Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still doing it well
When it came to naming her new studio album, Jennifer Lopez pondered over multiple titles. Over the years she has assumed various names and guises, and has successfully dabbled in many musical genres. As such, it is only fitting that the rejuvenated pop diva switch hats once again, dropping her dancefloor diva persona of last album "Love?", and presenting an advanced...
Published 11 months ago by Scarlet Jupiter

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I say no, no, no
Somebody is taking the piss here. Who on earth greenlighted this pile of rubbish? Why would anybody in 2014 produce an album in a music style that hasn't been relevant in a decade? Hasn't anybody learnt anything from Kelly Rowland? She has produced album after album of rnb mediocrity and nobody has bought them. Jennifer, love, are you paying attention? Has anybody at your...
Published 10 months ago by Clark Kent


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still doing it well, 16 Jun. 2014
By 
Scarlet Jupiter - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A.K.A. (Audio CD)
When it came to naming her new studio album, Jennifer Lopez pondered over multiple titles. Over the years she has assumed various names and guises, and has successfully dabbled in many musical genres. As such, it is only fitting that the rejuvenated pop diva switch hats once again, dropping her dancefloor diva persona of last album "Love?", and presenting an advanced version of her urban-pop, ghetto-glam style of her first albums. The result is unusually varied and ambitious, displaying her older Latin-fused sound with a more contemporary electro-pop-dance vibe. Amidst sizzling beats and sumptuous melodies, and numerous guest turns, Jennifer with her inimitable swag marries together all of the musical sounds she has experimented with over the years, in a righteous, self-aware attempt to regain her once all-conquering chart status.

The title track, "First love", "Troubeaux" and "Same girl" are some of Jenny's all-time best, representing the album's versatile musical landscape. Most surprising, though, are the softer moments, where rather unexpectedly she gets to soar, songs like "So good" and "Let it be me" in particular are brilliantly crafted ballads, the kind that is no longer found on pop albums. When talking about recording "A.K.A.", JLo said that she wanted to go back to her roots. "I really love the process of making an album, this one in particular, because it took me so long." Some things are worth the wait, "A.K.A." certainly has been. Mostly enjoyable, slightly predictable, it is yet another exciting album for JLo who still remains standing, a recognisable force in an industry dominated by fleeting pop stars. She never fails to please, gotta give her credit at least for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JLo is back with her urban R'n'B roots!, 20 Jun. 2014
By 
Rajdeep (West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
JLo has come back with an amazing R'n'B album! I don't think I found one bad song throughout the tracklist. This is definitely made for her fans!

So Good (one of my top favourites just love the summer vibe to it)
* First Love (definitely an amazing summer single)
* A.K.A (love the bridge and chorus)
* Booty (I didn't like this at first because of the title lol but it is a grower and the chorus is pretty catchy)
* Worry No More (probably my least favourite out of the rest but it is a good filler track)
* Expertease (a bonus track that should be on the normal tracklist the chorus is so catchy and I can see it a relaxing summer single)
* Tens (a bonus track that could be said to have that tongue in cheek feel to it. It is a filler track but it has a fun sound similar to Britney and Lady Gaga with the designer names part of the song)
* Let It Be Me (another one of my favourite tracks as it reminisces her earlier ballads with the Latin sound guitar rift. Love how she is experimenting with her soft voice in the last 30 second)
* Acting Like That (hopefully this becomes a single it is addictive especially the chorus and the beat in background. It adds a nice touch to the song)
* Same Girl (I so wish this song was promoted well but it was done for her fans rather than as a commercial single. It echoes JLo to the core - the sound, the beats, the lyrics, the chorus is just on top form for me. The normal version without French Montana is so much better)
* I'm Never Satisfied ( another favourite - I love the rocky ballad mid tempo feel to this song as the sound is not typical JLo but her vocals is on here is absolutely amazing)
* Emotions (another song that I didn't feel much for because the beginning of the song didn't really entice me but as the song keeps playing it gets so much better and now I love it! Definitely a grower)
* Troublebeaux ft Nas (another favourite! Love the fact that JLo and Nas collaborated again as Nas adds an awesome touch as always. The horns are used again like in her Get Right song. JLo's vocals is amazing here and the beat will be stuck in your mind)

Overall the album is very consistent throughout and glad to see Jennifer back to her old roots with a very urban twist. Hoping the album sales do very well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprise, surprise, 16 Jun. 2014
This review is from: A.K.A. (Audio CD)
Once again Jennifer (J.Lo) Lopez appears to have fans and critics divided. Some are unhappy that Jennifer has ditched the pop/dance sound which seemed so successful on her previous album 'Love?' (and also the singles from her greatest hits record) in favour of more RnB/hip-hop music. Others are glad she's jumped off the band wagon and doing what she does best and indeed what she started off doing in the first place - after all she is Jenny from the Block.

The surprise here is that instead of collecting together 'hit singles' and padding out the rest of the album with filler (something she has been accused of in the past) the album feels enjoyably coherent, with songs which simmer and grow with each listen rather than slap you round the face at first and then get tired.

The biggest surprise has to be the ballad Let It Be Me - which in it's second half has J.Lo soaring into her upper register and sounding wonderful. You're left slightly perplexed as to where that voice has come from with thankfully no obvious sign of auto-tune assistance in sight.

So do the singles (I Luh Ya Papi & First Love) properly represent the rest of the record... well, not really which is why I can imagine the casual listener might be confused or even put off from buying the album. Of the two, I Luh Ya Papi is probably closest to the overall ''urban'' sound of the record but even that feels a little quirky/tongue-in-cheek whereas the remainder of the album takes itself rather more seriously.

Aside from Let It Be Me the other stand outs here have to be the catchy So Good and Never Satisfied (potentially a future single?) along with the deluxe edition tracks Tens, Troubeaux and Expertease. (maybe they shouldn't have been deluxe edition tracks J.Lo!!)

Booty should get a mention just for the pure "oh no she didn't" feeling you get when it first plays but ultimately it's a fun song which will no doubt end up as the next single with a very fun video. It's probably the only song here which doesn't really feel like it fits in with the rest of the record but it ends the standard edition of the album on a high note.

I think First Love is a great pop song but doesn't reflect the urban feel of this album and I can imagine someone buying this record off the back of liking First Love to be a little disappointed. That said, I feel there's enough material here for anyone to find at least a handful of enjoyable songs to dance and sing along to.

Jennifer co-wrote most of this record too so it's definitely more personal in some respects than, say, Love? was.

Lack of promo from J.Lo and the fact the album never went onto iTunes for pre-order don't suggest much in terms of success for this album, especially without a hit single to it's name. Hopefully I'm wrong as I really think this record works great and is a solid entry into J.Lo's discography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant album, 25 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A.K.A. (Audio CD)
jennifer Lopez is a fantastic singer and her latest album A.K.A is brilliant Please buy it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album has had some bad press and even worse sales, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A.K.A. (Audio CD)
This album has had some bad press and even worse sales, I love it, upbeat tunes, Lopez's voice is on top form and the album flows, traditional J Lo with a hint of updated musical direction. A Jennifer Lopez fan must have, and if you're new to her music get the greatest hits and add this also.. I luv u papi is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jennifer Lopez.... A.K.A. the queen of R&B, 29 Jun. 2014
This review is from: A.K.A. (Audio CD)
Jennifer Lopez is back with her 8th studio album 'AKA', this albums shows the star returning to her urban and R&B roots. The album features the singles 'I Luh Ya Papi' and 'First Love' aswell as some A-list collaborations including T.I., Iggy Azalea, French Montana and Pitbull! This album is filled with potential smash hits and is a must have for all JLO fans.... Below I am going to give a rating for each track and a comment on the songs that I think are stand out tracks on the album.

01: AKA (featuring T.I.) - 9/10. For me this track really sets the tone of AKA and is the perfect opening track, with amazing beats, heavy bass and T.I. this song shows that JLO means business!

02: First Love - 7/10. This is the 2nd single from the album and for me is slightly bland... JLO gives us another old pop song about love and personally I think it would have been better suited as a deluxe edition track.

03: Never Satisfied - 5/10. Never satisfied... that's how I felt once .listening to this song, again it's another old ballad about love (she may be amazing at singing the song) but for me I feel like we've heard this before and it pulls away from the fresh new vibe that AKA gives.

04: I Luh Ya Papi (featuring French Montana) - 9/10. This is more like it! Fresh, fun and screams summer... with this lead single JLO fails to disappoint and gives fans what they've been waiting for, a fresh urban track perfect for summer!

05: Acting Like That (featuring Iggy Azalea) - 10/10. This is perfect for AKA, it's urban, edgey and has rapper Iggy Azalea showing us that her and JLO aren't a force to be reckoned with on this hot collaboration... For me this song is one that makes AKA!

06: Emotions - 8/10. Yes... another ballad, however this time JLO gives us her all in this song with an urban beat and flawless vocals this is the best ballad of the album.

07: So Good - 10/10. This for me is my favourite R&B track on the album and words just can't describe, this is definitely one of JLO's best songs ever!

08: Let It Be Me - 5/10. For me this track just let's the album down and personally I feel that it is not needed.

09: Worry No More (featuring Rick Ross) - 9/10. Another amazing urban track that is perfect for this album... This is definetely a stand out track! The only reason this didn't make 10/10 is that it gets a bit repetitive towards the end.

10: Booty (featuring Pitbull) - 10/10. The final track on the standard album... This is an amazing song and the one I love most on AKA! At first I was put off by another Pitbull collaboration... but this song exceeded all expectation and is fresh, hot and amazing! Perfect way to close the album.

11: Tens (featuring Jack Mizrahi) - 10/10. Wow! What a way to kick off the deluxe bonus tracks... another heavy bass track however this time about the runway and fashion? Slightly confusing... but this is an amazing song and is definitely worth a listen or two.

12: Troubeaux (featuring Nas) - 9/10. Again another brilliant track on the deluxe edition, for me this has different feel to the rest of AKA and it therefore brings something new to the board. All in all its a fun song about dangerous love and definitely a stand out track.

13: Expertease (Ready Set Go) - 10/10. The best love song I've heard by JLO since '(What Is) Love?' on the last album, for me this is a great track and could be a huge hit.

14: Same Girl (featuring French Montana) - 3/10. I was that keen on this track to start and I was happy to see it was cancelled as an official song, however now the remixed edition featuring French Montana has made me dislike it even more, any good this song had has been lost by the edition of French.

15: Charades ***Target/Japan only *** - 10/10. One of the best JLO songs ever! I cannot believe this didn't make the standard cut... this song is an amazing urban track about breaking up and is perfect for AKA.

16: Girls (featuring Tyga) *** Target/Japan only *** - 10/10. Girls was the first ever sampling of AKA we heard released as a buzz single earlier this year, the song is sexy and urban and basically sums up AKA, the remix featuring Tyga makes the album even better adding another R&B do tension to the record and a fantastic song to end the album with!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely worth listening to!, 8 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A.K.A. (Audio CD)
I haven't stopped listening to it yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Her best yet!, 16 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A.K.A. (Audio CD)
From the first to the last track, each one could be a hit single. Vocally she has grown and in confidence.

Highly recommended for the summer!

Tracks that are highlights....
AKA, Acting like that, troubeau, expertease, tens, BOOTY, Worry no more, First Love, Same Girl... pretty much the whole album.

Track that will surprise the most.
Let it be me.... spanish guitar and emotionally dynamic powerful vocals. Best track on album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars really enjoyed the last album, 12 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A.K.A. (Audio CD)
Hi,got this not very long ago,got the last one "love",so thought hear we go again,really enjoyed the last album.Ok honesty time,first played this on the way to work,maybe not the best time,O dear,seems things have gone very off target,but after say ten plays,it seems to grow on you,diffrent from the other album,but has it moments. So over all will give this a good rateing. J Sibbald ps the cover is great,will make a good poster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding album, 17 Jun. 2014
This review is from: A.K.A. (Audio CD)
A perfect blend of ballads, urban and hip hop influences. Couldn't be happier with it and it is well worth purchasing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A.K.A. [Explicit]
A.K.A. [Explicit] by Jennifer Lopez
Buy MP3 Album£8.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews