Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful package of live minds
Just short note. Dvd plays fine. It is region free. Just finished watching and it's superb. It isn't full show and would've been nice if it was.
Sound quality is superb on the Cds and Dvd. No surround option though.
They can still cut it for me.
Published 2 months ago by John Kelly

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars average dvd missing to many classics!!!
I would give this 3 stars as I think having seen them since the 80 throught till now they are well past their best. I am a big fan but feel watching bruce springsteen live in hyde park, led zeppelin live 02 and ac/dc live at river plate now they would get 5 stars plus absolutely oustanding dvds a must for any music fan!!!!!!
Published 2 months ago by Andrew J. Mckinley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful package of live minds, 2 Aug 2014
By 
John Kelly (stirlingshire , Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celebrate - Live From The SSE Hydro Glasgow (Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
Just short note. Dvd plays fine. It is region free. Just finished watching and it's superb. It isn't full show and would've been nice if it was.
Sound quality is superb on the Cds and Dvd. No surround option though.
They can still cut it for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't You Forget About This!, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celebrate - Live From The SSE Hydro Glasgow (Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
Saw this and thought must have it for the DVD. Features many of the classic tracks and a few not so well known from later albums. DVD is well shot and sound is excellent. Simple Minds continue to tour and produce what the fans want, a well produced live show. Purchase it while you can at the price of £11.99 for 2 CDs and DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 'Let Me See Your Hands...', 28 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celebrate - Live From The SSE Hydro Glasgow (Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
The rebirth of Simple Minds coincided with them embracing their whole back catalogue and unashamedly giving the fans what they want. This is a great gig with great songs, The band are on fine form and the crowd are with them the whole way. I don't think the new material is up to the standards of their previous work and granted I long for the sound of Forbes and McNiell but there was a magic about Simple Minds going back to the days of I Travel, Love Song, Sweat In Bullet, The American, The music for that time was phenomenal, then they went very mystical and imperious with New Gold Dream, before the subtle was replaced by the mainstream rock element, but it was all progression. The point is that all these songs have stood the test of time and sound as fresh today as they did way back when Jim Kerr threw shapes and called it dancing and white baggy trousers were acceptable when tucked into black leather ankle boots!

The one thing on the album that I found irritating but funny was the amount of times Jim Kerr says 'Let Me See Your Hands' kind of wish they had edited a few of those out, but it's a minor thing and i actually find it funny.

Simple Minds kind of lost their way in the late 90's and early noughties but they never stopped being a class act live and this is very much proof of that.

Long may they continue to Shine On
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, but..., 6 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celebrate - Live From The SSE Hydro Glasgow (Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
I had been waiting for a very long time for this - the next (and long overdue) live DVD from SM. I was a little disappointed that it was an edit of the whole set list, and surprised that the full set was relatively short compared to previous SM concerts that I have been to. My other grumble is that someone decided to use the inferior NTSC format instead of PAL. Don't get me wrong it's a fantastic gig and I love every minute of it. In my opinion, it would have been far better to produce a higher quality DVD and have the CDs as the bonus. If the Blu-Ray version had the CDs then I'd have chosen that instead. This is a great purchase for any SM fan, so please don't let me put you off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I went to the celebrate tour in Wolverhampton and thought they are great live. Simple Minds alter the songs they sing ..., 26 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celebrate - Live From The SSE Hydro Glasgow (Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
I am a big Simple Minds fan. I went to the celebrate tour in Wolverhampton and thought they are great live. Simple Minds alter the songs they sing at different gigs so this set at Glasgow is a little different to the show at Wolverhampton. This is Simple Minds own city and you can tell, they put on a great show the sound is very good for a live recording and you are more or less on stage with them. A DVD and a two CD set for the price of a new CD album I think thats a bargin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 29 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celebrate - Live From The SSE Hydro Glasgow (Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
Simple Minds were and still are outstanding,this DVD just confirms that,a must have to any fan or music lovers,It's a lot better than there only other live DVD from the 90s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars review, 29 Aug 2014
By 
Finbarr Smyth "macfisto" (eire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celebrate - Live From The SSE Hydro Glasgow (Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
Great package excellent sound quality dvd to short also missing some more songs but overall well worth it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure enjoyment. Thank, 6 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celebrate - Live From The SSE Hydro Glasgow (Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
Pleasantly surprised to have item delivered on the Sunday and non stop playing.Pure enjoyment.Thank You
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still got it!, 1 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celebrate - Live From The SSE Hydro Glasgow (Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
Reminded me just how great Simple Minds are live. Must go get tickets for their tour next year now :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Concert - However DVD is in NTSC format and ..., 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celebrate - Live From The SSE Hydro Glasgow (Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
Great Concert - However DVD is in NTSC format and will not play on my Region 2 UK DVD Player
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews