Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most complete book on the subject.....
This is an absolutely superb book, and along with the accompanying volume one they are without a doubt the most comprehensive records of the production of the original series to date. The level of detail is truly outstanding, and despite having collected many books on the subject over the years I was struck by just how much new information there was; hardly a page went by...
Published 9 months ago by IOWBOY

versus
5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor formatting on the kindle version
Been waiting for the kindle version, which has now appeared. Having just bought it, I am very disappointed to find that the formatting on the kindle version is very poor.

Pictures span across pages.
Chapters and sections run straight after each other, rather than starting on a new page.
Table of contents is so badly formatted that its hard to...
Published 10 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most complete book on the subject....., 6 July 2014
By 
IOWBOY - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an absolutely superb book, and along with the accompanying volume one they are without a doubt the most comprehensive records of the production of the original series to date. The level of detail is truly outstanding, and despite having collected many books on the subject over the years I was struck by just how much new information there was; hardly a page went by without some new gem.

Its a weighty book of just over seven hundred pages and it is paperback.

All the photos are black and white, but as with the text there are some really good shots, many available for the first time in this publication.

When volume three is released this set will surely represent the most complete archive on the original Star Trek series, and at over two thousand pages it will take some beating!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars like the first season book this is a must for ..., 25 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
like the first season book this is a must for the fans of the original program,i honest find the book hard to put down.i brought this book in view to read when i am away however i could not wait 2 weeks to start it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As good as the first volume, 9 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As good as the first volume. You really feel like you are there watching as the shows are developed and filmed. I thought I knew everything about Star Trek. I was wrong. Can't wait for Season 3!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 14 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Marc Cushman manages to make what could be dry data and facts into really interesting reading. Highly recommended for both the obsessed and merely curious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but doesn't deliver what it promises, 11 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: These are the Voyages - TOS: Season Two (These Are The Voyages series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
As with volume one, there is much to like here and even though I'm not a particularly strong Star Trek fan, I deeply enjoyed how this conveyed the roller coaster of television production and the stresses it brings. However, I bought this primarily because volume one ended with these words:

"One must wonder why a network would consider cancelling a Top 40 series (which was Top 10 with teens), that was almost always a solid second place entry in the ratings for its timeslot, and which often hit the No. 1 spot. The answers... follow in the second volume of These Are the Voyages."

No, they don't. There's a lot more about its ratings being better than has generally been known, there is a bit more about showrunner Gene Roddenberry's disagreements with the network but no, there are no answers. There is just this, right at the end:

"The fans, jubilant over the news that there would be a third season, didn't know it yet but decisions at NBC and Paramount, and subsequent reactive decisions by Gene Roddenberry, had pre-destined the third season of their favourite series to be the last."

I don't mind a book trying to get you to read its sequel but this one's a cheat. I think if you like Star Trek enough, these three volumes are a must-buy so didn't really need the trickery to sell to that audience and it just annoys readers like myself who are more interested in US TV production than we are in the Enterprise. It's annoying enough that I'm two volumes in yet don't expect I'll be buying the third.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 8 Mar. 2015
By 
P. NIELSEN "The Dane" (DK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Always great stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor formatting on the kindle version, 8 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: These are the Voyages - TOS: Season Two (These Are The Voyages series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Been waiting for the kindle version, which has now appeared. Having just bought it, I am very disappointed to find that the formatting on the kindle version is very poor.

Pictures span across pages.
Chapters and sections run straight after each other, rather than starting on a new page.
Table of contents is so badly formatted that its hard to read.
Random sentences in bold type, sometimes at different font sizes.

I have tried a variety of the kindle fonts and font sizes and it still looks bad in all of them. This needs to be formatted properly and supplied to people who have bought it as a free replacement.

While I am sure the text content of the book will be brilliant, I cannot recommend this kindle version until the publisher has corrected the issues that make it hard to read on the kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews