Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 60 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars to totally condemn someone like that is not a clear perception
Despite some reviews, I bought it. I was interested in her as she's served so long, and been a woman in a powerful position. I felt any review on here could have been politically motivated - mine is not. I simply am a working class woman all my life, now trying to reinvent myself. I didn't expect her, given it being so recent to divulge state secrets, I expected it to be...
Published 5 months ago by RAarka

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but does not offer anything particularly new and valuable to be recommended
With 'Hard Choices' written by Hillary Clinton contrary to some other reviewers wrote I'm sure Hillary made a certain sign that she decided to go for President in the next election.

'Hard Choices' is a memoir that will equally divide the nation on the advocates and opponents, and although I'm often telling in my reviews the book should be judged, not those who...
Published 6 months ago by Denis Vukosav


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but does not offer anything particularly new and valuable to be recommended, 11 Jun 2014
By 
Denis Vukosav - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
With 'Hard Choices' written by Hillary Clinton contrary to some other reviewers wrote I'm sure Hillary made a certain sign that she decided to go for President in the next election.

'Hard Choices' is a memoir that will equally divide the nation on the advocates and opponents, and although I'm often telling in my reviews the book should be judged, not those who write them, in this case I have to say that this book was a more or less big disappointment.

On the positive side it cannot be denied that this work is written in good style, while Hillary in same time does not want to be too provocative, yet strives to intrigue the reader, but the reader after closing last of its 600 pages will wonder what added value this book offers, and what new we can learn from it that is already not known.

Therefore I think one does not need to bother whether you are democratic pro or Republican contra, but to be honest and say that this book simply does nothing to justify the overwhelming publicity that has been created around it. It's fully fair to say that 'Hard Choices' doesn't live up to the expectations that were created its release, but as I said in the beginning I'm certain that the future months will prove Clinton with its book unofficially announced her candidacy as a biographical book is always a great „litmus paper“ for such things.

Inside reader will find her story about the most important events which marked her four-year time spent on position of Secretary of State, divided in six parts marked by some common denominator, such as part where she discuss time she spent in Asian countries, war in the Middle East or part about the revolutions that marked few last years in Africa and Asia.

Although it is certain that the majority of people will have their opinion about the book when they see its cover, but still if you decide to read it I guess you'll feel just as I do now – the book is not bad, but does not offer anything particularly new and valuable due to which it would be worth to especially recommend its reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 60 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars to totally condemn someone like that is not a clear perception, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Despite some reviews, I bought it. I was interested in her as she's served so long, and been a woman in a powerful position. I felt any review on here could have been politically motivated - mine is not. I simply am a working class woman all my life, now trying to reinvent myself. I didn't expect her, given it being so recent to divulge state secrets, I expected it to be somewhat careful, but I still have been impressed. Even if much had already been publicized, it puts it in a chronology and cohesive manner. You simply have to appreciate all she has done, whether you agree with all the politics of her or not. You also have to appreciate how much she traveled, and given of her life to be in such a HARSH limelight and stop 100% demonizing her and everyone else in politics; to totally condemn someone like that is not a clear perception. I think she writes of decision making and the responsibility faced, and one can learn from that - especially women. I have learned how delicate it is and how pragmatic you must be to juggle things - they are not always clear cut and it usually takes concessions on all sides to make something work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN EXCELLENT READ WITH FASCINATING DETAIL, 10 Aug 2014
By 
Rupert S. Fairfax (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Choices (Hardcover)
This book is an excellent read with truly fascinating detail, some of which is slightly nail biting, particularly the part of the book concerned with the assassination of Bin Ladin, which as Secretary of State, Hilary Clinton, along with President Obama had sanctioned.

Hilary Clinton's time as Secretary of State was a turbulent time in the world and this powerful woman steered herself easily through it all, which stands her in good stead to run in the forth coming 2016 Presidential elections in America and hopefully, win and be elected President.

The book is clear, concise and well written, it runs at a gripping pace and in parts, you could be reading a film script for a political thriller.

Overall, it is an excellent American and worldwide PR job and shows Hilary Clinton in the best possible light as the most capable person to be the 45th President of the United States.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It does not matter is you like or hate Hillary Clinton she is one smart, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Choices (Hardcover)
This book is a very interesting read. It does not matter is you like or hate Hillary Clinton she is one smart, strong woman. She trully believe the United States of America is the best country in the world. Her comments on other countries and leaders are not mean but you can see they are made because of her beliefs in the American Way being the only way. She is not a lady I would want to make an enemy of. When she refers to her family you can she is very much a proud of her daughter. Also you see no matter what your views of Bill Clinton are that they are a team and they do love and have an total understanding of each other. I personally enjoyed the book. If she ever became the President of the US I think she would be very strong one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars but not an easy one. i read this to get some insight ..., 14 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a worthwhile read, but not an easy one. i read this to get some insight into what views a potential presidential candidate of 2016 will have on world events. i should have known better. Hilary Clinton carefully avoids leaving any hostages to fortune although you do get a general idea of her views. She is particularly strong on women's issues and the opening up of the developing world to digital technology as a means of empowering ordinary people. I am also impressed by the breadth of work that the US state Department does. For example, the work they do in creating a genuine level playing field in international trade and their intervention in global warming.

I liked the way that she opened each new section of the book with a personal anecdote, that eased you into the issues that were to be dealt with. In short, a worthwhile read which gives a general idea of how the democratic Party views America's role in the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IMPRESSIVE ACCOUNT THAT WILL SERVE CLINTON WELL!, 10 Jun 2014
This review is from: Hard Choices (Hardcover)
Let me begin by what everyone is looking for. Clinton is undecided whether she will run for president in 2016. She has not come to the point of taking the decision, and she has not decided yet.

Hard Choices by Hillary Rodham Clinton is a memoir that you can't avoid. It is almost everywhere. It is well-written and readable but not as explosive as expected. History will not judge her on the basis of this engaging memoir but on the basis of the works and deals executed and concluded during her tenure as America's 67th Secretary of State.

Though the book fails to give away too much, perhaps, with the coming 2016 election in mind, it has interesting information about the secret diplomacy that led to the November 2013 interim nuclear agreement with Iran. Though the agreement with Iran was reached long after she left office, Clinton did much of the spade work with the assistance of the Sultan of Oman, who offered to help in arranging direct and secret talks. America received the first feeler in January 2011. Jake Sullivan, her aide, was dispatched to Oman in July 2012, followed by another visit to Oman, paving the way for her deputy, Bill Burns, for the beginning of real talks.

Hard Choices may not live up to the hype surrounding its release, yet it provides a glimpse into and a fascinating account of Hillary Rodham Clinton's four years as secretary of state. Take a look at the contents of the memoir and decide whether the book is worth your money:

PART 1: A FRESH START
Chapter 1/2008: A Team of Rivals
Chapter 2/Foggy Bottom: Smart Power

PART 2: ACROSS THE PACIFIC
Chapter 3/Asia: The Pivot
Chapter 4/China: Uncharted Waters
Chapter 5/Beijing: The Dissident
Chapter 6/Burma: The Lady and the Generals

PART 3: WAR AND PEACE
Chapter 7/Af-Pak Surge
Chapter 8/Afghanistan: To End a War
Chapter 9/Pakistan: National Honor

PART 4: BETWEEN HOPE AND HISTORY
Chapter 10/Europe: Ties That Bind
Chapter 11/Russia: Reset and Regression
Chapter 12/Latin America: Democrats and Demagogues
Chapter 13/Africa: Guns or Growth?

PART 5: UPHEAVAL
Chapter 14: The Middle East: The Rocky Path of Peace
Chapter 15/The Arab Spring: Revolution
Chapter 16/Libya: All Necessary Measures
Chapter 17/Benghazi: Under Attack
Chapter 18/Iran: Sanctions and Secrets
Chapter 19/Syria: A Wicked Problem
Chapter 20/Gaza: Anatomy of a cease-fire

PART 6: THE FUTURE WE WANT
Chapter 21/Climate Change: We're All in This Together
Chapter 22/Jobs and Energy: A Level Playing Field
Chapter 23/Haiti: Disaster and Development
Chapter 24/21st Century Statecraft: Digital Diplomacy in a Networked World
Chapter 25/Human Rights: Unfinished Business

EPILOGUE

With a wide range of experiences from being a Sentor to First Lady to Secretary of State, her resume is quite impressive, and this memoir is her contribution to the historical record of which she has been one of the main players. Though it is still too early to judge her achievements, Hard Choices still makes for an impressive read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 9 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Disappointing. It is a superficial read and really does not get to the heart of the issues and avoids the controversies that lie behind what have been international headline issues. To be expected of a future Presidential candidate I suppose, she is careful not to upset people. It is well written and flows well but it lacks a punch. The unfettered gloves off "not running for office" sequel would be better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars I found Hard Choices hard going., 5 Nov 2014
I wanted some more depth and detail, which for a potential presidential contender was probably too much to ask.

You only get to hear what Hillary wants you to hear which is a lengthy world tour of recent hot spots with some detail on how diplomacy works, but I just felt it was too superficial.

I'd look forward to a time when she can be more frank and not pitching for the top job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It was initially fairly interesting, but it got a ..., 27 Dec 2014
By 
MT (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Choices (Hardcover)
It was initially fairly interesting, but it got a bit too much for me. I am not surprised at all if Hillary Clinton is using this book to as a foundation for the presidential campaign in 2015.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great service and product, 18 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great service and product!
I'm quite satisfied - the product got to me on time and it met my expectations. I will shop with the seller again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews