Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the jewish tragedy
i started reading this book at the beginning of march, and at the moment i am half way through this amazing and at the same time harrowing piece of literature.
i have to say in my 47th year it is the most remarkable and unforgettable book i have ever read, or i am likely too.
at times i have had to compose myself before i can read on and read again the lines...
Published on 30 Mar. 2012 by A. Stephens

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Zion will be plowed like a field
Totally based on lie's & billions of dollars of money.

Micah 3:9-12

9 Hear this, you leaders of Jacob,
you rulers of Israel,
who despise justice
and distort all that is right;
10 who build Zion with bloodshed,
and Jerusalem with wickedness.
11 Her leaders judge for a bribe,
her priests teach for a...
Published 3 days ago by Roger Pack


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the jewish tragedy, 30 Mar. 2012
By 
A. Stephens "hilts3188" (LIVERPOOL U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Holocaust (Paperback)
i started reading this book at the beginning of march, and at the moment i am half way through this amazing and at the same time harrowing piece of literature.
i have to say in my 47th year it is the most remarkable and unforgettable book i have ever read, or i am likely too.
at times i have had to compose myself before i can read on and read again the lines that my eyes have just seen , yet cannot believe.
martin gilbert has greatly honoured the people who have passed, and even though i am english, and at times have trouble reading the jewish names and polish places, i stop, slow down, and read their names out loud as if i am honouring them too and that they are not forgotten.
the joys of sabbath chronicled the liquidation of a race of people, and for that the world owes them unequivical gratitude.
i cannot forget what i have read and think of these instances in my daily day, we all must never forget. at times i read out pieces to my wife but she has now told me to stop as it is too upsetting for her. it is for me but i must finish this and tell people about the book.sad, depressing, harrowing,monumental, i could go on with words but words are not enough to describe the content of this amazing piece of work and honour to those who have passed. AMEN

felt i had to add this to my review in response to gerald urich who wrote

Even tragedy can be tedious if presented in this manner and on that level this book fails for me. As the reader, how many times do you want to read about the actual number of Jews rounded up (10's, 100's even 1000's), gassed or taken to the woods, shot, buried, one on top of the other, some still alive? These types of themes reoccur again and again

but isnt this the point as mr gilbert writes the book could be ten times the thickness.we have to read these atrocities to sink in too what actually happened, if it causes us some emotional pain is this nothing to what actually people went through.

this book has affected me so much i am going to krakow in september with my wife to pay my respects to the people who have been obliterated. i am currently reading again and have no doubt i will read throughout the rest of my life. my eyes have been opened and for that thank you mr gilbert
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Detailed account of the destruction of European Jewry, 21 Mar. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Holocaust (Paperback)
This book provides an extremely detailed and, as a result, shocking account of Nazi Germany's attempt to erradicate European Jewry. Gilbert focuses on the facts, describing one senseless attrocity after another, and allows the reader to make his/her own judgements about the people who committed such atrocities. By including authentic material, such as excerpts from diaries of victims, Gilbert gives us an insight into the lives of the victims as the terror increases and death becomes a part of daily life. Cold statistics like 6 million can be difficult to comprehend but Gilbert brings the truth home - the sheer, tragic waste of individual human lives. This book should be compulsive reading for anyone who feels the Holocaust is a mere 'detail' of history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the horrors behind the holocaust, 23 Feb. 2010
By 
Ms. R. Manning (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Holocaust (Paperback)
this book is quite horrific but its a must for anyone interested in the holocuast and what went on before and during the slaughter of the jews, and other groups the nazis deemed undesirable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A catalogue of tragedy, hatred and hope, 17 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Holocaust (Paperback)
Martin Gilbert has undertaken a harrowing task: systematically to record the attempted annihilation of Judaism in Europe during the Nazi regime. The seemingly endless lists of thousands killed are interjected with stories of great tragedy and occasional hope and warmth. It is ultimately, however, a catalogue of the evil than humans can inflict on other humans. It is book that must be read, as the Holocaust is a tragedy that must be remembered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential., 8 Sept. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Holocaust (Paperback)
This book has affected me more than any other I have read. Graphic yet objective it chronicles the evil of Nazism and the Holocaust from the first initial pogroms to the unfathomable horror of the death marches. This book violated, exhausted and appalled me and yet I feelt obligated to finish.

As a book about humanity it is essential. Understanding that mankind has such capacity for cruellty, such barbarity on such a mass scale. Martin Gillbert has covered everything humanly possible in order that we know on how large a scale these murders happened, that the Nazis alone are not culpable for the entire evil, that the Holocaust was humanity's worst crime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best and most affecting book on this subject, bar none., 5 Jun. 2005
By 
C. Ball (Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Holocaust (Paperback)
This is one of the most horrific books I have ever read, because it's true. The passage of time generally removes much of the emotion from history, but not with the Holocaust and not with this book. I found myself in tears within ten pages and pretty much cried my way through its entirety. It left me shaken and disturbed, as it should.
If you want to really feel what the Holocaust was like, to see snapshots from lives, to experience the sheer inhumanity and horror of the Nazi death-camps, to see what human beings are really capable of, read this book. I guarantee it will haunt you for the rest of your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only book you will ever need concerning the Holocaust!, 22 Nov. 2001
This review is from: The Holocaust (Paperback)
This book is the ultimate guide to the Holocaust. Everyone should read this book from cover to cover over and over again. Martin Gilbert transports you to the terrifying world of the European Jews, allowing you to experience the horror and heartbreak firsthand. I defy anyone to read this book and not cry at the unbelievable pain one person can inflict on another. This book should be part of every schools curriculum as well as an essential part of every household the world over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A massive compendium of evil, 27 Nov. 2011
This review is from: The Holocaust (Paperback)
In my opinion this is the yardstick book on the Holocaust. Gilbert handles a vast amount of detail in a devastating survey of the holocaust -not just the extermination camps but almost every isolated killing of Jews throughout the Reich and its conquered territories- that still manages to be readable. I suspect there is not a great deal of original research, but that isn't the point. He has drawn on the work of others to pull off the difficult trick of the broad sweep and the individual, telling brush stroke. Totally recommended guide to the darkest tragedy of the 20th century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive Account, 23 Mar. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Holocaust (Paperback)
Martin Gilbert is an acknowledged expert on the Second World War and this is the definitive work on the harrowing subject of the Holocaust. Meticulously researched and full of horrifying statistics, this atrocious period of history is given the human touch by the inclusion of individual stories of many brave Jews and equally courageous Gentiles who sheltered them at the risk of losing their own lives. Thus, the six million Jews who perished at the hands of the Nazis are personified, making the reading even more painful. I defy anyone to read the story of Mala and Edek, for example, without crying.
I found this book extremely disturbing but riveting at the same time; I simply could not put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading, 18 Dec. 2009
This review is from: The Holocaust (Paperback)
This book touched me in a way no other book has ever done. This is a period in history that should never be forgotten, and books like this help to ensure that will never happen.

My heart was breaking as I was reading this book, and the use of photographs in the book, along with the narrative really hammered home the true horror and brutality of the Nazi's treatment of the Jewish population.

It is a really big read, but well worth it. A truly heartbreaking but inspiring read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Holocaust
The Holocaust by Martin Gilbert
£7.81
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews