic!, 11 Sept. 2014
By 
Mr. M. J. Morris (Sheffield, South Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a 1H Queen fan. That is Keep Yourself Alive up to We are the Champions (Innuendo song was great though). I've owned a bootleg of this concert for a few years but this is a major , major improvement on that. The bootleg didn't have all these tracks and had inferior picture and sound. The remastering here and DTS 5.1 soundtrack is fantastic. The 4:3 picture doesn't matter because of the dark stage. The 4 bonus tracks are interesting as its noticeable Freddie's stage persona develops in the months inbetween. An essential purchase for 1H Queen fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real treat to have this given a proper mainstream release at last, 15 Sept. 2014
By 
feline1 (Brighton, Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This disc is a real treat, showcasing Queen on the tour for their third album. What a difference to all that twatting-around-in-a-yellow-jacket mid-80s Magic Tour stuff that the media tend to remember them by!
The band's albums back then were a tour-de-force of lavish studio overdubbing - massed vocal harmonies and guitar overdubs... so you might wonder if they were going to sound a bit rubbish live on stage with only four people... but there was no need to worry, they sound huge! Taylor's drums in particular are just IMMENSE, great pounding beefy tom fills all over the place. May copes admirably with the task of translating his multi-tracked guitar parts to the stage - a lot of the time, he's just whanging out big power chords, with a delicious overdriven sound that's quite massive - his other trick is to use an 'echoplex' device to play in harmony with himself on many of the solos. Mercury's vocals are, of course, superb. By the 80s he sounded like he was blasting out of the bottom of an ashtray half the time, but here in the early 70s he still has a purity and sweetness in his voice despite the strident trumpet-blasts of power he belts out. Obviously the three-part vocal harmonies aren't as elaborate as in the studio, but when they do do them (e.g. Ogre Battle) they are glorious! John Deacon, as ever, provides a solid foundation on bass under all this showing off, bless :) Mercury's performance is what really dazzles of course - he prances around like some kind of bacchanalian satyr, giving it 110%, utterly ludicrous but utterly brilliant. He is usually too busy doing that to have time to play the piano, but when he does that adds a further lovely flavour: 'White Queen' for instance is beautiful, the mass guitar orchestration of the record being taken care of by Mercury's sensitive playing whilst Brian does a delicious howling solo over the top.
Songs like 'Father to Son', 'March of the Black Queen' and 'Now I'm Here' are belted out with a raw power that arguably blows the meticulous studio versions away.
On a technical level - the concert was shot on 625-line PAL video (the UK television standard of the day) and whilst it isn't "high definition", they've done a brilliant job with this BluRay of going back to the original source and getting the best out of it. It's amusing to see video artefacts like "microphony" (horizontal bands on the picture where the band were playing so loud it made the camera tube resonante!) and overloading the video signal (this actually looks brilliant when the dry ice is unleashed in Lap of the Gods Revisited). Another benefit of the video shoot over film is that there's a lot of great electronic vision-mixing, blending camera feeds in that Top of the Pops way, so you get to see two band members in closeup at the same time.
As a bonus, some scraps of film are included from a concert 6 months earlier on their Queen II tour... with a message at the end asking if anyone knows the whereabouts of the rest of the missing footage! (come on, someone out there must have it in their attic!! Stop hoarding! ;)

Really, this concert footage is as good as it can be, given the technology of the day. It's a brilliant performance. Some people might miss certain songs being in the set - obviously none of their later hits are there, as they hadn't written them yet! But if you love the early Queen albums you need to see this BluRay. It's brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer Excellence, 31 Dec. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is sheer, hair on the back of the neck raising, heart attack, brilliance. Anyone who has ever joined the army of Queen fans from simply watching the Live Aid performance and then thought they knew all the Queen songs should be made to watch this excellent re-mastered 1080i 5.1 DTS-HD concert. I first attended a Queen concert in 1984, "The Works" tour, I was thoroughly smitten. Not only by the performance of the group but the stage effects, lighting and the reaction from the obvious hard core crowd who knew every word and sang their hearts out for the entire show. I remember being sat down by a teacher at junior school in 1975 and all the kids in the class watch Bohemian Rhapsody on television. So I knew a few of the older 'more popular' Queen songs and I decided to start from the beginning and listened to all the early albums. After watching Queen perform at several more shows including Wembley '86 (right at the front) I often wondered what the early songs would have sounded like 'live'. I had a taster when the BBC finally showed the 1975 Christmas concert a couple of years ago and of course on one or two documentaries that Queen produced over the years. When for instance was the last time they played 'Liar' together ? Great songs well performed on this Blu-ray, 'Ogre Battle', 'White Queen' (haunting), 'In The Lap Of The Gods' - and something that I always knew myself, how great was Freddie's voice during these early years. I thought he lost some of it after bulking up during the early eighties, but that's my opinion. I have not been to a Queen+ concert as I want to remember them how they were, and this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, simply awesome.., 14 Sept. 2014
By 
This DVD captures Queen at their very best in my humble opinion. Just three albums into their career, with their 3rd, Sheer Heart Attack, just launched, this amazing live performance at The Rainbow is proof, if ever any was needed, that this band were going to be huge and that absolutely nothing would stop them. Polished, powerful, raw, virtuosic, tight and brimming with energy and presence, they blast their way through Queen, Queen II and Sheer Heart Attack with medleys, guitar solos and drum solos thrown into the melting pot. What else can I say? The individual performances are sublime with Mercury honing his unparalleled showmanship and stagecraft that he would be known for throughout his lifetime, and for all eternity. Even in these early days May's guitar solo was evolving and was largely the same when I actually saw them in 1982 at Milton Keynes Bowl. Even John Deacon was running around like I've never seen before and Roger Taylor's drumming is amongst the most powerful I've ever seen, in any Queen DVD since. Don't forget this is long before the big hits and stadium tours that would follow, and seeing the band work a relatively small theatre is a pleasure to behold. I wish I had gone to this gig, not the Milton Keynes Bowl gig 8 years later.

As far as the DVD goes, considering this show was 40 years ago, lavish attention has been paid to the picture and sound quality. I went for the DVD rather than Blu-Ray (so I can play on my Laptop as well as through my TV/home entertainment) and the picture and sound is far far better than I was expecting. I have a large collection of music DVD's and this will quite rightly be ranked as my absolute No. 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Queen - Simply Amazing !, 9 Sept. 2014
By 
Richard C. Button (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yes folks i actually waited to receive my Blu-Ray before reviewing it!
First of all the sound quality is amazing (LPCM Stereo or DTS Master Audio). The picture is in original format, so not widescreen (this was 1974 folks) , but it is free from grain and any other surface noise and is remarkable for it's age. Strong blacks and deep colour with good contrast. There are four bonus tracks from the same tour & the quality here is also very good.
And finally there's a very nice booklet with some great shots of the band.
That's all you need to know ... worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is Awesome!, 11 Sept. 2014
Crikey....wasn't really expecting anything much more than a reasonable VHS to Blu-Ray transfer but this is so, so much more. The colours, clarity and sound are way beyond expectation. And the setlist......never did I think I'd get to see this stuff live. This is Queen at their best in the early days. Freddie's voice is fabulous and the harmonies are to die for. If you like the first three albums or were lucky enough to see them in concert in 73 or 74 then buy this. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Queen at their very best - awesome, 24 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a lifelong Queen fan in my 50's it is my pleasure to write this review.

I review the blu ray disc and double CD of both concerts.

Having seen Queen live in concert on several occasions it is my opinion that Queen were 2 seperate bands, one from the 70's and then the 80's, in particular Freddie, who changed so much is hard to imagine the Freddie from this concert is the same one from Wembley just 12 years later.
Anyone who considers themselves to be a fan of Queen based on the commercial material of the 1980's would do well to watch this concert from 1974, its a timely reminder as to just how hard and heavy Queen were in the early years.
Mercurys voice is simply perfect, he just nails every song throughout the gig, something sadly missing from the later gigs of the 1980's, you cannot compare this in the same breath to Wembley, when heavy smoking seems to have got the better of Freddie's voice.
I love the slower songs too, my favourite is "In the Lap of the Gods " and "Killer Queen" from The November gig.
Overall i rate the March concert as having the better sound quality, have played it for days now and it just gets better every time i hear it.
When people talk of Queen they so often refer to the commercial stuff and the Wembley gig, which i attended. This concert from 40 years ago is so much much much better than any Wembley / Milton Keynes, its a shame that its not from this era for which they will be best remembered. Fantastic.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really big, bad Queenies !!!, 16 Oct. 2014
By 
Mr. Richard A. Denham "Dickie Denham" (Waltham Abbey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Queen when they were a rock band !! I was at the Queen II gig - contrary to the cover details it wasnt sold out ( it should've been !! ) - I borrowed £ 1.75(just over a dollar)from my Mum for the bus fare and a ticket on the door - and it was probably the best gig I've ever been to. The audio visual quality is fantastic here and just listen to the early singles - Keep Yourself Alive and the mould breaking Seven Sea's of Rhye - so superior to the subsequent populist drivel of We Are The Champions, etc. People who should know better whinge on about rock music being dead - bilge of course, but bands new and old could benefit by going back to the basic tricks of their trade and learn from this incredible vid... BUY IT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Queen at their rocking best!, 4 Nov. 2014
By 
Andy O'Boogie (Widnes, Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This was my Queen era. Queen 1, 2 and Sheer Heart Attack. After that they progressed technically and musically but it was this era when they really rocked. What a great sound from four young guys in the early 70's. I still consider Sheer Heart Attack the ultimate rock album and this concert tour was to promote it. Before Queen became really big, before Bohemian Rhapsody when they went off into Pop Opera. Good picture quality for the era. Sound not perfect (at times a bit too much bass) but no complaints from me, this is forty years old and captures the young vibrant Queen at their best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Early Queen at its best., 6 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is what I think of as "real Queen". Hungry and forceful The band at it's best before all of that watered-down 'I want to break free' and 'Friends will be friends' stuff came along.
Particularly struck by Freddies transformation just before he goes on stage. (I always thought that he looked like that naturally. You'll see what I mean). Excellent quality sound and blu-ray vision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live At The Rainbow '74 [Blu-ray] [2014]
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews