Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining even for non golfers
Entertaining light read
Over 70 now, living nr St Andrews, not into golf but have taken a guided walking tour of The Old Course so enjoyed Ollie's story &insights about golf, caddies, the town & his life from age 18 to 25. Hope to read more from Ollie.
Published 4 months ago by LoneRanger

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
Too much concentration on his uncle and not enough insider caddie stories
Published 1 month ago by Kenneth J. Blackie


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining even for non golfers, 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An American Caddie in St. Andrews: Growing Up, Girls and Looping on the Old Course (Kindle Edition)
Entertaining light read
Over 70 now, living nr St Andrews, not into golf but have taken a guided walking tour of The Old Course so enjoyed Ollie's story &insights about golf, caddies, the town & his life from age 18 to 25. Hope to read more from Ollie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 16 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An American Caddie in St. Andrews: Growing Up, Girls and Looping on the Old Course (Kindle Edition)
I bought this book while on my annual trip to St Andrews. I'm a fan of the game of golf and the town of St. Andrews, so thought this would be a perfect read for me. I wasn't disappointed and couldn't put it down and loved not only the story itself, but the well observed picture that Oliver horovitz paints of the town and its inhabitants. I knew all of the places mentioned in the book and the author brought them life perfectly. A great insight into the home of golf and the caddies that add so much to the old course experience. Made me laugh and brought tears to my eyes in equal measure. 5 stars and highly recommended from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Next best thing to playing St Andrews., 26 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An American Caddie in St. Andrews: Growing Up, Girls and Looping on the Old Course (Kindle Edition)
Really great book about Oliver's experiences of getting into the world of the caddies at St Andrews. He writes in a very engaging style and you really get the sense of the place. As a golfer I loved it and made me want to play St Andrews at least once in my life, and I was very jealous of the easy access he seemed to have to the great courses up there.

I also think non golfers will get a lot out of it as you could argue it is not really a book about golf but about someone growing up, family and friendship. With golf just being the backdrop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well done Oliver!, 13 Oct 2014
By 
Ellie (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An American Caddie in St. Andrews: Growing Up, Girls and Looping on the Old Course (Kindle Edition)
I bought this book after watching the 2014 Dunhill on TV and one of the commentators recommending it. It's one of those books that you get totally engrossed in can't wait for the next few spare minutes where you can pick up where you left off. It's a great insight into life as a caddy but more so of Oliver himself and the pull St. Andrews has on him. He was so lucky to have someone like Uncle Ken. In fact the photo of Uncle Ken later in the book brought a lump to the throat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A lighthearted and emotional funny read!, 24 Aug 2014
By 
C. Inglis (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An American Caddie in St. Andrews: Growing Up, Girls and Looping on the Old Course (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed this book from cover to cover! Full of characters that I am sure we can all relate to, in our own lives. Whether you are a golfer or not this is a well written book with lots of small plots and stories within.
Makes you want to get out there and play at St Andrews and hope you get one of the caddie characters contained in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just... wonderful!, 14 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An American Caddie in St. Andrews: Growing Up, Girls and Looping on the Old Course (Kindle Edition)
As a 50 year old Scot who loves golf and who visits his retired parents in St. Andrews regularly, I can't recommend this book highly enough. Oliver captures the essence of the town and the game with eloquence, good humour and touching emotion. Have never felt closer to giving up a 'proper' career to start caddying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good holiday reading, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An American Caddie in St. Andrews: Growing Up, Girls and Looping on the Old Course (Kindle Edition)
Well written and a very enjoyable read, made more poignant by being in St Andrews at the time. Rather clichéd at times, but a good holiday read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great read at great price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful to hear about the caddy life at St Andrews ..., 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An American Caddie in St. Andrews: Growing Up, Girls and Looping on the Old Course (Kindle Edition)
A very entertaining read. Wonderful to hear about the caddy life at St Andrews and the many anecdotes and stories about the real characters that work there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellen, 15 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An American Caddie in St. Andrews: Growing Up, Girls and Looping on the Old Course (Kindle Edition)
Great read, pulled together very nicely at the end of the book. Definitely whet my appetite to return to the old course and I will take a caddie for the first time, and i will pay him the right fee!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews