Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sort of bad but still quite good
A mess of a show but I really liked it. Had all the horror and romanticism of Gothic fiction. If you've actually read some of the books the characters are taken from you could get annoyed by what they've done with them but I don't think you're supposed to take it that seriously. I personally found Dorian Gray incredibly bothersome but I managed to ignore it. Overall very...
Published 16 days ago by Laura Le Fay

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Promise turned into diasppointment
Started with so much promise but ended up being a confused mess. Eva Green is excellent and the very range of her role about the only thing that compelled me to watch the whole series. Predictable plot lines and no real fizz left me absolutely disappointed.

The show really didn't know what it wanted to be. Other than the now obligatory need to shock and...
Published 12 days ago by Normal Bloke


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sort of bad but still quite good, 15 July 2014
By 
Laura Le Fay (Sunderland, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Penny Dreadful [DVD] (DVD)
A mess of a show but I really liked it. Had all the horror and romanticism of Gothic fiction. If you've actually read some of the books the characters are taken from you could get annoyed by what they've done with them but I don't think you're supposed to take it that seriously. I personally found Dorian Gray incredibly bothersome but I managed to ignore it. Overall very entertaining, great style and good performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastical concoction!, 8 July 2014
By 
still searching (MK UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Penny Dreadful [DVD] (DVD)
To some extent this series is a bit of a mess! There is so much going on that it's easy to get lost amongst the mixture of plot elements that appear to have been put together rather in the manner of someone cheating when completing a puzzle by cutting the first pieces they pick up to force them to fit. We have Frankenstein's creation displaced in time and space competing for top spot with Dracula who appears to have spirited Mina away from a father she never originally had. He seems to be a kind of Allan Quartermain explorer type obsessed with finding the origin of the Nile and racked with guilt over the loss of both children: his son accompanied him on one ill-fated trip. Buffalo Bill, in the guise of Ethan Chandler (Josh Hartnett) also plays a prominent part together with Dorian Gray convincingly mincing his way through the lot and corrupting any and every one he can literally lay his hands upon. And in the monster's attraction to Maude, an ingénue playing at the local Grand Guignol theatre, there is even a hint of Gaston Laroux's famous phantom.

Central to all this mayhem is the figure of Vanessa Ives played by Eva Green who gives an astonishing performance as the possessed friend of Mina whose aforementioned father, Sir Malcolm Murray (Timothy Dalton), is convinced holds the key to his daughter's fate: so chuck in a bit of the Exorcist as well! A brilliantly hammy turn by Simon Russell Beale as an utterly dotty Egyptologist and a curious sprinkle of Billie Piper as a consumptive Irish prostitute completes the dish. All we are missing is Mr Hyde: but (hopefully) it's still early days yet!

So, utterly unoriginal and yet utterly compelling: it's fun and works precisely because it plays upon the viewer's knowledge of all of those Gothic ingredients to create a heady brew that looks absolutely sumptuous and is very, very definitely for adult consumption only. This is the grown-up relative of the recent Jonathan Rees Myers, Dracula which, though good, is a pale shadow of this gloriously exotic concoction.

It's highly probable you will have seen nothing like it on television before!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Awesome, 1 July 2014
This review is from: Penny Dreadful [DVD] (DVD)
I am only on episode 6 but this show is a must. It is about vampires & dark magic. All of the actors are good however Eva Green is truly amazing in it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great event, 20 July 2014
By 
This review is from: Penny Dreadful [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great series! I expected absolutely nothing when I started watching it. There is something going on with this series. This is the best thing I have seen any of these actors in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Awesome!, 21 July 2014
By 
Danni (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Penny Dreadful [DVD] (DVD)
Firstly, I can not disagree more with the review by STEVENSEAGALFAN "M.C.F.C."

And, as the reply I made to the post I will also say here......"Penny Dreadful" is one of the best shows on Sky TV at the moment!
The performances are excellent from all the cast and the production is epic and so detailed in scale...Eva Green was especially fantastic, her acting was outstanding! This show is Awesome in so, so many ways!...I can't fault this show in any way, it left me wanting to see more!

"Absolutely Superb, I can't wait for a second series!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant stuff! Great series, 23 July 2014
This review is from: Penny Dreadful [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Brilliant stuff! Great series...enjoyed every episode. Great performances by the cast...especially the divine Eva Green...and nice to see Timothy Dalton again. The idea of bringing legendary 'horror' characters together sounds pretty lame I must admit, but the end result is anything but lame. Together with True Detective, and Fargo, one of the best series on the telly this year. Cannot wait for the second series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Promise turned into diasppointment, 19 July 2014
This review is from: Penny Dreadful [DVD] (DVD)
Started with so much promise but ended up being a confused mess. Eva Green is excellent and the very range of her role about the only thing that compelled me to watch the whole series. Predictable plot lines and no real fizz left me absolutely disappointed.

The show really didn't know what it wanted to be. Other than the now obligatory need to shock and titillate.

Would have given this one star if it wasn't for Eva Green.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 July 2014
This review is from: Penny Dreadful [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely amazing loved every episode
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DREADFUL, 15 July 2014
This review is from: Penny Dreadful [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
***** SPOILER ALERT***** If you love old fashioned horror then give this a miss, one of the worst series i have seen for a long time it was just a complete mess and am glad i watched on sky and saved some money, the only reason i watched it was i am a big fan of timorthy dalton. There was so much going on at once like werewolfs, dracula, vampires, victor frankenstein, dorian gray, van helsing, bride of frankenstein, and even frankenstein first monster turned in to the phantom of the opera but am not 100% sure if josh hartnett was the wolf man who was played by the legend lon chaney jr in the 1941 film, if so what a complete joke, at some point i thought harry potter and voldermort were going to turn up and wave there wands. When it all went wrong for me was when van helsing was killed by frankensteins monster i just hope peter cushing doesn't turn in his grave, and what was the point of dorian gray just pointless, and in the second series i bet timorthy dalton son comes back as a zombie or a mummy, hammer horror has nothing to worry about. Dreadful just Dreadful. OH and billie piper irish accent was just Dreadful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reeve Carney, 11 July 2014
This review is from: Penny Dreadful [DVD] (DVD)
I've been a serious Reeve Carney follower since RC and the Revolving Band, so when I found out he was starring as the sexy and mysterious Dorian Gray I was immediately drawn. I was pleasently surprised by the clarity of his accent and the chemistry he has with his fellow co-stars, and I can honestly say, I'm even more drawn to him now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Penny Dreadful [Blu-ray]
Penny Dreadful [Blu-ray] by Reeve Carney (Blu-ray - 2014)
22.00
Available for pre-order
Pre order Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews