Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Virgin Front Line Presents Roots With Quality And Style
these are great times for all those with an appreciation of reggae, with many available volumes of 'trojan presents......', 'island presents....., and now, most recently, the turn of virgin front line to furnish us with superbly selected compilations that are available for entirely reasonable prices.
this volume is a crucial selection from a vast catalogue of...
Published 10 months ago by tech sergeant

versus
9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too many dj's!
I really liked the Trojan and Island presents ... compilations but the Front Line presents Roots double cd has for me not the same quality. There are just too many songs by too many dj's: U Roy, I Roy, U Brown, Ranking Trevor, Big Youth, Tapper Zukie and Prince Far I. I Roy gets 5 tracks, U Roy 4 tracks but there was no room for Delroy Washington or Keith Hudson...
Published 10 months ago by Jurg


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Virgin Front Line Presents Roots With Quality And Style, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frontline Presents Roots (Audio CD)
these are great times for all those with an appreciation of reggae, with many available volumes of 'trojan presents......', 'island presents....., and now, most recently, the turn of virgin front line to furnish us with superbly selected compilations that are available for entirely reasonable prices.
this volume is a crucial selection from a vast catalogue of material, illustrates perfectly the 'front line sound', whilst avoiding the most obvious choices and maintaining a level of excellence over the 37 tracks. starting with big youth's blistering 'house of dread locks', a balance is achieved throughout, between singers, vocal groups, djs, etc, and although all the 12" mixes are by the twinkle brothers, they are all cracking, particularly 'keep on trying'. most artists you'd expect to be included, are, accompanied by tracks chosen as much for the way they fit into this collection, as for their quality, so a shout for the compiler(s), who've put a compelling slant on the way this album plays through.
suffice to say, whether you're looking for a good place to start with an interest in reggae, or a long time aficionado replacing vinyls, this makes for an essential compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth it for Jahovia by the Twinkles on its own, 11 July 2014
This review is from: Frontline Presents Roots (Audio CD)
Decent compilation at a good price with many hard to find tracks. Wish they wouldn't print dark red on green... with my eyesight I struggle to read the track-listing. Highlights for me are the 10 minute Jahovia track by The Twinkle Bros which I've never heard before, Gregory Isaacs Universal Tribulation and U-Roy toasting The Gladiators Evil Doers. Too many Twinkles, Mighty Diamonds and I-Roy ... and not enough 12" mixes but great stuff nonetheless and a good companion to the Front Line Presents Dub which is very much part of the same trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent selection, 18 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frontline Presents Roots (Audio CD)
excellent selection of roots reggae , featuring several 12" versions of mainly twinkle brothers soundsystem rockers .there are only a couple of weaker tracks but most are top notch with lots of tracks featuring Uroy or Iroy two of the best jamaican toasters .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too many dj's!, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frontline Presents Roots (Audio CD)
I really liked the Trojan and Island presents ... compilations but the Front Line presents Roots double cd has for me not the same quality. There are just too many songs by too many dj's: U Roy, I Roy, U Brown, Ranking Trevor, Big Youth, Tapper Zukie and Prince Far I. I Roy gets 5 tracks, U Roy 4 tracks but there was no room for Delroy Washington or Keith Hudson?

I wished they would have released a separate compilation of only dj's. Something like "Front Line presents dj's". Although they are deejaying over roots tracks, they lack inventiveness in their vocalline. That's annoying. And I don't care what they are saying. Some may find it genius, I don't. I like good singing and harmonies.

This could have been better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frontline Presents Roots (Audio CD)
In the seventies frontline had great dub artists and this sampler is of the highest quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oldies but goodies!, 20 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frontline Presents Roots (Audio CD)
Some wicked old time tunes so a very worthwhile buy. Thank you Amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frontline Presents Roots (Audio CD)
Pure reggae vibes, a must add to anyone's collection simple
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frontline Presents Roots (Audio CD)
As I'm a big reggae fan I recconised a lot of the artists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frontline Presents Roots (Audio CD)
A roots revival treat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars reggae, 1 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frontline Presents Roots (Audio CD)
Great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Frontline Presents Roots
Frontline Presents Roots by Various (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews