Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Regenerate – Wendy Cartmell
“Did you know it’s been three months since you died and three months since our daughter was born?” Kerry asked Alan, although in truth he wasn’t in the room. These are the words that introduce us to Kerry, her baby Molly and dead husband Alan. He’d been killed in an IED attack in Afghanistan.

All seems quite normal doesn’t...
Published 2 months ago by Best Selling Crime Thrillers

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting but sad
Based on Army family life, It is a story of bereavement and loss and the extreme psychological effects that can result. An interesting but sad story
Published 3 months ago by William


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Regenerate – Wendy Cartmell, 15 July 2014
This review is from: Regenerate: A Sgt Major Crane Novel (Kindle Edition)
“Did you know it’s been three months since you died and three months since our daughter was born?” Kerry asked Alan, although in truth he wasn’t in the room. These are the words that introduce us to Kerry, her baby Molly and dead husband Alan. He’d been killed in an IED attack in Afghanistan.

All seems quite normal doesn’t it? So how does Sgt Major Tom Crane from SIB Aldershot and DI Derek Anderson of the Aldershot police get involved? Because Capt. Francis Symmonds and his new wife, Kim discover the body of a baby girl left by the entrance door of the Royal Garrison Church. Nobody can realise with this discovery, just how all their lives will change over the next few weeks, especially when another baby girl, goes missing.

In this latest book, Sgt Major Tom Crane and his team are almost in the background while we the reader are taken through the harrowing story of two women who lose their babies. Two women coming to terms with having recently given birth and all that that entails. Kerry’s loss of her husband Alan. Julie trying to cope with a colicky baby while her husband Bob Wainwright, adds to her stress because he’s busy trying to recover smuggled heroin being sent by a fellow soldier still in Afghanistan and then, her baby girl, Tyler, is kidnapped.

The title of the book comes from an action Kerry takes to replace Molly, her daughter. I’d spoil the story if I told you more.

Once again Wendy Cartmell has managed to find a subject that would be perfect for discussion. How would you react if you lost a baby to cot death? What would you do if your daughter was kidnapped? Would you snitch on your husband if you discovered he was selling heroin? These are just some of the questions that the book has made me contemplate and give serious thought to. And another question: Are there really ghosts?

If you too want to find yourself thinking about a book long after you’ve come to the last page, then I can thoroughly recommend this book. - Treebeard

Rating: 4 Stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I really enjoyed this book, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Regenerate: A Sgt Major Crane Novel (Kindle Edition)
Crime in a garrison town. An ex- army wife is mourning for the death of her baby and her husband killed on tour. An army wife is struggling to cope with her newborn and drug smuggling husband. When a baby is left at the garrison Church, two investigations begin to run- one into the drugs and one to find the mother.
Sgt Major Crane has to liaise with the two forces- military police and local constabulary.
I really enjoyed this book. It's well planned and deals sensitively with the emotions of the characters, so as not to stereotype them.
A definite must read and I will certainly be buying more books in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating topic, very readable, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Regenerate: A Sgt Major Crane Novel (Kindle Edition)
Another very readable crime story from Wendy Cartmell.

The topic chosen for this book is fascinating, I didn't even know such things existed till I read it.

Once again, great characterisation and a neatly evolving plot. It will be interesting to see where Sgt Major Crane is taken, next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad read, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Regenerate: A Sgt Major Crane Novel (Kindle Edition)
I have never read this author before and I did enjoy it. Will read some more of her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very well written, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Regenerate: A Sgt Major Crane Novel (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book. Thoroughly enjoyed it. I will be looking for this author again. The story is very belivable and sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting but sad, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Regenerate: A Sgt Major Crane Novel (Kindle Edition)
Based on Army family life, It is a story of bereavement and loss and the extreme psychological effects that can result. An interesting but sad story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The SIB Stories, 18 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was that soldier for 22 years. Her knowledge of the mores of the chaps in ill fitting suits is just so accurate - especially when it comes to their attitude towards their own officers and sexual interest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Chilling detective thriller, 12 Jun 2014
This review is from: Regenerate: A Sgt Major Crane Novel (Kindle Edition)
Wendy Cartmell has succeeded in producing yet another edge-of-your-seat detective thriller. The psychological edge to the crimes is well thought out and she grips the reader until the very last page. I found the subject matter particularly chilling and uncomfortable throughout, but felt that was a sign of how invested in the story I had become. New readers of Cartmell’s Sgt. Major Crane series might wish to read the previous books first, as there isn't much character development of Crane in this instalment (understandably as it is fifth in the series). Overall, a brilliant addition to the series, can’t wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Regenerate by Wendy Cartmell, 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Regenerate: A Sgt Major Crane Novel (Kindle Edition)
Regenerate is the 5th book in the Sgt Major Crane series. This book was incredibly sad all about bereavement and a baby dying of cot death. A good addition to the series. I am looking forward to the sixth book which will be coming out shortly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 19 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Regenerate: A Sgt Major Crane Novel (Kindle Edition)
Wendy Cartmell's books always a good read. Enjoyed it very much and like the main character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Regenerate: A Sgt Major Crane Novel
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews