Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
I loved it.
Published 10 months ago by Mrs E A Gaston

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Corum meets Diana Brackley and Francis Saxover?
On the surface a re-examination of Wyndham's 'Trouble with lichen', but perhaps more accurately summarised as a fast paced narrative in the tradition of 60s pulp-fantasy with a deeper nod to Mike Moorcock (particularly via his first 'Corum' trilogy; "Corum is a Vadhagh, one of a race of long-lived beings with limited magical abilities dedicated to peaceful pursuits...
Published 10 months ago by Prof. J. Mark Bishop


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Corum meets Diana Brackley and Francis Saxover?, 9 July 2014
This review is from: Mutation: The Millennium Girl Series (Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
On the surface a re-examination of Wyndham's 'Trouble with lichen', but perhaps more accurately summarised as a fast paced narrative in the tradition of 60s pulp-fantasy with a deeper nod to Mike Moorcock (particularly via his first 'Corum' trilogy; "Corum is a Vadhagh, one of a race of long-lived beings with limited magical abilities dedicated to peaceful pursuits such as art and poetry. A group of "Mabden" (men) led by the savage Earl Glandyth-a-Krae raid the family castle.. ").

In Westland's "Millennium Girl .." series, his core structural device is to transpose a grand (Eternal-Champion-esque) theme away from the realm of high anarchic 60s fantasy and embed it into a more recognisable, near-future chessboard sci-fiction led universe. There are more guns and RPGs here and fewer swords and axes.

Westland's writing is swift paced, like Moorcock and E.R.Burroughs, pulling the reader across the surface of his world - wherein several interesting scientific and philosophical counterfactuals are explored (cf. regarding power, the global 'elite' [echoes of a massive Bilderberg Group], long-life, immortality, health etc) .. However, whilst the relatively light treatment of character and description will work perfectly well for many drawn into the Millennium Girl's world, others may baulk at the relative lightness of characterisation, and sparseness of [the descriptive] prose; I guess, if this may be a problem for you, be forewarned - this book may not work so well for you. For everyone else into high post apocalyptic, female super-hero adventure, the Millennium Girl promises to be a series well worth checking out.

NB. It seems to me that if the publisher/author knows a good illustrator, the material would make an awesome setting for a [series of] graphic novel(s) in the tradition of "The Sandman", "Watchmen" etc.. Film rights anyone?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mutation: The Millennium Girl Series (Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing approach to post-apocalyptic genre, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mutation: The Millennium Girl Series (Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Westland brings a fresh approach to the post-apocalyptic genre. The fast pace of the narrative is engaging, but this is at the expense of character development and depth. I wanted to know what it felt like in the bunker. The smells, the pressure of being cooped up, the quietness, the fears of outside. The book reminded me of a doughnut. Its arrival brought me pleasure, its departure left me hungry for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book - A 'got to read', 6 July 2014
This review is from: Mutation: The Millennium Girl Series (Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Great book - A 'got to read'!!
It's gripping, thought provoking, clever and thoroughly enjoyable.
Hoping the Book 2 comes alone very soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful science fiction, 24 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mutation: The Millennium Girl Series (Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
You can't imaging the last when you first read it. It's a really good science fiction and you won't be boring with it. Very looking forward to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dystopian Thriller, 21 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mutation: The Millennium Girl Series (Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Gripping novella with original ideas and scientific credibility. If you like John Wyndham you'll like this. Looking forward to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great read..., 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mutation: The Millennium Girl Series (Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The plot was uncomplicated but full of action.
Ongoing plot twists
Keen to read Book 2
Read and enjoy !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mutation: The Millennium Girl Series (Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I love this book. It's very interesting idea!!!
I'm looking forward to reading next series :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 17 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mutation: The Millennium Girl Series (Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Wonderful read from the first page to the last: excellent character development and well-paced, engaging narrative ... a great first installment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engaging and thought-provoking, 10 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mutation: The Millennium Girl Series (Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Impressive first novel set in the near future. I was hooked from the first chapter, keen to find out how Amelia's story would pan out. Can't wait for the second book in the Millennium Girl Series to be published!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews