Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Motown Bible
The definitive source for all things Motown. A first class comprehensive volume, compiled by someone who loves the label. A 'one stop shop' for anyone with more than a passing interest in the iconic Motown label. The detail is impressive and the book is well researched- not only focusing on the major acts such as the Supremes and Temps but also providing info on obscure...
Published 8 months ago by mutton noir

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware of the Kindle edition
I feel bad only giving this book only one star. What I've read of it is fascinating, so if you're a Motown fan the hard copy will be indespensable. However, the Kindle edition is useless. There is no contents with links to chapters which, presumably, would have been each letter of the alphabet. If you want to find, for instance, James Jamerson, you will have to reach...
Published 2 months ago by G Hastie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Motown Bible, 10 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motown Encyclopedia (Paperback)
The definitive source for all things Motown. A first class comprehensive volume, compiled by someone who loves the label. A 'one stop shop' for anyone with more than a passing interest in the iconic Motown label. The detail is impressive and the book is well researched- not only focusing on the major acts such as the Supremes and Temps but also providing info on obscure acts and personalities many of whom had but a fleeting association with the various Motown labels. The perfect companion to Terry Wilson's excellent book that catalogues all of the singles released on the Tamla Motown label in the UK and Joel Whitburn's Billboard Hot 100 volumes for the 60's and 70's. A superb book at a great price- I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All things Motown, but in an alphabetical format., 23 Aug. 2014
By 
R. Gianatos (Van Nuys, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Motown Encyclopedia (Kindle Edition)
This is a different approach for reading to me. I read lots of biographies and autobiographies, but this is different. Instead of reading from cover to cover, the approach here is to look up a topic or artist you might be interested in. I agree with Sharon Davis who says this book is great. And it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware of the Kindle edition, 2 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motown Encyclopedia (Kindle Edition)
I feel bad only giving this book only one star. What I've read of it is fascinating, so if you're a Motown fan the hard copy will be indespensable. However, the Kindle edition is useless. There is no contents with links to chapters which, presumably, would have been each letter of the alphabet. If you want to find, for instance, James Jamerson, you will have to reach J page by page - who, unless literally Motown mad, would want to do that. I've just wasted a fiver. I am sick and tired of Amazon's ignorant, pathetic, couldn't care less attitude to the words and music they sell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THINK YOU KNOW YOUR MOTOWN., 13 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motown Encyclopedia (Kindle Edition)
If you think you know all there is to known about Motown .. think again after thumbing through this MOTOWN ENCYCLOPEDIA 585 pages by Graham Betts there are things there that I didn't know, things I had forgotten about, and things that now make sense. Got to say its a must for anyone into there soul music and if you know someone like that. Think on it would make a great gift for them. Well done Graham it will be a reference book for many a year to come. Mark West www.salfordcityradio.org.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read for all Soul fans., 9 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motown Encyclopedia (Kindle Edition)
If you like soul music then this is a really good read. I've found loads of stuff about some lesser known artists at Motown. Always nice to read something different related to Motown/Soul/Northern.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-buy for any Motown fan!!!!, 4 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Motown Encyclopedia (Kindle Edition)
I've read a fair few books on Motown in my time but this is without doubt the most comprehensive, detailed and intelligible Motown book I've ever read, absolutely fascinating!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Motown Must!, 4 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Motown Encyclopedia (Kindle Edition)
A must for any Motown fan. A concise and fantastically put together book. Nice to discover lots of new facts too. Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars motown encyclopedia, 10 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motown Encyclopedia (Paperback)
bought as a Christmas present for my husband, he loves it, great reference book with never before facts in, great price quick delivery very pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Happy with this, 25 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motown Encyclopedia (Kindle Edition)
Very good download, full of great info. Happy with purchase. And found it to be full of interesting facts about various acts and artists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EVERYTHING YOU NEED TO KNOW!!, 4 Jun. 2014
By 
anna (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Motown Encyclopedia (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant book with detailed and fascinating facts about arguably one of the most influential U.S musical periods. Love the cover design too! Looks great on my coffee table!! Definitely recommend to the casual Motown listener and super fans alike!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Motown Encyclopedia
Motown Encyclopedia by Graham Betts
£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews