Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truely Breathtaking!, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Train Your Dragon 2 (Music from the Motion Picture) (MP3 Download)
This is one of the best scores of all time, truely breathtaking. John powell has managed to incorporate several aspects of nordic style folk into his music which gives it a viking feel whilst still also maintaining the beautiful melodies and riffs from the score for the first. He has done wonders adapting that score for this film and has inserted a few new segments to the score which fit in so well with the scenes they play behind. This is my favourite score of all time, beating pirates of the caribean, the amazing spiderman 1 & 2 (which was a hard call). You have got to see the movie and own this soundtrack!!!!

Favourite tracks:
-Toothless found
-Battle of the Bewilderbeast
-Stoicks Ship
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect sequel score!, 19 Oct. 2014
By 
N. May (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the finest film scores written in the past decade. A simply incredible follow up to the wonderful score for the first movie, this sequel score carries on with the same themes but adds plenty of new themes which Mr Powell perfectly weaves into a complex thematic tapestry. Fans of the first score will absolutely love the opening cue 'Dragon Racing' which features many of the great tunes from the first film, presented in a truly bombastic, swashbuckling way, producing 4 and a half minutes of the most satisfying action music. This score is perhaps a little more 'grown up' compared to the first, offering many emotional and dramatic moments but still with generous doses of fun, action packed music.

The orchestra sounds incredible, with 100's of performers producing a massive sound. This is what film music is all about, and this score firmly cements Powell as my favourite film composer. Anyone who's even remotely into film music should buy this score (and the first score too!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensational!, 16 Jun. 2014
By 
Mr. R. J. Juden "R. Juden" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Train Your Dragon 2 (Music from the Motion Picture) (MP3 Download)
John Powell has really delivered big time - incorporating the themes from the first score with a number of solid new additions, each given a full orchestral workout like nothing else we hear today. I fully respect this man for what he has achieved here, and if you're a lover of theme-driven, dazzling orchestral mastery then look no further than this album. With composers like Hans Zimmer dominating the world of film music with his rather bland wallpaper sound samples, this is so refreshing and thrilling.
You can really hear every section of the orchestra being put through their paces, even the calmer, reflective moments are beautifully presented allowing solo instruments to shine through (when was the last time we heard a bassoon?) Beautiful.
The new themes aren't as instantly infectious as the originals, and stem from Powell's previous works like Hancock and Rio, but after a couple of listens they really take on a commanding presence and weave spectacularly throughout the score.
It's a real thrill ride, and whilst we may have quite a wait for the third installment, I have no doubt Mr Powell will be back to show everyone else how it's done. I'd easily rank this as one of the best animated scores ever written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mesmerizing greatness, 19 July 2014
Even better than the first one and that one had already been one of the best scores ever written. I wish there were more powerfully melody-driven cores like that out there... this one's is purely mesmerizing. The CD hasn't left my player for two weeks now! Please get this composer for the Harry Potter spin-off!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Train Your Dragon 2 (Music from the Motion Picture) (MP3 Download)
A great soundtrack , for a great film. Fit's the movie like a glove...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure genius., 17 Jun. 2014
This review is from: How to Train Your Dragon 2 (Music from the Motion Picture) (MP3 Download)
After the score to the first How To Train Your Dragon film, which is probably one of the greatest works of film music of all time, I ask myself how John Powell could possibly come close with this sequel? As such, I tried to lower my expectations; calm my excitement in anticipation of this album. I needn't have!
The opening track 'Dragon Racing' is a masterpiece packed with energy and the much loved themes from the original score, along with soaring, lilting and waltzing variations.
The new themes merge perfectly with, and match the ingenuity of the existing ones, and become familiar after just a couple of listens. If I had pick favourite tracks: Dragon Racing, Drago's Coming and Flying With Mother.
I highly recommend listening to it through a decent sound system to really hear the incredible detail and wealth of instruments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars recommended by a teen, 26 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this s a xmas pressie that my 13 yr old niece requested,I realise it must be something very special as a) she's veryparticular and b) perhaps more importantly she's a teenager and so a soundtrack to grab a teens attention must be worth having.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Contains real tracks, not just bits and pieces., 27 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good sound track with thought put into it, not just a collection of musical snippets like some others. As a result, Powell's skills as a composer have been allowed to show through and the disc stands up to repeated listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great soundtrack, loved the first one and love this ..., 1 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great soundtrack, loved the first one and love this one too. Thank you for a very quick delivery, gives me more time to enjoy this amazing music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Immersive and exhilirating, 22 July 2014
As a film, How to Train your Dragon 2 is a soaring, thrilling and often deeply involving story (for my review of the film, click here), and so it takes a seasoned pro such as John Powell to produce a score that only enhances all those feelings during the film’s narrative. Though it may be a children’s film, Powell’s score is as grand and wonderfully composed as any big Hollywood blockbuster score. Powell got his first Oscar nomination for his score for the first film, and has stated that he intended to for his music to have developed just like that of the film’s characters, and it truly has.

Yes it may have the expected combination of uplifting, bold and brash pieces and slower, more intimate pieces, but Powell’s score predominantly rises above just being another generic blockbuster score to be a score that when listened to in isolation evokes all the film’s various stirring emotions once again. Of course I do not want to include spoilers so will refrain from stating exactly what each track represents within the narrative.

The opening track ‘Dragon Racing’ is a suitably epic composition with rousing strings and uplifting choral arrangements that evoke perfectly the feeling of flying through the air. This is a feeling replicated in the epic tracks ‘Flying with Mother’, ‘Battle of the Bewilderbeast’, ‘Hiccup Confronts Drago’ and ‘Two New Alphas’ which are truly rousing and deserve to be played very loud. Meanwhile tacks such as ‘Hiccup the Chief/ Drago’s Coming’ and ‘Toothless Found’ begin with infectious and intimate strings and build to an epic crescendo.

Using Celtic instruments such as the bagpipes, Celtic harp, uilleann pipes, tin whistle and the bodhrán could have ended up gimmicky if overused, but Powell doesn’t and their sparing but effective use only enhance the magical feeling of the score. Tracks such as ‘Should I know you?’, ‘Volka’s Dragon Sanctuary’, ‘Losing Mom/ Meet the Good Alpha’ combine strings and choruses to be truly immersive. While the slower pieces like ‘Stoick Saves Hiccup’ and ‘Stoick’s Ship’ really tug at the heartstrings. Any track that has the name ‘Drago’ in its title has suitably darker strings at time to represent the presence of the film’s main antagonist.
James Newton Howard tried very similar methods to Powell with his score to Maleficent, and though it had some good moments it was often too intrusive, yet Powell manages the balance perfectly and I am sure will earn himself another Oscar nomination next year.

The score also features several songs; ‘For the Dancing and the Dreaming’ features Gerard Butler singing and is slightly forgettable and could have perhaps done with not being included in the score, especially in the middle. The track over the closing credits ‘Where No One Goes’ sung by Jónsi of Sigur Rós is a truly foot stomping anthem and a suitable closing track. However the final track, an acoustic song by Alexander Rybak called ‘Into a Fantasy’ is slightly forgettable.

Some scores of a similar vein end up merging into one and are decent, but forgettable background music, yet each track in Powell’s score stands out by itself making for a score of consistent high quality. It sets a standard that so many blockbuster scores should strive for and only serves as a compliment to a wonderful film, but also an immersive stand alone listen. The only downside is the inclusion of a couple of the film’s songs that serve more as an unwelcome distraction than anything else, but I doubt that is Powell’s fault.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews