Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rewards Patience!
I played the previous game and this is an improvement without being a revolution. I have focused on the single player game so far and these are my initial thoughts. Sniper Elite 3 does remove some of the frustrations from the previous games and increase the immersion. Some of the improvements are as follows.

Stealth is improved and less frustrating, you can...
Published 3 months ago by S Finnerty

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Game is OK, but Steam sucks.
I've only played the single player campaign.

Game is OK if a little repetitive. I like the fact that it isn't just running in guns blazing. It pays to think out the situations, recce the environments, mark the enemy, etc. Not always realistic though- often enemies could see through bushes which looked solid, but missed you if you were in plain sight but in...
Published 1 month ago by PZ


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rewards Patience!, 28 Jun 2014
By 
S Finnerty "Steve" (Hedge End, Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sniper Elite III (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I played the previous game and this is an improvement without being a revolution. I have focused on the single player game so far and these are my initial thoughts. Sniper Elite 3 does remove some of the frustrations from the previous games and increase the immersion. Some of the improvements are as follows.

Stealth is improved and less frustrating, you can hide in bushes, hide bodies so that you can complete most missions without raising alarms if that is your approach. The maps are larger and more open with more options to snipe from and there are more difficulty options. The paths are still fairly defined and although you are a ruthless killing machine you can't swim but there is still plenty of room for strategy and at least you are never wandering aimlessly wondering what to do. The guns are more customisable and regenerating health has been replaced by bandages and medipacks.

The game is still great fun but rewards planning and patience rather than a more gung ho approach. The Bullet Kill Cam that tracks the sniper bullets to its victim is still a great touch although can get a little repetitive and the attention to detail is excellent with multiple hit points and effects that draw you in. The graphics are improved with large maps and lots of hills, bushes and gullies to hide and the feel is more open and exposed than on the previous game with more opponents as well.

The downsides are that the AI behaves strangely sometimes with enemies spotting you from impossible distances while missing you next to them on other occasions. They do search and occasionally flank you but often give up the search after 30 seconds despite stepping over their fallen comrade. The campaign story and characters are not great and the voice acting is terrible sounding completely out of place like an American B Movie voice-over but do the job of setting up the scenario. Oh and you are an American starting at the fall of Tobruk despite as far as I am aware being manned by British and Australians? There are unnecessary errors such as a knocked out Tiger Tank which did not appear until much later. I know this is a game but if you are going to make it historical at least make an effort!

And yet despite these reservations it is fun! The scale of the maps, the sniping mechanics, good graphics and atmosphere draw you in. It should be a 3 star game but I am giving it an extra star because it has that "one more go" effect despite its flaws. It does what it says on the tin and if sniping is your thing you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sniper Elite 3 PC Review!, 6 July 2014
By 
MrE (E Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sniper Elite III (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
We all remember how it was in Sniper Elite V2, you're there crouched behind a wall holding your breath looking down a sniper scope and deciding the fate of your chosen opponent, which was the nazi standing 200 yards down the road or looking out of a window. Often there would be more than one and part of the fun was deciding which to take down first and whether you could use background noise to silence your shot. Before firing you would also make a judgement of where you are going to shoot them i.e. in the head, chest or even testicles. You'd pull the trigger, BANG and we were treated to a slow motion x-ray kill cam in real time and could marvel at the destruction we had brought.

Sniper Elite 3 is very much the same as V2 in that regard with the whole x-ray kills being retained and integrated further into the game and trust me when I say you'll never get bored of watching it. Now to tell you what Sniper Elite 3 is and what it's about. This is a third-person based (so you view the character from an over the shoulder perspective) and is a tactically based shooter, stealth is absolutely key in this game so I wouldn't advise you run around guns blazing as you won't last very long, besides the close quarters mechanic just like the last game has been specifically designed to be a bit inaccurate so you only use it as a last resort. The game is based in North Africa during the 2nd world war and you play the part of Karl Fairburne (again) who is a German/American special Sniper. The aim is to take on the Germans yet again and bring as much destruction as possible.

There are three modes, you get the single player campaign, Full Co-Op mode and the online multiplayer. The campaign is a total blast, it's fun and more enjoyable than I was expecting and the maps are certainly more open compared to what they were in V2, Length wise I'm over 5 hours in and it still feels like there's a long way to go, there are 4 difficulty settings and the difference between the easiest and the hardest are like the difference between chalk and cheese. On easy everything feels very arcade like with very little brain power required to progress, on the hardest difficulty (Realistic) you have to factor in wind, bullet drop and you lose the ability to mark enemy positions and indeed your own position on the map. Many of the weapons remain the same as the last game although there are a few new additions to give you a few more options of how to take enemies out. The famous "Welrod" pistol is fantastic for extremely short range but inaccurate as hell if you're more than 10ft away, so it's best to sneak up to an enemy and pop them off from behind or perform an silent execution. You can pick bodies up and move them into darkened rooms or just out of sight to help keep you hidden especially if there is a passing patrol.

Now the AI have the same intelligence as V2, there is a period where they may spot something but are not alerted to your presence and other occasions where I have been spotted while hidden behind a wall. This is an area that needs addressing as on a few occasions it has spoilt gameplay and forced me into restarting the mission. Of course if they detect movement and start to move in your direction you can throw a rock to distract them and hopefully send them a different way. As I said earlier, you can play this game in full co-op mode with a friend and I must say it totally transforms the game into an even more enjoyable shooter. You can position yourselves in different locations and use this as an advantage to pick off enemies at the same time, while maintaining field of vision of each other so you can help protect them if they get spotted. There are also Overwatch and survival modes which can be played with a friend, very much like V2. Multiplayer simply consists of massive maps taken from the campaign and slightly modified. It's tense and edge of the seat stuff!

Pros: This takes all the good things from Sniper Elite V2 and builds upon them * X-Ray kill cam is back * Stealthy from start to finish * You require tactical thought * Full Campaign Co-op * lots of different objectives during each mission and the maps are huge * Lots of things to collect * you pick up a lot of stuff including ammo off enemies * Graphics are pretty good for the 360 version and the audio sounds great * Great value at £25 and the replayability is huge as you can play on your own or with a friend and indeed go about each objective differently * You get to kill Nazis * "No Cross" mode (team deathmatch but the map is split into two with each time on a different side, close quarters combat is therefore stopped and leaves sniping as the only option)

Cons: Aside from a few new things it's largely the same as Sniper Elite V2 but based in Africa * The AI do lack intelligence at certain moments * The story isn't as enjoyable as V2 (personal opinion) * Can be a bit buggy as I have been spotted and shot through a solid wall * Game does crash and freeze a lot * Multiplayer feels like a bare bone experience and I hope more people play it compared to Sniper Elite V2

VERDICT: If you liked Sniper Elite V2 then you will love this game, it builds on all the good things but brings a few new things in to keep it interesting, the bonus being that they haven't mucked with things too much (if it isn't broke then don't fix it). If you like Stealthy gameplay, sniping from start to finish and enjoy the thrill of the hunt then this is a game to get. Playing it in co-op with a friend simply takes the experience to the next level.

A worthy successor to Sniper Elite V2 and old school fans will love it from start to finish. Ignore people that say it looks poor in the graphics department as they're trying to stir up hate, trust me when i say it's on a par with V2 and looks pretty good. Sure there are a few problems like the ones I list above but when you factor in the price I doubt anyone can, nor will complain. I Hope you enjoy it as much as I am!

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Would recommend to buy, but don't bust your bank doing so..., 29 Jun 2014
This review is from: Sniper Elite III (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
While I've only played this for a couple hours now I feel I can confidently share my views so far...

First of all I'd like to say that the graphics have been greatly improved over the previous title, which is kind of expected anyway, but it's still nice to see that the dev's haven't considered this to be a secondary objective. Tessellation, Post-Processing and Shaders have all been improved in some way and now the game actually feels more immersive. Obviously graphics is more important to some that others and so the experience will vary, but I can say that for me it is a real improvement.

Stealth, while still playing a role in the previous game, is now a much more prominent feature. From the start you are taught how to be stealthy, and there can be some VERY rewarding bonuses for being stealthy at the end of a mission. Enemy AI seems to have been improved and optimised to allow for more stealthy approaches to each mission, while still maintaining enough 'smarts' to be able to handle full on combat. All in all the developers have obviously spent time on making the enemy as realistic as possible.

The storyline is...interesting. But common. I'm not saying that you can compare this game's storyline to, say, Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell or COD, but there's really nothing overly unique in my opinion. BUT at the same time I suppose it could be said there is only so much of a storyline you can have for a sniping game. It's not as if snipers are being called to arms on Jupiter or anything like that. =P

Overall I like the game. It's a good successor to the previous instalment while keeping the same elements that made V2 good. I would recommend anyone who liked the last one to buy this one. =)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Sniper's Dream Game!, 13 July 2014
By 
Paul Tinsley "Tinz" (Guernsey, British Channel Islands) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sniper Elite III (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
The graphics are absolutely outstanding, and maxed out, the game looks almost like real life. There are plenty of settings to tune the graphics to match the capabilities of your system, and even the medium settings look fantastic.

If you enjoy sniping, sneaking around and using your surroundings to your advantage, then you are going to be hooked on this game! The Bullet Cam is very gruesome, a bit like a tour of Grey's Anatomy with the aid of bullets! You can also slip into Rambo Mode if you like and charge around taking out the enemy with sub-machine guns, but the risks are obviously much higher and the points awarded are lower. There are enough settings to tune the game to your skill level or preferred level of difficulty, which is great because you can have an arcade game, or a realistic game, or anywhere in-between. I had a lot of fun sneaking around for the perfect vantage point, laying traps and waiting patiently for the best window of opportunity to take a shot. The game feels very rewarding when you put in the effort to move undetected.

I found the game to be every bit as great as Sniper Elite 2, but much better. The environments are more open with more ways to complete the missions. There are more objectives to complete and you can be very creative in taking out some targets. You can even sneak around and take out almost all targets using your knife, slipping silently between cover and eventually finding a vantage point to take out the primary objective.

The AI can be a little dumb at times, but it depends on the difficulty level. If you max out the difficulty, be prepared to think carefully about your decisions, as they will rain down fire on you and close in on your position, leaving you few options.

I have all of the Sniper games and this one is by far a worthy sequel to the series. I hope they keep turning out high quality games like this ... it's the best entertainment investment that I have made in ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For people that liked the other Sniper Elite offerings, her comes one with improved graphics and larger maps!, 10 Sep 2014
This review is from: Sniper Elite III (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Do you like to shoot things with aid of your mouse?
Do you like a limited set of WWII period rifles and other small arms weapons?
Do you like to see somewhat unrealistic damage physics to a well intentioned but frankly anatomically incomplete human internal skeletal and organ design, multiple times in slow motion?

If you say yes to all of these questions, then I would strongly recommend buying this game.

If you say no to any of the above questions, then you maybe marginally disappointed as I was, however.....
I would still recommend you still buy this game. Why you may ask?! - Because it's really good fun!

As with the other titles in the Sniper Elite series the main niggle is that it is short. Also I would add that I didn't find the desert terrain to be as fun as the theatres provided in the prequels, roaming around just feels a bit samey. But, the maps are bigger and some do offer you more choice over your angle of attack.

My recommendation, buy it and play it with a friend. Co-op is a genuine hoot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, continues the enjoyment of SE1 & 2, 15 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sniper Elite III (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Great game, seems as though its still a little 'buggy' but overall a great shooter with a difference. Am a fan of the previous two titles so slightly biased but nevertheless its a great game for shooting/ sniping fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and very enjoyable, 23 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sniper Elite III (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Quick delivery and well package.
Excellent game and very enjoyable, every bit as enjoyable as Sniper Elite 2.
Some people have said that they have had problems when they tag the General at a point in the game but i had no problems, i did allow steam to update all the patches to this game before i played it and i think this may be the solution to some of the problems some people have been having with this game, overall a very enjoyable game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blood n guts, 14 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sniper Elite III (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Great game . Big open areas that you can complete missions in. Got a few niggles but not game breakers . Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent I have the 1st and 2nd instalments but 3 ..., 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sniper Elite III (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Excellent I have the 1st and 2nd instalments but 3 surpasses both of them a must have game to play
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Game is OK, but Steam sucks., 6 Sep 2014
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sniper Elite III (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I've only played the single player campaign.

Game is OK if a little repetitive. I like the fact that it isn't just running in guns blazing. It pays to think out the situations, recce the environments, mark the enemy, etc. Not always realistic though- often enemies could see through bushes which looked solid, but missed you if you were in plain sight but in shadow. There were a few glitches where I got stuck in the scenery.

Camera view is awful, and needs to be fixed. Often while you are turning round, the camera will instantly turn 180 degrees, so that you are facing the opposite direction to that you intended. At best this is disorientating, but it's a major problem when you are being shot at and need to move out fast: you turn and run...straight towards the shooter!

This was my first Steam game, and never again if I can avoid it.

As per instructions:

I installed Steam (10 mins).
I downloaded the Steam update and installed it (10 mins).
I created my Steam account (5 mins).
I installed the game from the 2 CDs (38 mins).
Updated the game via Steam (105 mins!!). This is obviously not just updating...this is installing!

I was ready to play after 2hrs 48mins. Well actually I went to bed and played the next day.

Right now I play for a few hours every week or two. But I can't just play, -because first I have to verify the game and then download and apply any game updates each time. This takes on average about 15 mins, but has taken up to 38 mins at peak times. OK my broadband isn't the fastest (about 3mbps), but this is stupid. Once the game installation has been verified (takes a few seconds max) I should obviously get the option to play the game immediately and apply any downloaded patches afterwards.

So now when I feel like playing I have to consider if I can wait half an hour for the game to update itself before I get to shoot anything.

Often, I just can't be bothered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sniper Elite III (PC DVD)
Sniper Elite III (PC DVD) by Sold Out (Windows 7 / 8 / Vista)
£19.17
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews