Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice (but not a classic)
If you are reading this it is quite possible you are no spring chicken. Maybe, like me, you have not purchased a Renaissance album since they brought out these CD things. Maybe, like me, you are really hoping that this album will sound as if it was recorded in those halcyon days of the 70s and they just, somehow, forgot to release it then. It’s what we always wish...
Published 10 months ago by ProgDave

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not disappointed with the delivery time
Not disappointed with the delivery time, just, on first hearing, the contents of the CD, all tracks seem rather bland & unmemorable, nothing like the Renaissance of old.,
Published 1 month ago by john spicer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice (but not a classic), 8 July 2014
This review is from: Symphony Of Light (Audio CD)
If you are reading this it is quite possible you are no spring chicken. Maybe, like me, you have not purchased a Renaissance album since they brought out these CD things. Maybe, like me, you are really hoping that this album will sound as if it was recorded in those halcyon days of the 70s and they just, somehow, forgot to release it then. It’s what we always wish for, and sometimes it comes true. Hell, I’ve just listened to the new recording of Journey to the Centre of the Earth and it knocks spots off the original. Anything can happen. Believe. However, I have to say that it isn’t really the case here. But all is not lost. Annie Haslam’s distinctive and remarkable voice is still distinctive and remarkable. She still hits any note she wants to; just perhaps not quite with the ease of the old days. Most of the music is still unmistakably Renaissance, though it lacks the dramatic punch it once had. There are tracks nonetheless that you could slip in amongst the old ones, and not really notice the difference, and I guess that is why it is still worth buying Symphony of Light. Will I play it while I am driving my familiar route to work in the mornings? -Yes. Will it grow on me? -I’m sure it will. Is it good to hear Annie sing again? -Oh yes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like all Renaissance albums, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Symphony Of Light (Audio CD)
I bought this album when it was first released in America as 'Grandin Il Vento' a few months ago. Like all Renaissance albums, it just gets better and better, and the more I hear it the more I like it. This is much more in the style of 'Turn of the Cards' than the later more commercial albums. Annies voice is still amazing, perhaps not quite as strong as it used to be, but still enchanting. Instrumentally, the group is just as good as they ever were and the guy on the piano / keyboards is every bit as good as John Tout, something I didn't think possible. The album is a real tribute to the late Mickey Dunford who sadly passed away just after this album was recorded. I love the use of guests, Jethro Tull, and the vocals of John Wetton on a couple of the tracks. My only complaint is that like many others records these days, it is released again a few months later with extra tracks on it, rendering my expensive American import redundant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 28 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Symphony Of Light (Audio CD)
I have been a fan of Renaissance since the original lineup and I think this album is a return to great form by the band after some unusual albums like Camera Camera that they made in the 1980's where they tried to be in vogue for that period. This is classic Renaissance that any long standing and new fan will love. Annie Haslam's voice shines right through the album, can't recommend it enough
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Renaissance - "Symphony Of Light", 26 July 2014
This review is from: Symphony Of Light (Audio CD)
This is an album that surprised me somewhat positively. The meeting Annie and Michael relives the good times with new songs and a nice style. The lush voice of Annie enriches the songs and compositions are well crafted. It is even more. Who is fan must know and can not fail to have this great record. The disc begins with a beautiful song "Symphony Of Light" which is the title track and ends with a beautiful tribute to Michael Dunford who sadly passed away with "Renaissance Man". The other songs complete with harmony and grandeur disk. Note 8.5. Very nice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The music on this is Excellent, but still not quite up to their old ..., 1 Dec. 2014
By 
Patrick A. Hearse "kandycottage" (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Symphony Of Light (Audio CD)
The music on this is Excellent, but still not quite up to their old standard. Obviously with so many of the original group going their separate ways, and the sad loss of Michael Dunford, something had to give. The new group members, while excellent musicians in their own right, somehow do not quite capture the essence that was Renaissance. Annie is, as ever, the Shining Star, and for me, she can do no wrong. She is a bit older now, but still has what it takes. I got this album 'downloaded, after contributing to the production of this album, like so many other fans, so do not wish to purchase it again. My only 'gripe' with their music now, is that they seem to be Totally pro USA. They seem to have forgotten their roots and where they started which, for me, is Very Sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Annnie Haslam's voice is a beautiful as ever and the songs are wonderfully constructed symphonic ..., 13 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Symphony Of Light (Audio CD)
I bought this from a sense of nostalgia - Song for All Seasons and Scheherezade having been two of my most over played LPs in the late 70's. I was half expecting it to be no more than OK, but I've played it over and again over the past month. Annnie Haslam's voice is a beautiful as ever and the songs are wonderfully constructed symphonic prog. Marvellous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A mature offering., 8 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Symphony Of Light (Audio CD)
This is a more considered Renaissance. We`re all getting older. This is a better album than some, notably Time-Line and Camera Camera, but you can`t hear it over the Hoover. And you wouldn`t want to. Listen to it. If you have followed the band sice the early 70s, you`ll need this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not disappointed with the delivery time, 14 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Symphony Of Light (Audio CD)
Not disappointed with the delivery time, just, on first hearing, the contents of the CD, all tracks seem rather bland & unmemorable, nothing like the Renaissance of old.,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Symphony Of Light (Audio CD)
EXcellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ... sure about every track but the some are really good, including the none with guest Ian Anderson on ..., 21 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Symphony Of Light (Audio CD)
I am not yet sure about every track but the some are really good, including the none with guest Ian Anderson on flute. It is a shame that Michael Dunford has left us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Symphony of Light
Symphony of Light by Renaissance
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews