Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read!!!
Having read several cycling books over the last couple of years. I find Chris's autobiography a compelling read and full of great factual comments. It gives a great insight into a young wannabe cyclists world being brought up in Africa and coming up through the ranks and difficulties that professional cycling brings with it.

I would definitely recommend this...
Published 2 months ago by Sam's Dad

versus
10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but dominated by sniping at Wiggo
Froome gives a great insight into the world of professional bike racing. He is clearly a phenomenal athlete and his rise to TDF winner is incredible.

The unfortunate thing about this book is that Froome does not come across as particularly likeable. The sense throughout is that he feels he has been superior to Wiggins with the only reason why Wiggo won in 2011...
Published 3 months ago by cyclingfanatic


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read!!!, 10 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read several cycling books over the last couple of years. I find Chris's autobiography a compelling read and full of great factual comments. It gives a great insight into a young wannabe cyclists world being brought up in Africa and coming up through the ranks and difficulties that professional cycling brings with it.

I would definitely recommend this book to cyclists and would be cyclists. It enlightens you with the push that is required to be the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved your book Chris!, 30 Aug 2014
By 
Ian Franklin "Justme" (Chiang Mai, Thailand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I hear so much rubbish about Chris Froome. OK. I'm not a fan and he isn't quite my cup of tea. He doesn't have the glamour or mystery of a Contador, Nibali, Anquetil or a Merckx. But I tell you what. He is a man of huge depth and wide interests. His experiences growing up in Africa as a white boy amongst the black population is intriguing. Here is a man who sees his fellows as fellow humans, not as members of other races. Here is a man who appreciates nature. He knows about snakes, wild animals and all manner of things. He's not a one-track-minded individual. He's got more humanity, common sense, intelligence and goodness than most of the people who post rubbish about him on forums. These qualities shine through his book and turns him from simply a cyclist to a great character. Loved the book. It made me appreciate him so much more. And, before you say anything else, it puts to bed the lie that the trolls on the internet keep repeating about drug use. The man's clean as a whistle. I'm still not a fan. But I do appreciate him. And so should you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great well written book., 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A wonderful book describing Chris Froomes life growing up through various struggles, good times and bad times, hard hard training and luck and bad luck along the way to becoming a professional cyclist before winning cycling's ultimate prize. It provides insight into moments played out in front of the TV cameras and good to see his point of view. I really enjoyed it, so much so I didn't want it to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A nice back story detailing the humble beginnings of one of ..., 16 Aug 2014
By 
Jai Watson "Jai" (South East London) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A nice back story detailing the humble beginnings of one of Team Sky's most successful Tour de France riders and probably the most unassuming sportsman in the cut throat, unforgiving world of professional road cycling. The story begins in Kenya where Froome was born and raised, many years before becoming a British citizen and gradually moves toward recent times in his long and difficult path to becoming the second ever British cyclist to win the Tour de France (the first was Bradley Wiggins in 2012 of course).
There is alot of focus on the supporting role which Froome played in helping Wiggins to his win the previous year, which makes for interesting reading, although the day by day account of Froome's win in 2013 wasn't so detailed and what should have built to a climax of an outstanding career highlight paled by comparison to a mere factual account of the daily log of stages leading up to his victory. A good read, but let down a little by the ending which lacked the compelling insight into the emotional account of the earlier chapters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars What a climb, 31 Aug 2014
By 
Fireball 61 (Moray, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the story pf how an innocent young man gets caught up in the furore of the international cycling scene. It is a testament to Chris' upbringing has stood him in good stead but also shows that Sky's chummy approach hides a darker more mercenary side. Saying one thing and meaning another. I'll not look at Dave Brailsfords corporate charm again without a certain amount of cynisism. However Chris comes through as a naive but thoroughly genuine person. Maybe a team change would do him good?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jessica, 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic, really enjoyed it. Good read even for a non cyclist like myself. There's excited, tear and laughter. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gentle giant among professional cyclists, 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic insight to professional cycling. Enthralling book - couldn't put it down - what a gentleman ! Bravo Chris
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic book, great read, comes across as a very driven guy can see why him and Wiggo don't get on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 1 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thoroughly enjoyed this autobiography. It was written well and full of interesting cycling info.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read. Interesting beginning about his childhood and progress ..., 24 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good read. Interesting beginning about his childhood and progress to pro cycling. I thought the book tailed off a little towards the end and there wasn't enough depth from when he podiumed at the Vuelta to winning the tour. The writing all got a little disjointed almost like Chris himself finished it off rather than David Walsh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews