Customer Reviews


130 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime
Play this with your headphones on and close your eyes. You will experience true transcendence. Lana del Rey is an breathtaking artist. Something about the combination of her breathy, angelic voice with her dark lyrics makes this album divine. It's really different to born to die (I think paradise marks the middle ground between the two albums) but at the same time it's...
Published 1 month ago by La Esmerelda

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a patch on Born to Die
Now I should first say that I loved her album Born to Die. Buy it and I doubt that you will be disappointed. However, Ultraviolence is nowhere near as good. I read other reviews that raved about Ultraviolence and I've got to say that I just can't agree. In fact, I found myself automatically reaching to turn the volume down when 'The Other Woman' came on. Lana seems to...
Published 23 days ago by Jon M


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 17 Jun 2014
This review is from: Ultraviolence (Audio CD)
Play this with your headphones on and close your eyes. You will experience true transcendence. Lana del Rey is an breathtaking artist. Something about the combination of her breathy, angelic voice with her dark lyrics makes this album divine. It's really different to born to die (I think paradise marks the middle ground between the two albums) but at the same time it's still VERY Lana. It's hard t explain without listening to it. But on the whole this album has a more stripped back, raw feel. It's edgier. It's darker. Sure, Born to Die was dark, but poppier songs were interspersed with the darker songs on that album. The themes this album deals with can be very bleak; Lana does not shy away from dealing with controversial topics, and the ethereal sound contributes to this mood further. It's a haunting masterpiece. It would be difficult to pick standout tracks, but I'm happy to say that there are no filler tracks either. It all fits together perfectly.

Download it. I don't know how she keeps doing it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Utterly Beautiful, 20 Jun 2014
By 
robotfish "robotfish" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultraviolence (Audio CD)
As much as I loved Video Games (the song) I always felt the Born To Die album was pitched a bit too far in the girly RnB/Trip Hop direction. It had some killer choruses, but I had to fight the urge to skip the more poppy bits.

This album is a different beast altogether. The backing tracks are moody swathes of strings and fuzzy guitars full of reverb & echo with relatively subdued drumming. The pace rarely varies away from glacial but for this type of album it is perfect: it can be listened to in its entirety without anything jarring. However it does startle with remarkable frequency. The tunes are beautiful, and the singing is spot on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultraviolence (Audio CD)
Best album by far
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Born to die for, 16 Jun 2014
"The record is finished and it's beautiful. And don't worry, you will love Ultra. It's so wrong and exquisite, it is absolutely gorgeous. Darker than the first; so dark it's almost unlistenable and wrong. But I love it." This was Lana Del Rey, talking to Twitter in early 2014, discussing her -then- upcoming album. She could not have been more accurate. Although it is not a radical departure from "Born to die", the songwriting on "Ultraviolence" is stronger, the lyrics more reflective, the melodies more engaging, the delivery sharper. Teaming up with The Black Keys' Dan Auerbach has given a rougher, more raw take on her fascination with classic American iconography, sex, drugs, and rock 'n' roll, toning down the orchestral extravaganza of the previous album with a darker, more sensual sound.

There is not a standout song here, at least not upon first listening. One's enjoyment of "Ultraviolence" depends on how easily they can appreciate the subtle details, demonstrating Del Rey's force in the most unforced manner. If you were to take Marilyn Monroe, Kurt Cobain, Nancy Sinatra, Elvis Presley, Nina Simone, Leonard Cohen, Tori Amos and Jessica Rabbit, and roll them all up into one, Lana Del Rey would be the outcome, and this record the product. Slightly over-melodramatic and monotonous at times, but captivating and highly addictive, "Ultraviolence" may seriously be another masterpiece in music, it is an almost flawlessly executed record. Complicated romance has found its muse, the world an icon to obsess with and to worship. Fixation guaranteed, why not indulge?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great music to chill and be depressed to, 25 July 2014
By 
A. Taylor (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultraviolence (Audio CD)
great music to chill and be depressed to...added bonus that she swears on a couple of tracks...haha..seriously though, a great album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such a unique artist!, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultraviolence (MP3 Download)
I love Lana's voice and the way she uses it. She sings her songs which are often very moving and tell a sad story with the utmost sweetness and delicacy. Very cool and at times (for me) sublime! Such a unique and gifted artist.

One of the first things I think after I've listened her new album is: when will the next one be out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lana del rey,enough said :), 19 Jun 2014
By 
J. leask "lizard king uk" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
after listening to lana del ray on a weekly basis with her last album i was waiting with baited breath for this album to drop and i can say i am not dissapointed,her sexy smoldering voice grips you on the first note and does not let go till track 14 ( delux edition) will be listening to this forever or until another album appears either way i am one happy bunny indeed :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultraviolence (Audio CD)
I love this! Lana's beauty of a voice with some cool psychedelic tones. NICE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultraviolence (Audio CD)
Great album, amazing voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Is this happiness? Or a crying shame?, 29 Jun 2014
A mixture of the sublime (and perhaps some filler?), but the sublime is truly heavenly: "Brooklyn Baby" is David Lynch sublime indeed, and "Black Beauty" as well, but the standout track of them all has got to be track 16, "Is This Happiness". But why oh why is it on Itunes download only (which I don't do) and not on the CDs? A crying shame. (Oh yes, and if you're wondering where the tune on "Old Money" comes from, try Nino Rota, "A Time For Us" - deserving a credit, surely?).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ultraviolence
Ultraviolence by Lana Del Rey
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews