Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful package of live minds
Just short note. Dvd plays fine. It is region free. Just finished watching and it's superb. It isn't full show and would've been nice if it was.
Sound quality is superb on the Cds and Dvd. No surround option though.
They can still cut it for me.
Published 8 months ago by John Kelly

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A quite nice but slightly heavy set of classic songs.
I have seen them live a couple of times in the mid 80s, and I have to say that they are now heavier than back then, and by that I do not only talk about the music that they record on albums, but also their live performances. To ME it is not an improvement. Their songs from 1980 to about 1984-85 are still my favorite part of their career - I think that their music was...
Published 29 days ago by Michael Patriksson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful package of live minds, 2 Aug. 2014
By 
John Kelly (stirlingshire , Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celebrate - Live From The SSE Hydro Glasgow (Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
Just short note. Dvd plays fine. It is region free. Just finished watching and it's superb. It isn't full show and would've been nice if it was.
Sound quality is superb on the Cds and Dvd. No surround option though.
They can still cut it for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple Minds Celebrate A Stellar Career In Glasgow, 12 Mar. 2015
By 
DJ Control (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celebrate - Live From The SSE Hydro Glasgow (Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
Unbelievably,in a thirty plus year career this is Simple Minds first concert video release. The previously available tour film "Live In Verona" featured concert footage interspersed with behind the scenes footage and band interviews. Originally conceived and released as a limited edition for sale via the band's website,Simple Minds Celebrate Live is actually pretty good. Despite it not being the full show that was issued via the limited edition,most of the hits are here. The cd + dvd set has the audio spread across the 2 cds and the visual equivalent on the dvd. The only thing that makes it just that little bit short of a five star rating is the rather lo-fi quality of the sound on the dvd which is only available as 2.0 Dolby Digital. Fortunately it has been encoded for surround so if your system can be set to play 2ch as six it doesn't sound too bad but a dedicated 5.1 mix would've been a much better alternative. The concert has also been released as a stand alone Blu-ray disc "CELEBRATE - LIVE FROM THE SSE HYDRO GLASGOW" without the cds and a 5.1 PCM audio track that not all systems can playback effectively. No doubt the picture will look better on Blu-ray but no cds kind of makes it a buyers choice as to what edition you purchase. For me,the dvd picture looks pretty good up scaled on my Sony player and I'm happy with the image quality so I'm glad I bought the cd/dvd set it's just a shame we don't get the full show.

"Shine On,Shine The Light On Me..."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A quite nice but slightly heavy set of classic songs., 29 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celebrate - Live From The SSE Hydro Glasgow (Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
I have seen them live a couple of times in the mid 80s, and I have to say that they are now heavier than back then, and by that I do not only talk about the music that they record on albums, but also their live performances. To ME it is not an improvement. Their songs from 1980 to about 1984-85 are still my favorite part of their career - I think that their music was simply more interesting then, and while they do return to this era a lot in their live performances (this era represents about half their live set here) it used to be played with lighter feet, so to speak, then compared to now. It is still a good selection of songs, though, and I should think the audience danced as much as they could in their seats!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not The Full Show, But Excellent Package, 30 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celebrate - Live From The SSE Hydro Glasgow (Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
OK, it's not the whole gig, but it was a Greatest Hits tour after all. Having been at this gig, I don't think that the songs which have been edited out, take anything away from the DVD. I have never, personally, heard a decent live version of 'Once Upon A Time', so not missing that one. 'Hunter And The Hunted' and 'This Fear Of Gods', don't fall into the Greatest Hits category, so from a record company point of view, I can understand why they were omitted. Why they played the dreary 'Let It All Come Down', when 'Belfast Child' would have been a far better option, I'll never understand. Their only U.K. number one, and it's left out of a Greatest Hits show! The electro version of 'Speed Your Love To Me' could have been left in, but that would have meant two instrumentals, alongside 'Theme For Great Cities'.
Not entirely sure that 'Big Music' is live. Very few close ups of Jim, during that one. He never was the best at lip syncing!! He did explain, beforehand, that it was being filmed for a video clip, so that might explain it (not on the DVD).
Overall, it is a very good package. The DVD and live album are both excellent. We waited over 25 years for a live album, since 'Live In The City Of Light', then get two within a couple of years (5x5 live being the other).
Whether you are a Simple Minds fan, or not, it is well worth having in your collection. 'Let Me See Your Hands!'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On fire & on stage , simple minds live excellence, 3 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celebrate - Live From The SSE Hydro Glasgow (Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
Everything ok? Asks jim Kerr , this is not a band fading out or living on past glories, this is a band on fire & in peak form.
The sound is superb, the visuals are outstanding, a must have for all fans of the minds you will not be disappointed .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nearly 40 years of Magic ., 24 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Celebrate - Live From The SSE Hydro Glasgow (Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
I WAS absolutely delighted when I got it and of course , as usual I unpacked it slowly and I immediately knew I was listening to something both rare and unexpected . Simple Minds , " This is it " .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I went to the celebrate tour in Wolverhampton and thought they are great live. Simple Minds alter the songs they sing ..., 26 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celebrate - Live From The SSE Hydro Glasgow (Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
I am a big Simple Minds fan. I went to the celebrate tour in Wolverhampton and thought they are great live. Simple Minds alter the songs they sing at different gigs so this set at Glasgow is a little different to the show at Wolverhampton. This is Simple Minds own city and you can tell, they put on a great show the sound is very good for a live recording and you are more or less on stage with them. A DVD and a two CD set for the price of a new CD album I think thats a bargin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Let Me See Your Hands...', 28 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celebrate - Live From The SSE Hydro Glasgow (Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
The rebirth of Simple Minds coincided with them embracing their whole back catalogue and unashamedly giving the fans what they want. This is a great gig with great songs, The band are on fine form and the crowd are with them the whole way. I don't think the new material is up to the standards of their previous work and granted I long for the sound of Forbes and McNiell but there was a magic about Simple Minds going back to the days of I Travel, Love Song, Sweat In Bullet, The American, The music for that time was phenomenal, then they went very mystical and imperious with New Gold Dream, before the subtle was replaced by the mainstream rock element, but it was all progression. The point is that all these songs have stood the test of time and sound as fresh today as they did way back when Jim Kerr threw shapes and called it dancing and white baggy trousers were acceptable when tucked into black leather ankle boots!

The one thing on the album that I found irritating but funny was the amount of times Jim Kerr says 'Let Me See Your Hands' kind of wish they had edited a few of those out, but it's a minor thing and i actually find it funny.

Simple Minds kind of lost their way in the late 90's and early noughties but they never stopped being a class act live and this is very much proof of that.

Long may they continue to Shine On
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't You Forget About This!, 4 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celebrate - Live From The SSE Hydro Glasgow (Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
Saw this and thought must have it for the DVD. Features many of the classic tracks and a few not so well known from later albums. DVD is well shot and sound is excellent. Simple Minds continue to tour and produce what the fans want, a well produced live show. Purchase it while you can at the price of £11.99 for 2 CDs and DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 4 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celebrate - Live From The SSE Hydro Glasgow (Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
Fantastic CD you would actually think you were at the hydro...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews