Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reads more like a novel than a history book
Hi,
I really enjoyed this and can't believe how long ago it was written, but don't let that put you off. Try it, I'm sure you'll be hooked after the first few pages.

It's quite a short book and a VERY easy read, being written in a 'conversational style'. I'm no history buff and before reading this my British history knowledge was pretty patchy...
Published on 28 Jan 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too many sweeping opinions.
why does the author have to be aggressive with people that she disagrees with? Can't we be given the facts and form our own opinion?
Published 5 months ago by David New


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reads more like a novel than a history book, 28 Jan 2012
Hi,
I really enjoyed this and can't believe how long ago it was written, but don't let that put you off. Try it, I'm sure you'll be hooked after the first few pages.

It's quite a short book and a VERY easy read, being written in a 'conversational style'. I'm no history buff and before reading this my British history knowledge was pretty patchy.

I hope this review will persuade others to brush up on their British history knowledge.

GO ON GIVE IT A GO, AFTERALL IT'S FREE!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too many sweeping opinions., 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
why does the author have to be aggressive with people that she disagrees with? Can't we be given the facts and form our own opinion?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Freebie, 29 April 2012
Excellent value.A nice short cut to history.Cuts out the boring stuff and cuts to the chase. I wish this book was available when I was doing O level at school, brings it to lifeore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A non-PC view of history, 24 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Short History of England, Ireland, and Scotland (Kindle Edition)
A personal prejudiced, incisive account written around the turn of the 19th/20th centuries, an eye-opener for how history was written at that time (all about kings and queens and prime-ministers), totally non-PC from the modern viewpoint, but an interesting read nonetheless. Quite refreshing in more ways than one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
really Great book, read it from cover to cover. Good value considering it was free. Very interesting book and useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you, 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I used to go to a local library to borrow some books, but have recently begun to download free books from Amazon using my Kindle when I have time. I am very glad that a lot of books are available free of charge. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As it says, short., 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dated, but a worthwhile read, some areas a bit skimpy in detail but generally still enough to be absorbing and entertaining.

Worth the time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wales seems to have been overlooked!, 9 July 2014
This review is from: A Short History of England, Ireland, and Scotland (Kindle Edition)
How can the write up for this book call it a "concise but comprehensive history of the British Isles" if it only includes England, Scotland & Ireland? Was this written by yet another American who thought that Wales was part of England?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Short History of England, Ireland, and Scotland (Kindle Edition)
The best "short" history I have ever read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 4 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Short History of England, Ireland, and Scotland (Kindle Edition)
Absolutely awful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews