Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartbreaking
I am not going to go into too much detail, as everyone knows the story. Martin Gilbert has written the definitive book on this subject and anyone who can read it without being moved to tears, you have hearts of stone!
I went through a mixture of emotions, feeling so angry one minute and then sobbing the next. It shouldn't have happened then and it should never be...
Published on 26 Jun. 2012 by K. Bywater

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good account of the atrocities but not so good on the background to the Holocaust
This is an excellent account of the atrocities committed in the Holocaust. It is less strong if you are interested in how and why the Nazi policy developed.
Published 8 months ago by jimjim


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartbreaking, 26 Jun. 2012
By 
K. Bywater "On The Razza" (Leeds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Holocaust (Paperback)
I am not going to go into too much detail, as everyone knows the story. Martin Gilbert has written the definitive book on this subject and anyone who can read it without being moved to tears, you have hearts of stone!
I went through a mixture of emotions, feeling so angry one minute and then sobbing the next. It shouldn't have happened then and it should never be allowed to happen again. Like the review on the front cover states "this book must be read and reread"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential., 8 Sept. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Holocaust (Paperback)
This book has affected me more than any other I have read. Graphic yet objective it chronicles the evil of Nazism and the Holocaust from the first initial pogroms to the unfathomable horror of the death marches. This book violated, exhausted and appalled me and yet I feelt obligated to finish.

As a book about humanity it is essential. Understanding that mankind has such capacity for cruellty, such barbarity on such a mass scale. Martin Gillbert has covered everything humanly possible in order that we know on how large a scale these murders happened, that the Nazis alone are not culpable for the entire evil, that the Holocaust was humanity's worst crime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best and most affecting book on this subject, bar none., 5 Jun. 2005
By 
C. Ball (Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Holocaust (Paperback)
This is one of the most horrific books I have ever read, because it's true. The passage of time generally removes much of the emotion from history, but not with the Holocaust and not with this book. I found myself in tears within ten pages and pretty much cried my way through its entirety. It left me shaken and disturbed, as it should.
If you want to really feel what the Holocaust was like, to see snapshots from lives, to experience the sheer inhumanity and horror of the Nazi death-camps, to see what human beings are really capable of, read this book. I guarantee it will haunt you for the rest of your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just in case?, 7 July 2010
This review is from: The Holocaust (Paperback)
Just in case anyone thinks that civilisation and the freedom we enjoy here in Britain is a safe and given right read this and give thanks that you are allowed to live without fear at present.

Because just below the thin veneer of our 'civilisation' lurk these possibilities. Don't believe me? Well, what do the people that blame immigration for our country's ill's mean?

This book is a terrible reminder of what can happen, very quickly, and all in the cause of a greater good (sic).

Martin Gilbert has done a great job here and it makes gruesome reading and it isn't a made up story, it happened and has happened in smaller but equally horrid events around the world since.

Read with care, it will stay you forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An incredible book which everyone must read as a reminder this dreadful period of history, 4 April 2013
By 
Dr. DA Gibson "dave29969" (Wetherby, N. Yorkshire.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Holocaust (Paperback)
Growing up in Northern Ireland, my high school history lessons concentrated very heavily on local history to the detriment of 20th century world events, and over the years I've been attempting to catch up on gaps in my learning of such major events. The World at War DVD box set offers an excellent overview of WW2, but this large book is a definitive and comprehensive text of the Holocaust. These events are still within living memory for many but I fear are sadly slipping from a younger generations' consciousness. Genocide on this scale is unimaginable but was allowed to happen and is still happening around the world and thus should not be forgotten.
I cannot add much to the other reviews placed here apart from to say that this is a required read, if a harrowing and difficult one, but stands as a fine memorial to a generation of Jews wiped from the planet.
I've moved on to Martin Gilbert's account of The Second World War which is equally definitive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Detailed account of the destruction of European Jewry, 21 Mar. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Holocaust (Paperback)
This book provides an extremely detailed and, as a result, shocking account of Nazi Germany's attempt to erradicate European Jewry. Gilbert focuses on the facts, describing one senseless attrocity after another, and allows the reader to make his/her own judgements about the people who committed such atrocities. By including authentic material, such as excerpts from diaries of victims, Gilbert gives us an insight into the lives of the victims as the terror increases and death becomes a part of daily life. Cold statistics like 6 million can be difficult to comprehend but Gilbert brings the truth home - the sheer, tragic waste of individual human lives. This book should be compulsive reading for anyone who feels the Holocaust is a mere 'detail' of history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only book you will ever need concerning the Holocaust!, 22 Nov. 2001
This review is from: The Holocaust (Paperback)
This book is the ultimate guide to the Holocaust. Everyone should read this book from cover to cover over and over again. Martin Gilbert transports you to the terrifying world of the European Jews, allowing you to experience the horror and heartbreak firsthand. I defy anyone to read this book and not cry at the unbelievable pain one person can inflict on another. This book should be part of every schools curriculum as well as an essential part of every household the world over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horrific and Compelling, 9 Dec. 2013
By 
C. Douglas - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Holocaust (Paperback)
This book provides chapter and verse on the many strains of the Holocaust. It is wrongly assumed by many, and I was one, that the main thrust of the Holocaust was the transportation of Jews to the Death camps of Treblinka, Auschwitsz and Sobibor. This book narrates the lesser known horrors of living in ghettos, the shootings and mass murders behind the lines of the Eastern Front, the throwing of children into pits freshly dug by their parents and a multitude of other evil acts.

A harrowing read, but I am glad I read this book. I would suggest it would be impossible to read this book and not have heartfelt sympathy for the numerous victims of Nazism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Schools, 16 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Holocaust (Paperback)
I feel that this book should be on the curriculum of every school in every part of the world. I thought i had a rough idea about the holocaust but I was so wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece on the history of the Holocaust, 4 Oct. 2010
This review is from: The Holocaust (Paperback)
Martin Gilbert describes the way to systematic killing of the Jewish minority in Germany and the occupied countries in a way that will makes the pages bleed. In the buildup he documents the first pogroms, the Kristalnacht and many other of the cruelest events that took place before the killing machine of Einszatsgruppen, gas chambers and other ways of systematic killing got underway.

Almost every page is filled with the horrors that millions of people had to endure during WW II. The accounts of survivors of the death camps and Einsatzgruppen aktions are almost too much to bear. The book is almost 1000 pages and more than of those 800 pages are proof of one of the biggest mass murders in human history. Horrifying to know that the book could be 3000 pages and still not every slaughter during WW II was told.

A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Holocaust
The Holocaust by Martin Gilbert
£7.81
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews