Customer Reviews


209 Reviews
5 star:
 (131)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime
Play this with your headphones on and close your eyes. You will experience true transcendence. Lana del Rey is an breathtaking artist. Something about the combination of her breathy, angelic voice with her dark lyrics makes this album divine. It's really different to born to die (I think paradise marks the middle ground between the two albums) but at the same time it's...
Published 4 months ago by La Esmerelda

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm... a curate's egg
This is a grower, and don't expect it to be Born to Die 2.0. Every track moves at a snail's pace, there are fewer immediate hooks and choruses - although there still are some. Best tracks: West Coast; Cruel World; Money, Power, Glory - one of the few with the kind of soaring chorus you might have expected; F---ed my Way up to the Top; Shades of Cool(one of several tracks...
Published 3 days ago by Peter


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 17 Jun 2014
This review is from: Ultraviolence (Audio CD)
Play this with your headphones on and close your eyes. You will experience true transcendence. Lana del Rey is an breathtaking artist. Something about the combination of her breathy, angelic voice with her dark lyrics makes this album divine. It's really different to born to die (I think paradise marks the middle ground between the two albums) but at the same time it's still VERY Lana. It's hard t explain without listening to it. But on the whole this album has a more stripped back, raw feel. It's edgier. It's darker. Sure, Born to Die was dark, but poppier songs were interspersed with the darker songs on that album. The themes this album deals with can be very bleak; Lana does not shy away from dealing with controversial topics, and the ethereal sound contributes to this mood further. It's a haunting masterpiece. It would be difficult to pick standout tracks, but I'm happy to say that there are no filler tracks either. It all fits together perfectly.

Download it. I don't know how she keeps doing it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultraviolence - the Lana Del Rey story continues in tremendous form., 10 Aug 2014
By 
J. R. Wilde "eclecticJez" (Herfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ultraviolence (Audio CD)
I have an immensely high regard for Lana Del Rey, she has the ability to write incredibly hard, almost vicious, biting lyrics and then deliver them in a voice so sweet and gentle that the barbs leave no wound. Quite simply, as demonstrated on "Born To Die" and "Paradise", she's one of the best lyricists around and definitely one of the best vocalists currently performing.
"Ultraviolence" merely extends that legacy, the lyrics are just as subversive, brilliantly picturesque (verbal S&M maybe) and a complete contrast to her verbal delivery. This album, to me, seems to be a perfect next step in the Lana Del Rey story and easily stands on its own against the previous two, I can hardly wait for the next edition - will she mellow, will she continue to rail against the industry and system, will she make some peace with her inner demons? Whatever the answer, I'll be first in line to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect follow up to Born to Die, 11 Aug 2014
By 
This review is from: Ultraviolence (Audio CD)
A perfect follow up to Born to Die. More morose more adult and more captivating. Gone is the girlishness but the voice and intelligent lyrics remain. Cruel World is perhaps the best song of the year whilst lead single West Coast cleverly plays with rhythm and lyrics blending them to perfection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just beautiful. I'd say even better than the first one, 19 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultraviolence (Audio CD)
Just beautiful. I'd say even better than the first one. With this album, Lana del Rey just touches right into my soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Into the darkness, 20 Jun 2014
By 
Nick Brett (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultraviolence (Audio CD)
Loved the first album and enjoyed this one. It's much darker with haunting lyrics and echoing vocals and needs proper listening to, not reallu suited to background or car listening.
It feels like an extension to the first album but misses out (in my humble opinion) on any stand-out tracks in the vein of Born to Die. Having said that, there is no doubt she is an immense talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Utterly Beautiful, 20 Jun 2014
By 
robotfish "robotfish" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultraviolence (Audio CD)
As much as I loved Video Games (the song) I always felt the Born To Die album was pitched a bit too far in the girly RnB/Trip Hop direction. It had some killer choruses, but I had to fight the urge to skip the more poppy bits.

This album is a different beast altogether. The backing tracks are moody swathes of strings and fuzzy guitars full of reverb & echo with relatively subdued drumming. The pace rarely varies away from glacial but for this type of album it is perfect: it can be listened to in its entirety without anything jarring. However it does startle with remarkable frequency. The tunes are beautiful, and the singing is spot on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lana del rey,enough said :), 19 Jun 2014
By 
J. leask "lizard king uk" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
after listening to lana del ray on a weekly basis with her last album i was waiting with baited breath for this album to drop and i can say i am not dissapointed,her sexy smoldering voice grips you on the first note and does not let go till track 14 ( delux edition) will be listening to this forever or until another album appears either way i am one happy bunny indeed :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it's moody and haunting and sad so don't listen if you are feeling down, 10 Aug 2014
By 
C. Quinn (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultraviolence [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
I have been listening to this album a lot on headphones on the way to work, it's moody and haunting and sad so don't listen if you are feeling down. Otherwise it is relaxing and emotional. Her voice sometimes reminded me of Billie Holiday, other times like This Mortal Coil- very raw, sometimes violent and aggressive, other times melodic with base-tone backing vocals. This is my first experience of Del Rey and I am impressed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 6 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultraviolence [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
A lot slower than the Born to Die album. But it is just as amazing and just as beautiful as the aforementioned album. Ms Del Rey is quite possibly the most talented songstress around these days and deserves nothing but praise. I love the woman's work and as long as she keeps the standard of this and Born to Die I will continue to buy her music and love it just as much as I do with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good 2nd album by LDR, 9 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good 2nd album by LDR. Not quite as good as her 1st album (breathtaking), but more down to earth. Her 1st album had finely crafted songs, delivered with 'cinemasacope' backing music. If her 2nd album reflects a 'back to the roots' approach, then it is still a fine album. By the way, I disagree with the disparaging view certain critics held about her recent concert at Glastonbury. For me, it was a monumental performance in threatening weather conditions to a very appreciative audience - "we love you Lana" - I agree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ultraviolence [Explicit]
Ultraviolence [Explicit] by Lana Del Rey
Buy MP3 Album£8.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews