Customer Reviews


222 Reviews
5 star:
 (184)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What music DVDs should be like
If you ask me, this is the first time I have felt that it might be worth buying an album DVD equivalent. The Definitely Maybe DVD includes, of course, all the songs, including videos and live performances of each song. The chances are you already own the album itself, so it's the visuals and the live performances you'll be interested in. And both are definitely worth...
Published on 8 Oct 2007 by Robbie Swale

versus
28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 2014 Vinyl Remaster - I buy vinyl for better sound quality, not worse
This is a five star album.

However, the sound quality on this new 2014 double album re-master is not a patch on the original CD version.

The definition has been compressed almost out of existence.

It's a great pity that increasingly vinyl re-masters and a number of new releases for that matter, are being produced from highly compressed,...
Published 5 months ago by Fred Says


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What music DVDs should be like, 8 Oct 2007
By 
Robbie Swale - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
If you ask me, this is the first time I have felt that it might be worth buying an album DVD equivalent. The Definitely Maybe DVD includes, of course, all the songs, including videos and live performances of each song. The chances are you already own the album itself, so it's the visuals and the live performances you'll be interested in. And both are definitely worth while, although possibly not particularly in the long term - depends what sort of fan you are.

And if you are the sort of fan I am, then that may not be why you got this DVD at all - the key to Oasis (as many fans will know) is the combination between the music and the men. And in the interviews on this DVD, the men are in fine form. They are full of anecdotes, as you would be in recalling one of the most pivotal events in your life (and in modern music history). The brilliant stories of the recording studio on an island, which meant the lads had to leave the pub early to avoid being cut off, and tales of drug-stealing, tractor driving shenanigans with the Stone Roses are joyous, and hilarious, and will catch you up in the magic of the beginnings of Brit Pop. So will the stories from the technicians - dealing with Liam Gallagher for the first time, or pushing the volume up to the max so that Definitely Maybe was the loudest album on the juke box for the year after its release.

And for anyone that doesn't own the album, then remember that this is the classic oasis - raw, swaggering and brilliant. From the ripped off intros to Shakermaker and Cigarrettes and Alcohol to the wonderful solos and sweeping melodies of Live Forever and Slide Away, to the minimalist brilliance of Married With Children and Sad Song, this is a superb, superb album.

Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 2014 Vinyl Remaster - I buy vinyl for better sound quality, not worse, 20 May 2014
By 
Fred Says (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Definitely Maybe [VINYL] (Vinyl)
This is a five star album.

However, the sound quality on this new 2014 double album re-master is not a patch on the original CD version.

The definition has been compressed almost out of existence.

It's a great pity that increasingly vinyl re-masters and a number of new releases for that matter, are being produced from highly compressed, bass heavy files.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Noise and confusion... oh and some lasagne, 5 Sep 2006
This review is from: Definitely Maybe (Audio CD)
Once every so often, a debut album comes along that is so self-assured, so complete in its own self-belief that it takes you along with it. It doesn't even need to be the most accomplished or the most profound.

"Definitely Maybe" sounds like it's very good and it knows it.

From the opening noise of "Rock And Roll Star", it's not shy. Here we discovered the best rock and roll vocalist for a generation and his brother who had an instinctive songwriting ability.

Never mind the short-fall of the others. The drumming is rudimentary, the bass is buried and the rhytmn guitar is workmanlike. But that doesn't seem to matter. They all fall into line behind the force of the songs.

"Live Forever" is brash and emotive and beautiful and definite. "Supersonic" is all arrogant swagger and attitude and sounds perfect. "Bring It On Down" is corrosive punk which works despite some of the worst drumming on a great album ever to have happened. "Slide Away" is stunning and moving. Yeah alright "Digsy's Dinner" is just ok and "Married With Children" might not cut the mustard but they're not bad enough to detract from the quality of this album.

A statement of intent that still sounds essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock 'N' Roll DVD..., 19 Sep 2004
10 years has certainly gone quick hasn't it eh? And how better to celebrate it than with a DVD release of the best album of that particular year.
When you pop Disc 1 into your DVD player the album starts playing straightaway.
You now have the interactive options at your fingertips.
All you have to decide is whether to push "UP", "DOWN", "LEFT" or "RIGHT" on your DVD remote.
You will then be treated to either documentary, live or video for that particular track.
Or if you want press "MENU" and you can choose what to view individually.
Also for certain videos you can select "ANGLE", and be treated to another version (promo).
If I may suggest something, I would put the disc in and press "UP" and watch the "documentary" all the way through. (much easier, and flows better.
"Disc Two" involves a number of featurettes, but can be viewed continuously if need be.
I loved this DVD as you can listen to the album as a kind of Bootleg album as well if you so wished.
Anyway here is the tracklisting if you're interested.
1. Rock 'N' Roll Star (from 'Top Of The Pops', September 1994)
2. Shakermaker from ('Naked City', June 1994)
3. Live Forever (from Glastonbury, June 1994)
4. Up In The Sky (from Chicago Metro, October 1994)
5. Columbia (from Hammersmith Palais, December 1994)
6. Supersonic (from 'The Word', March 1994)
7. Bring It On Down (from Gleneagles, February 1994)
8. Cigarettes And Alcohol (from Southampton Guildhall, November 1994)
9. Digsy's Dinner (from Buckley Tivoli, August 1994)
10. Slide Away (from New York Wetlands, July 1994)
11. Married With Children (from Los Angeles Whiskey A Go Go, September 1994)
12. Sad Song (from 'Later With Jools Holland', December 1994)
The featurettes on the second disc could have been longer but this is not the story of oasis after all, just their debut album. The main interviewee here is Noel, in fact Liam is not on here that much but he only grunts when asked questions anyway. His singing is what he does best anyway.
The group re-visit the shoot where Definitely Maybe was photographed, the booklet is nice work as is the sleeve.
A must for all Oasis fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great album but avoid the rip off 2014 box set, 29 May 2014
By 
Great album but the £79 box set is a rip off. You get the 3cd version which can be bought separately, poor sounding double vinyl complete with poor quality packaging, a so called exclusive 7" single which has 2 tracks already on the 3cd version, a rebranded cheap and nasty bag for life and loads of other tat literally thrown into the box. The 2014 remaster of the album is awful but i would recommend the 3cd deluxe set for the extra tracks (the japan version has 2 bonus tracks that arent even in the super deluxe boxset!)
Just avoid the super deluxe set at all costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Genius, 17 Jun 2008
This review is from: Definitely Maybe (Audio CD)
The best album to come out of Britain since 'Sgt Pepper', this is an awe inspiring album. A real rocker of an album, it contains so many classics that it will blow your mind. With a great songwriter in Noel Gallagher, and a great singer in Liam Gallagher, you can't go wrong. Right through the album, you'll be amazed as to how Noel Gallgher puts his emotions into song, aided by his younger brother's unmistakeable sneering voice.

From the fantastic opener 'Rock n' Roll Star', you know these guys mean business. Following on from the opener and the fun 'Shakermaker', the album goes into one of the bands great highlights - 'Live Forever'. When Liam Gallagher's vocals kick in after the introduction, it'll make you sit up straight. The lyrics are absolutely beautiful, the guitar playing is immense, the vocals are superb... everything about it is just so right! Genius - and only three songs in. 'Up in the Sky' is a great dig at Thatcher's Britain moulded around a happy sounding tune. Try doing that on your debut album, Arctic Monkeys! 'Columbia' is just awesome. Originally an instrumental, 'trippy' lyrics were put in the song. It's a real guitar driven rocker based around three simple chords. It's so good it'll make you want to pick up a guitar even though you don't know how to play one, and play along! 'Supersonic' - the band's first ever single - is an example of how to make a simple tune sound great and 'Bring It On Down' is probably the most aggressive sounding tune on the album, a real adrenaline filled 4 minutes of action. 'Cigarettes and Alcohol' cheekily borrows a riff from T-Rex, and builds a great song out of it while you will also want to be shouting "You've gotta make it happen!" like Liam Gallagher. 'Digsy's Dinner' is a short and sweet jokey tune in the same vein as 'She's Electric' on the follow up to this album. It's also got a nice little piano bit in the middle. However, perhaps the highlight of the album is 'Slide Away'. Rather than rocking his way through a song, Liam Gallagher softens his voice and sounds more emotional on this song than on the previous ones. The chorus is beautiful and the conclusion of the song is fantastic. As Liam repeats the lyrics 'slide away' over and over again, Noel sings in the backround "Don't know, don't care/ All I know is that you can take me there", while guitars rock in the backround and the song fades out. Exquisite! The album ends with 'Married with Children', the only acoustic track on the album. It's a lovely little song, and one that calms you down after the big rockers from previously! A great way to conclude the album.

All in all, it's no wonder why they are one of the greatest bands of all time. It's an album that reflects all listeners emotions, but takes a positive spin on all things that seem down, and this is why Oasis are so popular - they are a band whose songs are ones in which everyone can relate to. It's just magic. Go and buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remastered version better than the original?, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In my opinion, yes. The bass lines are more pronounced and clearer than the original, or perhaps it's because I'm listening on better equipment? Well, the album stands the test of time and drew me back to 20 years ago when I first purchased the album in HMV. Love the album, and the hidden gems with Oasis were always the B-sides, and it's good to see some of these coming through on the extra CDs, as well as some live performances. For any Oasis fan, it's a must-buy, for non-Oasis fans, give this a go to see what everyone was on about before the brothers got in the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Debute Album Ever, 25 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Definitely Maybe (Audio CD)
I personally prefer Oasis second album Morning Glory but this album started it all. There could have not been a better way to launch this fantastic band. The success of Morning glory is largly due to this Album although the production on Morning glory was better because they had to follow the sucess of their debute album. it shows Noels writing skills and Liams special voice but we all forget that Oasis is not made up of just 2 members. I dont think they will ever have albums better than the first two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why have the Japanese been offered this much quality ?, 10 Aug 2000
This review is from: Definitely Maybe+2 (Audio CD)
Rarely do we come across albums of perfect splendour. We all know Definitely Maybe is one of the all time finest so what do we think when we get the opportunity to obtain a track which is not available on any B-side ? We jump on it. For me Sad Song is a glimpse into one of Noel Gallagher's finest musical moments. It's got everything in it that we know and want from him, including the familiar descending bass line that turns a classic song into an Oasis classic song. Why Sad Song has been hidden from us I'll never know...it's a 'Live By The Sea' exclusive. The other extra track 'Cloudburst' stands alongside The Stone Roses 'Standing Here' as a top notch B-side track...spot the difference between the two ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best debut album of the 90's!!, 25 Mar 2002
This review is from: Definitely Maybe (Audio CD)
what can i say, only that this album is stunning from start to finish. by far the best oasis album with ballads like 'slide away' & 'live forever', and of course the greatest oasis song ever 'Columbia' with its fantasic vocal arrangments, big pounding bass line and great feel good lyrics. This album shows that oasis had the potential to be bigger and better than the beatles, and still do if they return to there roots of feel good songs with catchy choruses and great guitar. pure genius!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews