Customer Reviews


389 Reviews
5 star:
 (228)
4 star:
 (49)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (23)
1 star:
 (58)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, a competent USB charging cable
It really is difficult to find USB cables that really will charge at 2A (the minimum rate at which most modern phones/tablets expect). While cheaper cables will work, the charging cycle is often considerably longer than when using the original cable: this is often due to two reasons:

1. the cable is of inferior size/quality; the AWG rating really does make a...
Published 16 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fast at charging. Even faster at breaking apart
This product seems like a life saver for all those power guzzling devices. And if you're lucky, it will be. The problem is the micro USB connector is a pain to stay put because the fins that hold it in place are ridiculously tiny specially for such a bulky design. This means that even though it will charge faster than usual you will be very lucky if it will manage to get...
Published 16 months ago by Rubben Delgado


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, a competent USB charging cable, 11 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It really is difficult to find USB cables that really will charge at 2A (the minimum rate at which most modern phones/tablets expect). While cheaper cables will work, the charging cycle is often considerably longer than when using the original cable: this is often due to two reasons:

1. the cable is of inferior size/quality; the AWG rating really does make a difference. Go for 24AWG or less (lower is better with AWG)

2. cables are often universal in duty: they often have all pins connected and usable as both to charge and in data connection; whilst useful in some circumstances the device can surreptitiously connect as a data link and this can cause a reduced charging current.

This product avoids the above issues. I can vouch that, for the 150cm version at least, the charging current capability is as good as the OEM cable. I am very keen to understand if the 250cm performs as well: I am yet to find good performance from a cable greater than 150cm.

To check the capability of your charger/cable combination, I recommend a Google Play app called "Galaxy Charging Current: Lite", if you have a Samsung device (except Tab 2). Take regard of the Max/Ave current and ignore the "Now" value. For other devices I recommend "Battery Charge Source Current".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin!!, 11 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I received this yesterday, and used it today connected to a 2 amp cigarette lighter adapter on my Galaxy S3. I've a 25 mile commute that usually takes about 45 minutes and run the Waze navigation & traffic monitoring application on my phone, this requires a GPS signal and usually has the screen on constantly. Using a regular data transfer USB cable which I'd hacked to emulate a mains charger (shorting the two data wires), my phone would show as AC charging at 1 amp, but the battery level would decrease to about 80% over the trip. On this morning's drive, which took an hour and 5 minutes, the charging icon disappeared after about 30 minutes, and I suspected a problem with the cable and expected the battery to start to drain. Checking the battery status, it showed as 100%, and remained at this level for the remainder of the trip, so certainly seems to be able to provide sufficient power for screen & GPS, with a bit left over to charge the battery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PortaPow strikes again!, 3 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this simply to go with PortaPow 4 USB mains charger.
Absolutely brilliant, fast charges, class cable.
Yes there are cheaper cables, tried different ones, not as robust feeling as this one.
More than happy with this cable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars its a charge lead, 11 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i ordered my son a new lead for his google nexus which always seemed to be plugged in on charge. this lead got a wow from him when he saw the charge status after a much shorter period of time than all other cables he has had.. so in this case it does what it claims in our experience . CHARGE away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seems to Work, 1 Jan. 2014
By 
E. Smith (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After getting sick of how long my new Nexus 7 was taking to charge, like 5 or 6 hours, I felt there had to be something better. I decided to give this a go and am impressed so far. I haven't timed it, but the 7 is definitely charging much faster now.

I also use it on my Nexus 5, with the same impressive results. In fact I'm so impressed that I've ordered another 3 for distributing around the home and work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 3 Dec. 2013
By 
B. Patel (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The cable is great and I purchased it specifically for using with my Anker Dual-Port USB Car Charger which is a fast charger.
Does the job so no complaints and the wire is long enough to reach from the charger to the windscreen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast Charge Micro USB Cable, 8 April 2015
The standard sync / charge cable is great when connected to a wall adapter or when you need to transfer data to a PC. Sometimes however you just want to use a computer’s spare USB port to charge your phone.

The problem with this is that the sync functionality gets activated whether you want it or not. You may not for instance want a public PC to have access to your phone’s data. Even worse, sync mode also reduces the current supplied to your device to a cripplingly slow ~0.5A.

Portapow provides a choice of two solutions to this problem, both of which block the data connection and allow the maximum charge from the USB port to reach your device. If you never need sync then this data block cable is all you’ll need, made in a choice of 5 lengths from the same high quality material as their standard fast charge cable but with sync disabled.

Using their Power Monitor to test a standard sync. cable from the computer’s USB port provided only 460mA of charge, while using Portapow’s data block cable disabled the data connection and bumped this up to 780mA – about a 70% increase.

If you’re looking for a quality replacement charging cable for your device, you won’t go far wrong with Portapow’s cables – especially if you’ve been having charging woes with other cables. In addition their data block solutions add security and will give you a faster charge from PC USB ports than normal cables.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth paying out for, 9 Feb. 2015
By 
marcoscu "marcoscu" (Chorley,UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I never realised that there was a difference between USB cables. I thought it was just a marketing pitch when the phone and other product user guides made the point that I should the supplied charger and cable. Apart from variations in design and build quality I thought they were all essentially the same. How wrong I was.

I notices that my LG Nexus 5 UK Smartphone - Black (16GB) was gradually losing battery power when in the car even though it was plugged into a high power charger. Investigating further I then read that there were different classifications of USB cable with different charging rates.

In the past I would never have dreamed of paying this sort of a price for a USB cable, 99p is usually my mark, but I paid out for this one and am very glad I did. Now my phone charges in the car even with all radios on and the screen on 100%.

As to the cable itself, it is thicker and better built than the run of the mill type, as you might expect, and has a usefull identifying label on the end so you don't confuse it with standard data cables. A nice touch.

It's worth paying more for a good product and I have now ordered two more.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fast at charging. Even faster at breaking apart, 24 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This product seems like a life saver for all those power guzzling devices. And if you're lucky, it will be. The problem is the micro USB connector is a pain to stay put because the fins that hold it in place are ridiculously tiny specially for such a bulky design. This means that even though it will charge faster than usual you will be very lucky if it will manage to get a full battery before it randomly disconnects midway through.

Used it on my Nexus 7 and a friend's HTC One

UPDATE: The micro USB plug literally came apart after a single month. Buy at your own risk, I do not recommend at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says., 12 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I does what it says it will do and allow charging at 2A. However, users must realize that the lead is just one link in the charging chain. You need a suitably powered charger, a device with a battery that can be charged at the higher rate, and a device with a micro USB port that is also suitable. Get any one of these wrong and you'll just charge at the minimum rate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews