Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arise Sir Ian Anderson
Having seen the great TAAB shows in Gateshead and Amsterdam I was really looking forward to seeing this concert on DVD and I am equally impressed. The sound quality is excellent and the first part of the show (TAAB1) brings back great memories from the 70's.
As followers of Ian Anderson/Tull will appreciate, Ian's voice isn't what it was a few years ago but this does...
Published 23 days ago by Peter, Newcastle

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the musicians are fine; he has turned it into a stage play
Why Ian Anderson needs a sidekick for half of the lyrics is all too soon obvious: he can't sing properly anymore. He has the lungs of a Russian miner.
The performance is original, the musicians are fine; he has turned it into a stage play, which works well.
But that lack of wind when it comes to his singing......
Published 6 days ago by mercwilly


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arise Sir Ian Anderson, 24 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thick As A Brick - Live In Iceland [DVD] [2014] [NTSC] (DVD)
Having seen the great TAAB shows in Gateshead and Amsterdam I was really looking forward to seeing this concert on DVD and I am equally impressed. The sound quality is excellent and the first part of the show (TAAB1) brings back great memories from the 70's.
As followers of Ian Anderson/Tull will appreciate, Ian's voice isn't what it was a few years ago but this does not detract from the quality of the show. To me, Ian's vocals are noticably better on the second part (TAAB2) and the excellent musicianship from each band member continues practically note perfect. A great live DVD. I just want Ian Anderson to go on and on......how about Homo Erraticus 2 followed up by a DVD similar to this one?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just buy it, 23 Aug 2014
By 
My first ever review on Amazon. I'm so impressed by this it had to be done. Ian Anderson and the tightest band you'll ever see or hear, perform the classic JethroTull Thick As A Brick plus Ian Anderson's TAAB2 in their entirety.

Not a bum note anywhere. Superb theatrics from IA and a few surprises along the way.

I have a s*** hot hifi and cinema system and many live concerts leave me unimpressed. Not this. Sound quality is stunning. As good as it gets. Trust me.

If you like Tull you just have to get this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the musicians are fine; he has turned it into a stage play, 10 Sep 2014
By 
mercwilly (Groningen, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Why Ian Anderson needs a sidekick for half of the lyrics is all too soon obvious: he can't sing properly anymore. He has the lungs of a Russian miner.
The performance is original, the musicians are fine; he has turned it into a stage play, which works well.
But that lack of wind when it comes to his singing......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No More TAABs...please..., 30 Aug 2014
By 
David Robinson (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thick As A Brick - Live In Iceland [DVD] [2014] [NTSC] (DVD)
Sorry....but this is incredibly disappointing...always LOVED Tull and have bought their stuff since their FIRST album 'Stand Up'...and have seen them several times. This however is a step too far for Anderson....he is a great showman, but stretches the limits of this mini opera - or whatever you want to call it - to breaking point., The first part of TAAB sounds as good as ever....but the rest sounds like a band going in search of a riff, or a memorable chorus or anything ressembling a song!. A young lad onstage with the band speaks dialogue at times, and sings, I assume, to reach the notes Anderson no longer can....or maybe, to be fair, to change the texture of the lyrics....but it really doesn't work.. The TAAB2 meanders on and on and on....with some OK bits...and some fill in solos....(why Anderson talks about prostate cancer just before the start of '2' is anyone's guess)...and the lyrics are often baffling -'Fray Bentos pie...always a winner' (???) - think we've heard enough of Gerald Bostock...he should get a life !!! Hey, I'm a big Tull fan.....but this is Ian Anderson 'let loose'! Sorry...but you have to call it as you see - and hear - it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great concert but very disappointed as the Blue Ray doesn't ..., 3 Sep 2014
By 
T. Hallas (Andalucia, Espana) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great concert but very disappointed as the Blue Ray doesn't have Dolby Digital 5:1 surround, only DTS and stereo. This gives me a problem as my amplifier is a much loved flag ship amp from 1996 which doesn't have DTS. Wish I had bought the DVD now which I know has got 5:1 surround. Does anyone know of a reason why the Blue Ray doesn't have Dolby digital when the DVD has all three sound systems. Not possible to know before buying as the Blue Ray DVD picture shown doesn't allow you to see the back of the case. Very unexpected for Blue Ray to be inferior to the ordinary DVD. A bit like buying an expensive top of the range car and finding out that it has wind up windows when a basic model has electric.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thick As A Brick - Live In Iceland [DVD] [2014] [NTSC] (DVD)
person it was bought for loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thick As A Brick - Live In Iceland [DVD] [2014] [NTSC] (DVD)
superb live performance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thick As A Brick - Live In Iceland [DVD] [2014] [NTSC]
Thick As A Brick - Live In Iceland [DVD] [2014] [NTSC] by Jethro Tull's Ian Anderson (DVD - 2014)
11.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews