Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A movie where you really hope that the bad guy succeeds...!
Spoiler alert!!!!!

Whilst I've never been a fan of the horror genre, the premise of this movie was one that had me intrigued. My wife is surely sick and tired of me grumbling about the decline of the art of film presentation into cinemas being reduced to a giant blu-ray player with a grossly over-priced food concession run by teenagers who don't give a ****...
Published 5 months ago by Robert Roy

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tickets please....
Allie, and her boyfriend Martin, go to see a midnight showing of The Hills Have Eyes 2 and find they're the only ones in the cinema screen.

Stuart, is an old school projectionist, who has since been relegated to concessions, following the advent of digital projection.

He slips drugs into Allie's lemonade, before her and Martin go into the movie...
Published 3 months ago by Corey Newcombe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A movie where you really hope that the bad guy succeeds...!, 24 Aug. 2014
By 
Robert Roy (Edinburgh, Scotland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Showing [Blu-ray] [2014] (Blu-ray)
Spoiler alert!!!!!

Whilst I've never been a fan of the horror genre, the premise of this movie was one that had me intrigued. My wife is surely sick and tired of me grumbling about the decline of the art of film presentation into cinemas being reduced to a giant blu-ray player with a grossly over-priced food concession run by teenagers who don't give a **** about movies!

As a small boy, the first job I ever wanted was to be a cinema projectionist! I was, (and still am), fascinated by the mechanics of film presentation. How I'm glad I didn't, for, whilst I sympathise with the protagonist's point of view, I find his modus operandi in this movie quite curious.

Yes, I admit that the arrogant, public schoolboy type needed taken down a peg or two, but I don't see how the outcome of this movie achieved anything. As a result, there's very little ramping up of tension, since there's no sense of caring about the three victims' fate. I can quite see where Englund's character was coming from!

The film is acted well, with Englund playing against type as a character who is so ordinary that the horror is in his uncharacteristic behaviour. Perhaps this movie works best when seen in a quiet cinema late at night!

So, not bad but not great either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tickets please...., 2 Oct. 2014
This review is from: The Last Showing [Blu-ray] [2014] (Blu-ray)
Allie, and her boyfriend Martin, go to see a midnight showing of The Hills Have Eyes 2 and find they're the only ones in the cinema screen.

Stuart, is an old school projectionist, who has since been relegated to concessions, following the advent of digital projection.

He slips drugs into Allie's lemonade, before her and Martin go into the movie.

From there, Stuart proceeds to make his own movie, even though Allie and Martin, are less than willing to star.....

For a low budget horror movie, it's surprisingly well made, and for once Englund isn't really hamming it up like he does in non Freddy horror movies. His Stuart is very mild mannered, almost Ned Flanders mild mannered, but you can understand why he is disgruntled in this digital world, his fellow colleagues and employer offer no respect, so why not take revenge by making your own movie.

By the time the second act begins, you can understand why the budget was so low, it's filmed in a Vue Cinema somewhere in Chester I believe, and I think the staff just locked the doors and let them get on with it.

It can get pretty tense in places, the stand off between Martin and the cinema manager is a highlight, but then it turns from a light horror film to 'Die Hard in a cinema', something that I thought would never be made.

And the ending is something that I wouldn't have expected the makers or the writers to, so kudos to them for coming up with something original, rather than going down the safe path, even though you subliminally promise a sequel.

But sadly, Berrington spends the majority of the film unconscious, Martin looks too much like Harry Styles from One Direction to convince as the hero, and Keith Allen pops up at the end looking for his career.

It references old school horror, and there is a slight message of Old School cinema is the best, but its worth watching, even though it can get a little formulaic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars TRUST ME. I'M A PROJECTIONIST, 1 Sept. 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The film has a good opening. Red and white letter fonts, translucent green tinting and Robert Englund. We discover Stuart (Englund) works at a cineplex. He is dissatisfied with his boss and viewers. Allie (Emily Berrington) wants to go to the midnight showing of "Hills Have Eyes 2" and then give her boyfriend (Finn Jones) something special. A girl after my heart, but he is moody about it.

The boss (Malachi Kirby) and our twosome become the reluctant actors in a carefully orchestrated film, under the watchful eye and control of Stuart as he reads the main events off 3X5 cards.

This is a decent film. Certainly worth a rental for horror fans. Light on characters.

Parental Guide; F-bomb. No sex or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Alas poor Robert, I knew him well, 5 Dec. 2014
This review is from: The Last Showing (DVD)
Like most horror fans, people will know Robert Englund best for his portrayal as spikey-fingered immortal nut-job, Freddy Kruger. No doubt about it – he was great. Whether he was darkly evil in the first few films, or comically evil in the franchise’s dying days, he always turned in a good performance. Which is pretty much why I gave ‘The Last Showing’ a chance. I wish I hadn’t.

It’s about a couple – the girl from The Inbetweeners 2 and one of the guys from Game of Thrones – who watch a midnight screening of a horror film, only to find that the projectionist (Englund) is intent on making his own – murderous – movie. Sounds good. And, to be fair, the PLOT is. In fact, it could have been so much more. As it is, the two ‘good’ leads are pretty damn awful. Now, I’m guessing this isn’t the actors’ fault, as I’ve seen them both in the afore-mentioned shows and they’re both capable of turning in decent performances. They just don’t here.

I cringed when they were first introduced as they wandered around the empty cinema, spouting *supposedly* knowing social commentary on the state of horror/slasher films in general. Tip to film-makers: just because it worked well in the ‘Scream’ franchise, doesn’t mean it’ll work every time.

By the time Englund goes off the rails and starts torturing them, we’re almost on his side. After all, he is – by far – the best performer in the movie. And he’s the nut-job baddie. If you’re a massive fan of Englund, you’ll probably get more than most out of it. I did enjoy watching him, it’s just he wasn’t in it enough to really save it from being anything other than a – questionably-acted – B-movie.

A generous 3/5 stars (more like 2.5)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Showing [Blu-ray] [2014] (Blu-ray)
Brilliant Movie. Robert Englund best role in years. Loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars HIRE A LIP READER, 21 Oct. 2014
This review is from: The Last Showing (Blu-ray)
You have to suspend your intelligence with this film but it is not bad at all. But they only had to employ a lip reader and they could have got the killer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 25 Sept. 2014
This review is from: The Last Showing (DVD)
You would actually be extremely hard pushed to find a worse film! Low budget. Bad acting and even worse storyline!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The never should be showing more like!, 28 Aug. 2014
By 
Mr Wiltshire "jediwilt" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Last Showing [Blu-ray] [2014] (Blu-ray)
I saw this movie as part of Frightfest 2014, where I saw 26 movies and this was in the bottom 3. It was one of the most torturous stinking piles I have seen in a long time. Everything about it was bad, acting, script, filming! I love Robert Englund but when he does a terrible movie it is always a disaster. If I could give 0 stars I would. Spend money on this at your own peril! You have been warned that this is one of the worst movies of the year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robert is outstanding in this film it was great, i, 26 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very clever, Robert is outstanding in this film it was great, i recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Showing [Blu-ray] [2014] (Blu-ray)
Amazing Film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last Showing [Blu-ray] [2014]
The Last Showing [Blu-ray] [2014] by Phil Hawkins (Blu-ray - 2014)
£15.26
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews