Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arise Sir Ian Anderson
Having seen the great TAAB shows in Gateshead and Amsterdam I was really looking forward to seeing this concert on DVD and I am equally impressed. The sound quality is excellent and the first part of the show (TAAB1) brings back great memories from the 70's.
As followers of Ian Anderson/Tull will appreciate, Ian's voice isn't what it was a few years ago but this does...
Published 1 month ago by Peter, Newcastle

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Middle of the road
I never became a great admirer of conseptalbums. Although reviewers loved it and some worked musically, the story was mostly rubbish.
TAAB1 is edible but TAAB2 is not strong enough to be played in its entirety. Actually there are not not many albums that are good enough in this format. Audio is really good, great band and thank god that Anderson have realized that...
Published 25 days ago by Hans Myhren


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arise Sir Ian Anderson, 24 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thick As A Brick - Live In Iceland [DVD] [2014] [NTSC] (DVD)
Having seen the great TAAB shows in Gateshead and Amsterdam I was really looking forward to seeing this concert on DVD and I am equally impressed. The sound quality is excellent and the first part of the show (TAAB1) brings back great memories from the 70's.
As followers of Ian Anderson/Tull will appreciate, Ian's voice isn't what it was a few years ago but this does not detract from the quality of the show. To me, Ian's vocals are noticably better on the second part (TAAB2) and the excellent musicianship from each band member continues practically note perfect. A great live DVD. I just want Ian Anderson to go on and on......how about Homo Erraticus 2 followed up by a DVD similar to this one?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just buy it, 23 Aug 2014
By 
My first ever review on Amazon. I'm so impressed by this it had to be done. Ian Anderson and the tightest band you'll ever see or hear, perform the classic JethroTull Thick As A Brick plus Ian Anderson's TAAB2 in their entirety.

Not a bum note anywhere. Superb theatrics from IA and a few surprises along the way.

I have a s*** hot hifi and cinema system and many live concerts leave me unimpressed. Not this. Sound quality is stunning. As good as it gets. Trust me.

If you like Tull you just have to get this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Middle of the road, 26 Sep 2014
By 
Hans Myhren - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I never became a great admirer of conseptalbums. Although reviewers loved it and some worked musically, the story was mostly rubbish.
TAAB1 is edible but TAAB2 is not strong enough to be played in its entirety. Actually there are not not many albums that are good enough in this format. Audio is really good, great band and thank god that Anderson have realized that his age requires an additional vocalist.but let the authors take care of novels . Musicians should consentrate on poetry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Even smart phones these days shoot HD, 28 Sep 2014
By 
I. D. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Standard Definition in 2014 isn't acceptable. Even smart phones these days shoot HD. Why release a Blu-Ray that has only standard definition picture quality - soft and with interlacing comb effects on distant shots of movement? The concert itself is excellent, although I could have done without the "Dame Edna" corny audience interaction on prostate cancer, he embarrassingly amateur video footage and the drum solo. Fortunately the DTS 5.1 audio makes this worth purchasing - it's a superb recording of a great performance. Unlike others I didn't have a problem with Ian Anderson's vocal performance, but I felt the second singer added for the performance was too quiet in the mix and do got lost. I'd have preferred Anderson even if he hasn't got the vocal range he used to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is a very good live Album DVD all I can say is if ..., 28 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is a very good live Album DVD all I can say is if your just starting out been a fan of Tul
go out I buy the DVD OR[ Blu-ray ] the cd is good as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars disappointment, 22 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The sound quality is very good in show but Ian's voice isn't what it was a some years ago but this does not worsen the quality of the show. I'm not great TAAB fun and so i don't found many highlights from this piece of work...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the musicians are fine; he has turned it into a stage play, 10 Sep 2014
By 
mercwilly (Groningen, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Why Ian Anderson needs a sidekick for half of the lyrics is all too soon obvious: he can't sing properly anymore. He has the lungs of a Russian miner.
The performance is original, the musicians are fine; he has turned it into a stage play, which works well.
But that lack of wind when it comes to his singing......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really don't mind, 28 Sep 2014
By 
Peter L. Crisp (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been following Jethro Tull/Ian Anderson for ages, the past couple of years have been quite amazing, especially remastering and plenty of box sets, Thick As A Brick box set, T.A.A.B 2 box set, "A Passion Play" 4 disc set, a couple of years ago add Aqualung
5 disc set, Ian's latest studio album, and now T.A.A.B. 1 & 2 in their entirety. By the looks of Ian Anderson has been quite a busy man.
I for one enjoy everything, to have the above 2 albums back to back must have been a hell of a lot of hard work. It's a great sounding concert with the usual silly things thrown in for good measure? I will let you decide, all in all a great concert, as we all perhaps know by now Ian's voice at times does struggle, so we have another singer who can sing Ian's difficult parts, with ease but i guess it's still
not quite the same. If you are a fan of either i would highly recommend the concert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very nice blu ray from a very nice man, 17 Sep 2014
By 
Gareth Price (East Anglia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent picture and sound. Great multimedia stage show. Good extras. The music's not bad either ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No More TAABs...please..., 30 Aug 2014
By 
David Robinson (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thick As A Brick - Live In Iceland [DVD] [2014] [NTSC] (DVD)
Sorry....but this is incredibly disappointing...always LOVED Tull and have bought their stuff since their FIRST album 'Stand Up'...and have seen them several times. This however is a step too far for Anderson....he is a great showman, but stretches the limits of this mini opera - or whatever you want to call it - to breaking point., The first part of TAAB sounds as good as ever....but the rest sounds like a band going in search of a riff, or a memorable chorus or anything ressembling a song!. A young lad onstage with the band speaks dialogue at times, and sings, I assume, to reach the notes Anderson no longer can....or maybe, to be fair, to change the texture of the lyrics....but it really doesn't work.. The TAAB2 meanders on and on and on....with some OK bits...and some fill in solos....(why Anderson talks about prostate cancer just before the start of '2' is anyone's guess)...and the lyrics are often baffling -'Fray Bentos pie...always a winner' (???) - think we've heard enough of Gerald Bostock...he should get a life !!! Hey, I'm a big Tull fan.....but this is Ian Anderson 'let loose'! Sorry...but you have to call it as you see - and hear - it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thick As A Brick - Live In Iceland [DVD] [2014] [NTSC]
Thick As A Brick - Live In Iceland [DVD] [2014] [NTSC] by Jethro Tull's Ian Anderson (DVD - 2014)
£9.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews