Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping
A convoluted set of characters - I initially went back and re-read the second half of book 1 so that I could refresh myself of them all.

Didn't want this instalment to end - the story tension is building tremendously (brilliant). Found myself reading into the stupid early hours of the morning as well as every spare minute.

Very much looking forward...
Published 2 months ago by Story Fanatic

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better writing than the first.
There is no doubt that the author has learnt from his first book, the writing is slightly crisper, someone else has actually edited the book prior to release and some of the interchanges are less childish.

But I still had so many frustrations with the book. The interplay between characters has only just managed to move into teenager territory, it is so...
Published 5 months ago by N. Offer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better writing than the first., 1 July 2014
By 
N. Offer (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blood of Innocents (Book Two of the Sorcery Ascendant Sequence) (Kindle Edition)
There is no doubt that the author has learnt from his first book, the writing is slightly crisper, someone else has actually edited the book prior to release and some of the interchanges are less childish.

But I still had so many frustrations with the book. The interplay between characters has only just managed to move into teenager territory, it is so frustrating where set in a supposedly dangerous environment everyone acts and thinks like a teenager, all angst with perceived wrongs rather than adults. Repetition is non stop, the amount of times I had to read about someone suppressing their instincts to kill or the main antagonist being treated like an imbecile, it was beyond awful. The first 30% or so has some of the most boring drivel I have managed to read in awhile.

But yet again the saving grace was the story, it is interesting, it is different to a degree, it draws you in and ultimately you cannot help but continue to read the book until the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 21 Oct 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood of Innocents (Book Two of the Sorcery Ascendant Sequence) (Kindle Edition)
A convoluted set of characters - I initially went back and re-read the second half of book 1 so that I could refresh myself of them all.

Didn't want this instalment to end - the story tension is building tremendously (brilliant). Found myself reading into the stupid early hours of the morning as well as every spare minute.

Very much looking forward to the next book in the sequence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It is OK, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood of Innocents (Book Two of the Sorcery Ascendant Sequence) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed the 1st book in the series. Even though I had trouble putting this one down I felt it was a more a book to get you ready for the next one and the story didn't develop as much as I would have liked it to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood of Innocents (Book Two of the Sorcery Ascendant Sequence) (Kindle Edition)
I have read book 1 and 2 in the last week, the story line.e keeps up a good place and has enough characters to keep it interesting. going off to buy book 3. keep up th good work. . . . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars could not put it down, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood of Innocents (Book Two of the Sorcery Ascendant Sequence) (Kindle Edition)
Great characters always not quite what they seem at first and a fast moving plot. What more do you want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A really good read, 4 Jun 2014
By 
A. Richardson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood of Innocents (Book Two of the Sorcery Ascendant Sequence) (Kindle Edition)
Found this book to be really enjoyable and interesting how the author isn't afraid to get rid of certain characters. It's not as bad as Game of Thrones though which is quite good on the other hand.

I guess the only slight flaw is the main characters are all able to figure out things fairly quickly which just seems slightly surreal but that is only a minor issue I noticed.

I am really excited to see that Caldan is starting to come in on his own and I think Book Three should see him really grow in strength and knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood of Innocents (Book Two of the Sorcery Ascendant Sequence) (Kindle Edition)
I don't normally bother to write reviews but this new series is brilliant. Had to finish the book in a day, just couldn't put it down.

Absolutely can't wait for the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not as good as the first, 30 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood of Innocents (Book Two of the Sorcery Ascendant Sequence) (Kindle Edition)
Good but not as good as the first, although I will read the next installment when it comes out. The first was actually a brilliant debut though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good story, strong characters and a decent system of magic, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood of Innocents (Book Two of the Sorcery Ascendant Sequence) (Kindle Edition)
Enjoy the magic system in this book, still leaving mysteries at the end of book two and left me wanting more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 13 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood of Innocents (Book Two of the Sorcery Ascendant Sequence) (Kindle Edition)
Love both books can't wait for next instalment could not put it down and when I did ran audiobook excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews