Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars37
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle EditionChange
Price:£2.73
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 June 2003
I say B****cks to the guy above. This book is great. I'm a big fan of Dale Brown and otherwriters like him. Nobody writes such fast-paced high-tech action as Brown. If you like military action and adventure look no futher. Brilliant fun. You don't need to understand jargon to read this - just take it as it is - it brings a dimension of realism and excitement of getting in with the high-tech, high-precision warfare that is common in Brown's novels. I've yet to find a duff Dale Brown. You'll find it hard to put down.
0Comment6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2000
Yet another in a long-running series of action adventures with both geo-politics and flying to the fore.
As a former military pilot, I can fully appreciate the tensions that Brown builds up - albeit he was a navigator in strategic bombers and I was a lowly special forces helicopter pilot! Believe me, whatever level of military flying you're involved with, if you're mission-planning for a strike at or behind enemy lines, it's a truly frightening experience; there's always the wonder "will I get back or be hurt?".
Dale Brown understands this, and it comes through this story as in most of his others.
Well written, easy to read, exciting, but if you start it in bed at the end of the day, I defy you to switch the light off before you've finished it<g>!
0Comment8 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2005
Very interesting in the plot, always unpredictable. Great inside on military technology and tactics. Very inbiased on the political subject, the hero is ucranian.
One of teh best I've read this year.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2014
Another outstanding Dale Brown novel. Very topically this is about the expansionist ideas of modern Russia with the Ukraine and other former satellite states under threat. woven in is the introduction of women to combat roles in the US and the Americans awakening to what has been going on in Europe. Highly recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2015
The storyline was average and predictable, and the continual use military abbreviations and terminology interrupts the flow of the story. - attention to detail is commendable, but this author overdoes it
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2015
This is a fiction military aviation thriller; if that's not your thing, then stop right here. However, for rest of us, this is a fantastic book and one of Dale Brown's best.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
As a US Air Force Captain with experience of flying B-52s and FB111 fighter-bombers, Dale Brown is considered an authority on everything connected with air warfare.

But, as I read `Chains of Command', I found myself sympathising with the refusal of the American President (and First Lady) to accept a standard National Military Command Center Situation Report: the amount of abbreviations and acronyms they contain "would throw these Ivy League grads into a royal tizzy". Despite that excellent advice, Dale Brown insists on including page after page of jargon that, to the average reader, must be meaningless. For example:

"He set the right side MFD to the NAV Present Position page, checked that the update mode was in RADAR, then pressed the ENTER FIX Option Select Switch. The reverse video on the ENT FIX legend went out, and the FIXMAG readouts went to zero, indicating a successful position update. Mace switched his right side MFD from the Present Position page to the SRAM Air page and placed the Bomb Data page on the left MFD."

Got it?

If you can brush aside this gobbledygook, you'll probably enjoy finding yourself strapped into the cockpit alongside the pilot, fighting G-forces as the air-to-air combat around you goes haywire. Despite that plus point, the storyline (to say nothing of that so-called chain of command) is disjointed whilst, with one possible exception, the characters are poorly developed and lack believability.

Overall credibility - OK, not Dale Brown's fault - isn't helped by the fact that `Chains of Command' (written in 1993, set in 1995 and reviewed in 2015) deals with an attempt by a fictitious Russian president to annex the Ukraine and restore the territorial integrity of the old USSR.

Fortunately, when the very real President Putin had similar ideas in early 2014, he avoided the use of low yield atomic weapons.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2014
As normal another thrilling book by one of my favourite authors of thrillers! Utterly absorbing and keeps you guessing until the end.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2014
I have read all of his books and his books with Jim Defelice, and all have been enjoyed. Looking forward to Starfire.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2014
another good plausible story from Dale Brown a very good read and difficult to put down from start to finish
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.