Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is one of the best in all children's literature., 1 Jun 1998
By A Customer
I read "The Story of Doctor Dolittle" for the first time when I was seven. Recently I read the new edition illustrated by Michael Hague. This new edition is terrific. The revisions are obvious to one who read the original work, but they are sensible and reflect Lofting's intentions while reflecting modern thought. Hague's illustrations are beautiful. I would still recommend that older children and adults read the original, to learn a bit about Lofting's time and because the author's illustrations are wonderfully simplistic. This is also a good read-aloud for younger children, because many, when they are able to read it for themselves, will unfortunately have lost interest in such a fanciful story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best book ever review, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A brilliant book
funny charming book

really captures the mood of nature and animals
I would like to talk to animals one day
I really enjoyed this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The story of Doctor Dolittle, 5 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story of Doctor Dolittle (Kindle Edition)
A brilliant story. Ideal for animal lovers and adventure seekers. Even though it looks a bit boring it is full of adventure and excitement. Never judge a book by its cover. Doctor Dolittle is a heart warming classic and is a great book for young and old alike. I am 9 and I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you didn't read this as a child, read it now., 13 Nov 2014
By 
T. Jaray (Worcester, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story of Doctor Dolittle (Kindle Edition)
Lovely introduction to the Dr Doolittle books if you haven't already read them. I had several as a child, but amazingly, not this first one. It describes how Dr Doolittle learns to speak the languages of the animals and then tells about his first big adventure. Lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great for book worms!, 20 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story of Doctor Dolittle (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book ,I really ate it up, it was very enjoyable, I'm sure people who like classics would love this book,I can't wait to see what Dr.Dolittle Will do next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 30 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story of Doctor Dolittle (Kindle Edition)
Cool amazing wonderful super fab fabulous fantastic sooooooo good I would recommend it to anyone you want.
IT'S AMAZING!!!!!!! SO COOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 29 Oct 2014
best book in the world! very happy,sad,funny,curious good for me and you .why don't they have money in Africa why?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great family read., 18 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story of Doctor Dolittle (Kindle Edition)
Great family read. Funny and imaginative. We as adults enjoyed this as much as the kids did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story of Doctor Dolittle (Kindle Edition)
I've always loved this story, and now my children do too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Story of Doctor Dolittle
£0.45
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews