Customer Reviews


151 Reviews
5 star:
 (137)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of inspiration
This is such an emotional, true story about a young couple who were about to start a new life together when events took a devastating turn.

Throughout the book we are reminded how fragile life is – Lauren and Andrew experienced a roller-coaster of terrifying situations (unfortunately more downs than ups so you’ll certainly need a box of tissues to...
Published 7 months ago by Sue

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A more balanced review
Having read all the reviews on Amazon, I notice that a significant proportion of them are by people connected to the story - eg 'i'm a friend of a friend of the couple' or 'i knew her at school' or 'something similar happened to me' so I do not think the reviews are particularly balanced. It is a good read - it's quite incredible what happens to them. There is a huge...
Published 3 months ago by E. S. Burroughs


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of inspiration, 13 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strength in Strangers: A true story of heartbreak, hope and courage (Kindle Edition)
This is such an emotional, true story about a young couple who were about to start a new life together when events took a devastating turn.

Throughout the book we are reminded how fragile life is – Lauren and Andrew experienced a roller-coaster of terrifying situations (unfortunately more downs than ups so you’ll certainly need a box of tissues to hand).

We live in a country where we take health care for granted and although I’m aware that few countries benefit from a system such as ours, it came as a horrific shock that unless there is a guarantee of payment, doctors refuse to treat patients so many people die as a result.

All through the book there are many acts of kindness from family, friends and strangers (hence the title) and it renews one’s faith in human nature.

The story is full of courage, love, despair, hope and strength.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A compelling, amazing, emotional roller coaster, 16 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strength in Strangers: A true story of heartbreak, hope and courage (Kindle Edition)
This is an amazing story, which after I started to read , I was unable to put down. There are a lot of true life stories on the market currently based on peoples personal experiences, often taking you through some pretty awful life events to help in a self therapy and recovery process. This was not like the usual type at all. It is written partly to raise awareness about organ donation, but not in a preachy way, in an exciting way which holds interest. Lauren Britton has a chatty style with amazing powers of description about both places and feelings/emotions. You really want to find out what happens next and go on the emotional roller coaster with her.This is the sort of thing that can happen to anyone. You can be catapulted from a relaxed secure existence into a knife edge existence at the drop of a hat.What is truly amazing are the reactions and offers of help which, as the title suggests, come from complete strangers= restores your faith in human nature. I would certainly recommend this book to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True courage. True love. Truly inspirational, 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strength in Strangers: A true story of heartbreak, hope and courage (Kindle Edition)
This is a story that everyone should read because it will help you appreciate everything good in your life that you take for granted. I have so much respect and admiration for Lauren Britton for the awesome job she has done in writing this book. Her brutal honesty and eloquent storytelling conveys every last drop of emotion and detail to such a degree that I feel as though I was sharing every twist and turn. This is a true story that is truly inspirational and I have no doubt that when Lauren turns this into a screenplay it will make the most fabulous feature film because it takes us on a journey that is an emotional tightrope. It is a gripping love story that will make you cry. And hopefully it will encourage more people to become organ donors. Meantime I am left in awe not just at Lauren's
skill as a writer but the enormous courage shown by Andrew and the strength of the key characters in this epic reality.

John Gubba
Writer, filmmaker & friend of the author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational true strength, 9 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Strength in Strangers: A true story of heartbreak, hope and courage (Kindle Edition)
Just finished reading "strength in strangers"
Really brought it home to me on how precious
Life is and how quickly your world can come crashing down.
But also showing love ,courage, friendships and family
Support can bring everyone closer together. Will also spread
The importance of donors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Gift of Life, 27 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strength in Strangers: A true story of heartbreak, hope and courage (Kindle Edition)
A brilliant, open, honest insight into the scary unpredictable world of heart failure . Lauren and Andrew your determination and love shines through this book , your support network is truly wonderful. Your journey and recovery needed all the advancements in medical and mechanical heart failure treatment. Yet in the end Andrew's survival depended on another family saying yes to their loved one becoming an organ donor.
This book is a must read especially if you're not on the Organ Donor Register this will make you see the importance of organ donation. Any one of us can get sick and need a transplant just because of something quite common like a virus. My daughter is also alive because of her heart donor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars heartfelt and thought provoking x, 3 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strength in Strangers: A true story of heartbreak, hope and courage (Kindle Edition)
I was a tiny part of Andrews journey and met him and Lauren at Harefield where I'm lucky to work. Even though I nurse patients with different heart conditions everyday it gave me a rare insight into the real patient experience. Andrew and Lauren went through more than I could've ever imagined and I wish I knew just how much they had already been through when he arrived on the ward. I knew the basics of the story but not in depth like I do now. Lauren writes beautifully and gives an insight into how quickly things can change and how, even though the world seems horrible at times, strangers do come together to help in the most amazing ways.
I wish both Lauren and Andrew a wonderful future and a happy life together xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You MUST read this book!, 26 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strength in Strangers: A true story of heartbreak, hope and courage (Kindle Edition)
AMAZING! Lauren takes you on a very personal but open journey with her and husband Andrew. II was advised to read this book when I became an emotional wreck after my brother had a massive heart attack last September. Over the following weeks, his moods and emotions were so erratic, he almost became someone I didn't know, but after reading Lauren's book describing the exact same emotions Andrew showed, I started to understand so much better! I also began to understand that I, and our Mum were going through an almost parallel rollercoaster journey to Lauren. This book will make you cry, laugh and think... think about how delicate and important our loves and lives can be. It also describes how exceptional and wonderful the medical teams are. Without the dedicated care of the staff at Harefield Hospital, I don't think my brother would be with us today.This book is written from the heart - raw, passionate, honest and heartwarming. Like Andrew, my brother is now on another long journey whilst waiting for a heart transplant, but each time the thought of what we're going through gets the better of me, I remember that there is hope - and we're not alone in this situation. This book is a brilliant, wonderful piece of writing. I did find strength in strangers - and some of them are now friends. If you, or anyone you know have been through a similar experience - this book is a must - it's a written form of medicine. Lauren Britton is one very special lady!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 21 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Strength in Strangers: A true story of heartbreak, hope and courage (Kindle Edition)
That was the quickest I've ever read a book, I just couldn't stop! I felt like I was living through it! This story is incredible and touching, it really opened my eyes to the importance of organ donation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, 20 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strength in Strangers: A true story of heartbreak, hope and courage (Kindle Edition)
This book is a wonderfully written true story of the strength, courage and hope shown by Lauren, Andrew and their families during what can only be described as one of the worst experiences imaginable. I couldn't put it down and I've got nothing but total respect and admiration for what they went through and how far they have come. This is undoubtedly one of the best books I've read and cannot recommend it highly enough!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping heart-wrencher (but try to ignore the plethora of typos), 18 Jan. 2015
By 
H Pedder "bookworm" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Strength in Strangers: A true story of heartbreak, hope and courage (Kindle Edition)
This true story of a husband and wife's honeymoon-turned-nightmare is quite a tale. One life-threatening setback follows another, and Strength in Strangers is an amazing story that brought me to tears more than once! Not only is it heart-wrenching, it's strangely inspiring and is certainly thought-provoking. I'd recommend this read; it's a page-turner and is so gripping - you wouldn't imagine that this kind of thing could really happen!

Despite all of this, one thing which really annoyed me was the quality of the typography/proof-reading and general writing. I accept that Lauren Britton wrote this to tell her and her husband's tale, which in itself is amazing. However, either she could have done with a ghost writer because it was a bit 'he said' 'she said', or if they did employ a ghost writer they didn't do much of a good job! What's more, the kindle edition was littered with typographic errors, random paragraphs halfway through sentences, repeated words, spelling mistakes and incorrect punctuation. Just because this is an e-book, a basic standard of written English and grammar ought to be applied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews