Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Front Line Presents A Dub Supremely Well
after the recent excellent dub collections credited to trojan and virgin (and a mention to the metro 'dub'), i was unsure that the front line's dub reservoirs were deep enough to compete with, or to maintain the very high standards set. overflowing or not, the selector/compiler(s) have forwarded the 'right' 40 tracks in a collection that denotes the front line sound, and...
Published 2 months ago by tech sergeant

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars There's some good stuff on this
There's some good stuff on this, but most of the better tracks I already have on vinyl or other compilations. There also seems to me to be quite a bit of very average material...I certainly wouldn't put one of the two discs on and just have it play through. Good value for money though, and if you are new to the 'Front Line Sound' I'd certainly reccommend it.
Published 1 month ago by C. Lomas


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Front Line Presents A Dub Supremely Well, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frontline Presents Dub (Audio CD)
after the recent excellent dub collections credited to trojan and virgin (and a mention to the metro 'dub'), i was unsure that the front line's dub reservoirs were deep enough to compete with, or to maintain the very high standards set. overflowing or not, the selector/compiler(s) have forwarded the 'right' 40 tracks in a collection that denotes the front line sound, and is very accessible and varied, especially considering the limited lifespan of the label. hewn mostly from 7"/12" releases, i can't think offhand of many fl dub specific albums, except for prince far i's 'dubwise' (itself derived from 'cry tough dub encounter vol 2'), and maybe familiarity with this, indicates the tracks from it included here as instant favourites. check the lazy thunderous horns on 'no more war', or the hard and irresistible motif on 'borno dub'.
however, versions of classics from the gladiators, gregory isaacs, mighty diamonds, twinkle brothers (front line's house band?), culture, tapper zukie, etc, abound and ensure the absolute quality of this collection. ironically, there are two (very fine) pieces credited to poet and the roots, and yet no vocal pieces on the 'roots' comp. strange.
all in all, a collection entirely fit to be included in a compelling series of compilations. i rather think that with these, and the 'evolution of dub' boxsets, we appreciators of dub are being completely spoiled currently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great dub, 8 Aug 2014
By 
Joe 90 (nr Silbury) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Frontline Presents Dub (Audio CD)
Great comp, and I reckon just as fine as the Island Dub comp from earlier in the year - maybe I'm biased though as it had two tracks from Planet Mars Dub which i have a really soft spot for. The bench mark of any good dub comp is to be able to play through both discs, 40 tracks, without skipping anything and then want to spin the whole thing again... this passes the test with flying cymbals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice, 11 July 2014
This review is from: Frontline Presents Dub (Audio CD)
Not quite as good as the recent Island Presents Dub which was a really spectacular compilation, this new one from the Virgin Front Line label is still extremely enjoyable with many great and rare tracks sprung from the vaults. Some of these are hard to find - especially the non-album 7" and 12" mixes. There's also five previously unreleased tracks plus a great mix of Gregory Isaacs Soon Forward not previously available in the UK. I wish they hadn't printed dark red on dark brown on the back cover and booklet as my eyesight is struggling. Highlights - The Gladiators Pocket Money Version, Tapper Zukie MPLA Version, Two Big Youth versions and Academy Award Version by The Aggrovators (dub version of Johnny Clarke's Crazy Bald Head - itself available on the Front Line Presents Roots comp also just out - in fact the two titles work as companion pieces as many artists and versions crossover).
Like the Roots comp there's too many Twinkles and Mighty Diamonds for me - but still - I can't knock it too hard, it's great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars There's some good stuff on this, 17 Aug 2014
By 
C. Lomas "c lomas" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frontline Presents Dub (Audio CD)
There's some good stuff on this, but most of the better tracks I already have on vinyl or other compilations. There also seems to me to be quite a bit of very average material...I certainly wouldn't put one of the two discs on and just have it play through. Good value for money though, and if you are new to the 'Front Line Sound' I'd certainly reccommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars frontline presents dub, 8 Aug 2014
By 
J. Hoyte (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frontline Presents Dub (Audio CD)
very classy dubs from yesteryear!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok once in a while, 20 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frontline Presents Dub (Audio CD)
Its OK once in a while I am a Dub and reggae lover. But the politics of the compilation compilers Leave me cold sometimes. I always can think of better material they could have chosen. No high spots. My Favorite Dub album of all time is Scientist "The World Of The Curse Of The Vampires" That's what i compare all Dub albums too. There is nothing here you want to play every month let alone everyday. Compilations are hampered when there being compiled because there someones initial choice. You can not understand why they put crappy filler tracks on the album when you know there is much better material available from that label.

pro: OK once in a while. Nice to have it in a collection

cons: Nothing as good as this on it http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=edCYyc-Dvno
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Close to Reggae style., 16 July 2014
By 
R. F. Hawkins - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Certainly good value for money. I would say this is closer to reggae than dub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 28 July 2014
This review is from: Frontline Presents Dub (Audio CD)
did not like it very much not what expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Frontline Presents Dub
Frontline Presents Dub by Various (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews