Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Merlin's Mirror-An Incredible SF Arthurian Novel!
I've not read any books in this category before. I'm not even sure than one existed until Andre Norton wrote this one. It's a mixture of historical fiction and science fiction that puts a unique face on Arthurian literature. I was sceptical about reading this novel when I first picked it up. However, I was hooked from the first page! It's written with such a...
Published on 9 Nov. 2003 by Kimberly Gelderman

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Sadly disappointing
As someone who has read a lot of Andre Norton I had high hopes before reading this book. It did not fulfill them. There is none of the exploring of ancient civilizations that you would expect from the author of the forerunner books, there is little of the magic of the Witch World series and there are massive chunks missing from the Arthurian legends as well...
Published 21 months ago by Fantasy Devourer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Merlin's Mirror-An Incredible SF Arthurian Novel!, 9 Nov. 2003
By 
Kimberly Gelderman (Spring Lake, MI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've not read any books in this category before. I'm not even sure than one existed until Andre Norton wrote this one. It's a mixture of historical fiction and science fiction that puts a unique face on Arthurian literature. I was sceptical about reading this novel when I first picked it up. However, I was hooked from the first page! It's written with such a inimitable perspective that it grabs your attention and keeps it all the way through to the end. In fact, I wish she would have continued this book in a trilogy or even a series. It's that good!
In this story Merlin, Nimue and Arthur's characters are given an extra dimension. Merlin and Arthur are half human, half alien (of the light-good), and Nimue is of the half human and alien persuasion but of the dark and evil forces. Their struggles of good vs. evil are entrancing and exciting. Kept me turning page after page!
Pick up this novel and read it. You will not be sorry you did, even if you are a fan of traditional Arthurian literature. This is an out-of-print title but I found it quite by chance and easily at a yearly library book sale. This is a resubmitted review. The first was submitted on 8/9/03. I don't know what keeps happening to these reviews. Lost? This is the fourth review I've tried to resubmit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Andre Norton meets Arthurian legend, 8 Aug. 2012
By 
Tamara Petroff (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Merlin's Mirror (Kindle Edition)
Andre Norton mines the fertile ground of Arthurian legend, and the result is a very enjoyable tale! It is told from the point of view of the young Merlin (Myrddin), in Andre Norton's usual coming-of-age theme. I can't say much without giving away spoilers, but expect some new twists on the old tales, including a touch of Von Daniken-style ancient astronauts, post-Roman British culture, and a gem of a scene towards the end between Merlin and his main antagonist that casts ambiguity over much of what came before. Fans of Andre Norton and/or Arthurian legend will love this. Happy reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic..?, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Merlin's Mirror (Kindle Edition)
Great twist to a classic tale, loved the mix of sci fi and Arthurian legend. Well written book by one of the greats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read., 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Merlin's Mirror (Kindle Edition)
Fantasy novel with a twist, this was a good read from start to finish. Good balanced plot and will keep you reading on through to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting alternative Insight to the Young Merlin, 27 April 2013
By 
B. K. Fraser (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Merlin's Mirror (Kindle Edition)
Not finished reading this yet but if you're into to all this sort of stuff give it a go.
My title says it all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unusual take on the Arthurian theme., 14 April 2013
By 
Frankie Lomas (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Merlin's Mirror (Kindle Edition)
Always enjoyed anything Arthurian, and the idea that one of our national and cultural myths could involve Intergalctic elements is an intrigueing one! Mrs Norton has conjured up just the right mix of Dark Ages mystery and Other World technology. Definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arthur from a different slant, 5 Mar. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Merlin's Mirror (Kindle Edition)
Merlin, born of no father, rather as part of a legacy left by the Sky People whose ship is drawn to earth by the last calls of a failing beacon. Merlin as a youngster stumbles across the cavern containing the remains of the computers left by his ancestors and is educated by these and given his instruction on his future and his quest. The story sticks very much to the Arthurian legend with the added slant that the reader knows the whole story of the source of Merlin's knowledge and Arthur's parentage. The adversaries, the evil Lady of the Lake, also of Sky lineage but from dark power, Mordred Arthur's son born of an incestuous liaison with his sister, evil fosterling of the Lady of the Lake and of course Guenevere, it's all here. Excellent retelling of an ancient legend but with a twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A different Arthurian view, 3 Jan. 2013
By 
Jette Goldie (Edinburgh, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Merlin's Mirror (Kindle Edition)
Imagine Merlin as the child of the Forerunners, Arthur as a promised heir to bring about a golden age and their return
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 6 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Merlin's Mirror (Kindle Edition)
Great book. Had not read anything by this author before but thoroughly enjoyed the book. Story was well done and quite beleivable. If you like a sci-fi twist to stories then this is the book for you. It did not quite tally with the stories I remembered about Merlin and King Arthur but even so it was well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic SF Revisited, 19 Aug. 2003
This review is from: Merlin's Mirror (Hardcover)
Andre Norton was one of my favourite authors when I was growing up and I spent much time with her books. Merlins Mirror was one of those classics.
Premise:
The Dark Ages-Britanica. Before Arthur there was Merlin. However in a twist Merlin is actually the product of an ancient stellar empire and his desire is to produce a leader who can lead man back to enlightened reason and the stars. Unfortunately that distant stellar empire had its own enemies thus enters the female opposite of merlin - The Lady of the Lake - Nimue.
I dont want give away too much of the plot but let us just say it is a book that works very well. There are things in it for readers of every age.
It is nice to see some of these minor (and some not so minor) classics being re-released for a new generation of readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Merlin's Mirror
Merlin's Mirror by Andre Norton
£2.87
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews