Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another knock out winner
Another winner from Mark Dawson. Characters are well developed with plenty of human touches. The story is typically fast paced and completely absorbing and you may find you've read it inside two days! There appears to be a real following for Mark Dawson's work. I suggest you read the books in order, because the story follows on seamlessly, one book from the other.
Published 6 months ago by I. Alexander

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Little bit of a letdown after "In Cold Blood".
I thought this installment of the story was less enticing and worth progressing with than the first one. In Cold Blood really snared me into the story of Beatrix Rose, her struggles and fight for revenge against the shadowy figures who destroyed her life and murdered her husband. I like the setting, the pace and the characters. Here, I was hoping for Dawson to build...
Published 24 days ago by command_doh


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Little bit of a letdown after "In Cold Blood"., 5 Dec 2014
This review is from: Blood Moon Rising (Beatrix Rose Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I thought this installment of the story was less enticing and worth progressing with than the first one. In Cold Blood really snared me into the story of Beatrix Rose, her struggles and fight for revenge against the shadowy figures who destroyed her life and murdered her husband. I like the setting, the pace and the characters. Here, I was hoping for Dawson to build upon the story, show us more and maybe take the reader down a different path.

Instead, it just feel like the story literally carries on from In Cold Blood, as in 'last page/first page'. Nothing new is brought to the table, and when you take away a lot of the re-introduction of the same key players, back story references, drinking and drug taking that Beatrix does to cope, I am starting to get the impression all three novels could have been edited down into one book.

That doesn't mean the story isn't worth reading or listening to (which was the case for me), but it would make me think twice about shelling out for 3 seperate stories at potentially more cost than one novel.

I didn't really find the idea of Beatrix wearing a Niqab whilst driving around Iraq towards the oil fields credible either. And the idea that someone as 'stunning' as her wouldn't get noticed as a foreigner. Similarly, the idea of her killing 8 or so armed fighters in the time it took them to get off return fire is quite unbelievable. Still, there is a lot to like about the book, it is well written and the pace is good, but I was expecting a little more as the trilogy progressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another knock out winner, 18 Jun 2014
By 
This review is from: Blood Moon Rising (Beatrix Rose Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Another winner from Mark Dawson. Characters are well developed with plenty of human touches. The story is typically fast paced and completely absorbing and you may find you've read it inside two days! There appears to be a real following for Mark Dawson's work. I suggest you read the books in order, because the story follows on seamlessly, one book from the other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revenge - fast paced and leaves you wanting more, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Moon Rising (Beatrix Rose Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Part 2 of the trilogy, if you've not read the first one then just buy all 3 together now. This will save you time, I promise you if you start to read the first book you will read them all. The action comes at you non stop and it feels like you're right in the heart of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait for the next one!, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Moon Rising (Beatrix Rose Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Another great book from Mark Dawson. This is the second of this series and it just leaves you wanting more. I can highly recommend it especially for some light summer time reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smashing, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Moon Rising (Beatrix Rose Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I love this book, it actually had me in tears with Beatrix Rose. What a corageous lady. Thank you Mark for
writing such good books, Cannot wait for the next one X
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!!!!, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Moon Rising (Beatrix Rose Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Great story from start to finish. Dawson has created a Character in Beatrix Rose leaving you wanting more and more. This trilogy is an absolute must for readers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beatrix Rose Part 2, 13 Dec 2014
By 
P. Butler - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Moon Rising (Beatrix Rose Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
The continuation of Beatrix Rose's quest for revenge begun in "In Cold Blood" following her rescue by John Milton. More mayhem assisted in the background by Pope and the resources of the Group. Great pace and action. Looking forward to Part 3 as Beatrice goes after the last names on her list before she succumbs to the cancer that is eating away at her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Moon Rising (Beatrix Rose Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Another fantastic page turner from Mark Dawson, you will not want to put it down. Have read all the John Milton and Beatrix Rose books and cannot wait for the next instalments from both series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Watch out - Beatrix is about!, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Moon Rising (Beatrix Rose Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I've been hooked to Mark Dawson's John Milton and subsequently Beatrix Rose characters since idly deciding to read 1000 Yards as a free download. I've always been someone who rooted for the underdog and I've found Mark's style to be excellent at highlighting their faults and (broken) relationships whilst moving the story along at a speed that just seems to work for me.
This book about Beatrix hunting down #4 of 6 on her hit list proves to be more of a strain on her in her 'condition' such that I'm starting to wonder weather she's got enough left in the tank to take on England and Control - especially given her (intentional?) Faux Pas at Basra Airport.
Then I remember its a novel...
It's like a cross between Bravo Two Zero and a Rocky film! Rough boots and bullets. No Martini's here - shaken or otherwise!
I for one cannot wait for the final book of the trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The saga continues, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Moon Rising (Beatrix Rose Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
As a fan of the John Milton series, I enjoyed the first in the Beatrix Rose trilogy, but this second book was even better. Fast-paced, a number of twists along the way, and well developed characters that you grow to know and love (or hate, in the case of 'Control'). A real page-turner that you can't put down (your loved one should not expect a meaningful conversation that evening), and it can't wait to read the final instalment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews