Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shattered ~ loved it
This series just gets better and Shattered, if anything, raises the bar. The research and seamless intermingling of gods from everywhere is incredible and works amazingly well in the context of the storyline. And the writing is glorious with all the humour and detail delivered in spades.

Atticus’ old archdruid, who was frozen in time by the Morrigan on...
Published 6 months ago by Cathy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing wrong with the writing but like several recent episodes ultimately the storyline hardly seems to ...
Nothing wrong with the writing but like several recent episodes ultimately the storyline hardly seems to 'go' anywhere leaving me feeling (rightly or wrongly) unsatisfied.
Published 5 months ago by S. J. Sharp


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shattered ~ loved it, 25 Jun 2014
By 
Cathy "Audiobook junkie!" (Ilminster, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This series just gets better and Shattered, if anything, raises the bar. The research and seamless intermingling of gods from everywhere is incredible and works amazingly well in the context of the storyline. And the writing is glorious with all the humour and detail delivered in spades.

Atticus’ old archdruid, who was frozen in time by the Morrigan on Tír na nÓg, for the last 2,000 years, has been resurrected, so to speak. Owen, as he is now known, is a fun character with his grumpy ways and Old Irish cussing. Atticus’ attempts to acclimatize Owen, and bring him up to date with the world he now finds himself in, are hilarious and I love the interaction between the two of them. Owen very quickly becomes an integral part of the story.

Although I’m not generally a huge fan of multiple points of view, in this instance the threefold narration works because Owen, Atticus and Granuaile are in different places a lot of the time. It adds immensely to the development of each character too while they are independent of each other. Atticus has matured and his principles, compassion and wisdom have grown accordingly.

Granuaile travels to India after a message from Laksha, and from there to the Himalayas to meet the hockey loving Yeti (amazing!) She faces difficult problems without Atticus for the first time, with terrible consequences. The scenes with Granuaile and her father, and then her mother too, are so well written the emotion is just palpable.

I love the addition of Orlaith, I’m glad it’s time for Oberon to have a companion. And, of course, Oberon and the interaction between him and Atticus, is as funny and entertaining as ever.

Atticus discovers who his unknown enemy is and it’s a shock, to say the least, for all concerned. There’s a huge all out battle with several fatalities. But also a lot of introspection from the gods, druids and the Tuatha Dé Dannan, about mistakes made, opportunities missed and decisions taken. The conclusion and the epilogue sets the scene nicely for the next book.

Luke Daniels’ narration is an absolute pleasure to listen to, with all the amazing characterisations…and there are lots of them. It must be a feat in itself to keep them all in order. Nevertheless they are all carried out with assurance and skill, incorporating the humour of the writing. Extremely entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Needs More Oberon!, 26 Jun 2014
By 
The Vegan (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
I've loved the Iron Druid Chronicles from the moment I read the first one. Shattered lives up to the rest of the series, though I wouldn't say it was the best one (hence four stars instead of five). I won't go into a detailed plot summary as that's already been done in reviews and product description.

It's told from the points of view of Atticus, Granuaile, and Owen - Atticus's old teacher and arch-druid. Each chapter heading is decorated with a dog, horse or bear head depending whose point of view that chapter is told from. This is a big help, since the abrupt changes can be a little jarring, especially as each is written in a slightly different way. For example, as always Atticus writes in the past tense. Granuaile writes in the present tense, and it's a little odd to suddenly go from one to the other.

Having the story told by three different characters in three different places allows a lot more to happen. Atticus's part of the story is helping to further the general plot arc of the series, while Granuaile's is almost completely separate and focuses more on her personal character growth. She faces challenges and threats not only without Atticus, but which are nothing to do with him and his shenanigans. This emphasises the fact that she is now a druid in her own right, independent and no longer standing in Atticus's shadow. Owen's sections are told in his own style, with his own personality seeping through.

I loved the parts of the book focusing on Owen's adjustment to the modern world. His language and way of looking at things made him come alive as a character, and gave him his own vibrancy. But he seemed to adjust all too soon - he appeared to learn modern English and fit in reasonably well with the world after only a few weeks. I know druids are fast learners and have great memories, but it was a little too quick. His otherness was what I most liked about his character. But then, I suppose if Atticus had to babysit him for the whole book it would have slowed everything down.

The introduction of Orlaith the dog, who is in the process of learning English, is a welcome addition. I'm looking forward to seeing more of her and Oberon in future books - they were less prominent in this book as often they were in a different place to whichever character was the main focus. So those of you who live for Oberon and his humour, you may be a little disappointed that there's less of it; but those who aren't so keen on seeing him on every page rest assured that he doesn't take over this book!

If you've read the other books in the series, it's pretty much a given you're going to read this one: how could you resist?! If you haven't read the others then you'd be a bit lost and will have missed out on a lot, though the summary of previous books at the beginning of this one will help if you've forgotten some of what happened before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read it -if you've got this far, you have to!, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think this was a favourite one so far. While I really enjoyed Atticus' voice, using Granuaile and Eoghan really help keep the books fresh and alive and since Granuaile in particular has her own adventures in this one, it was nice to read about them from her point of view. It is always clear who's POV we're seeing as well - a testament to the author's skill.

Eoghan brings another quality to the books as well - an older, more cynical and definitely a more basic view of things. I hope we hear more from him in future books. And he is capable of tenderness :) Loved that scene!! (Read the book and you'll know the one I mean :))

Heart stopping moments are becoming more frequent and there were times when I wanted to punch the author, but it's a great story and I can't wait for the next one to be released!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an absolute belter, 17 Jun 2014
By 
M. Notman "northernfag" (sheffield uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was slightly unsure about some of the middle books in this series, but the last one and this are just brilliant, the introduction of Atticus's old mentor is an inspired decision, hes a welcome touch of humour in an increasingly action packed- and darkening- series. Well paced, great characters- old and new, and overall i loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great series to escape from the modern world with, 1 Sep 2014
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I’m a huge fan of this series and every book to date has been a hit with me. I love the way that the author brings the world to life, has superb plotlines but for me, the key selling point is the characters that people his writing. They’re not only a blast to hang out with but they also feel individually crafted, with each having their own emotions, feelings and beliefs that not only help gel the plotline but gives everyone an unique voice.

Back this up with some magical prose and of course a pace that doesn’t let you go for one minute and all round I was a more than happy reader. Great Stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable..., 30 Sep 2014
By 
Nick Brett (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Blimey, have we got to book seven already. This is a series that, despite some ups and downs, has generally been very entertaining. This one has a helpful catch up at the start to help you remember how we got to this point – very useful. This story is told from three Fist person viewpoints, Atticus himself, lady druid Granuaile and resurrected archdruid, Owen. This is complicated at first before you tune in to their various voices and storylines. The weakness is probably Granuaile and her bit, it kind of goes nowhere special but the sections with Atticus and Owen do take the story forward and we finally understand who it is that has been plotting against the iron Druids.

I enjoyed this, hope we see more of Owen in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good., 27 Jun 2014
By 
Diana Fleming - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really really good (and I don't say that very often).

Well written, never loses your attention, a positive pleasure to read. One of the few series where the writing has remained consistently good throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing wrong with the writing but like several recent episodes ultimately the storyline hardly seems to ..., 2 July 2014
By 
S. J. Sharp (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nothing wrong with the writing but like several recent episodes ultimately the storyline hardly seems to 'go' anywhere leaving me feeling (rightly or wrongly) unsatisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good but not as good as hunted or trapped., 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a good book. If it weren't for the calibre of competition that his other books provide it would have been five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I would like to recommend the following authors, 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The genre of urban fantasy seems to have taken the world by storm.. If I may offer up my humble opinion, I would like to recommend the following authors, some of which you might already know.

From the US: Kevin Hearne, Jim Butcher

From the UK: Ben Aaronovich, Jim Rosenburg,
Matthew Swift, Benedict Jacka

You won't be disappointed.

And if you know something I don't please do not hesitate to enlighten me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews