Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Let Me See Your Hands...'
The rebirth of Simple Minds coincided with them embracing their whole back catalogue and unashamedly giving the fans what they want. This is a great gig with great songs, The band are on fine form and the crowd are with them the whole way. I don't think the new material is up to the standards of their previous work and granted I long for the sound of Forbes and McNiell...
Published 5 months ago by In Bloom

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ... a pity that what we have here is a wasted opportunity. They filmed & recorded the full show
Such a pity that what we have here is a wasted opportunity. They filmed & recorded the full show, so why do we only get a snippet?

Reminds me of the 80s BBC in concert series that got a video (VHS for American friends) commercial release, Spandau Ballet Over Britain springs to mind, which when get a dvd release give us just the same old edit instead of the...
Published 2 months ago by baddestdbadestdba


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Let Me See Your Hands...', 28 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celebrate - Live From The SSE Hydro Glasgow (Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
The rebirth of Simple Minds coincided with them embracing their whole back catalogue and unashamedly giving the fans what they want. This is a great gig with great songs, The band are on fine form and the crowd are with them the whole way. I don't think the new material is up to the standards of their previous work and granted I long for the sound of Forbes and McNiell but there was a magic about Simple Minds going back to the days of I Travel, Love Song, Sweat In Bullet, The American, The music for that time was phenomenal, then they went very mystical and imperious with New Gold Dream, before the subtle was replaced by the mainstream rock element, but it was all progression. The point is that all these songs have stood the test of time and sound as fresh today as they did way back when Jim Kerr threw shapes and called it dancing and white baggy trousers were acceptable when tucked into black leather ankle boots!

The one thing on the album that I found irritating but funny was the amount of times Jim Kerr says 'Let Me See Your Hands' kind of wish they had edited a few of those out, but it's a minor thing and i actually find it funny.

Simple Minds kind of lost their way in the late 90's and early noughties but they never stopped being a class act live and this is very much proof of that.

Long may they continue to Shine On
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful package of live minds, 2 Aug. 2014
By 
John Kelly (stirlingshire , Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celebrate - Live From The SSE Hydro Glasgow (Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
Just short note. Dvd plays fine. It is region free. Just finished watching and it's superb. It isn't full show and would've been nice if it was.
Sound quality is superb on the Cds and Dvd. No surround option though.
They can still cut it for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't You Forget About This!, 4 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celebrate - Live From The SSE Hydro Glasgow (Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
Saw this and thought must have it for the DVD. Features many of the classic tracks and a few not so well known from later albums. DVD is well shot and sound is excellent. Simple Minds continue to tour and produce what the fans want, a well produced live show. Purchase it while you can at the price of £11.99 for 2 CDs and DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hey Bono,this is how you age with Class,Grace,QUALITY & Skill!, 20 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celebrate - Live From The SSE Hydro Glasgow (Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
Cards on the table;Simple Minds were always my 2nd favourite band,back in the day,2nd to certain Irish band(God,If I only knew then,what I know now,yep,I got that wrong,big style!!!) & I lost touch with Jim & the lads around the time of Hypnotised & She's a River.When I saw this package came with a live concert DVD,I had to have it,as I always felt 'Live in the City of Light' footage,was'nt the very best representation of this great band,just my view.This however is a total revelation.The picture & sound quality is supreme,the crowd are 'well up for it' too.MOST of the hits are here,& most fans will be happy,however Belfast Child is not on here,odd as it remains the Band's only U.K. no.1.Personally,I would've liked more tunes off Sparkle in the Rain,the inclusion of 'All the Things she said 'is to me a mistake,never liked it,hey-ho that's just me! The band for most part are super,but on a couple of Charlie's solos( See the Light & Sanctify) there seems to be a bit of a feedback/noise interference maybe, & Sarah Brown's microphone needs to be louder at times,but these are uber,minor quibbles.Highlights;virtually all of it,but Someone,Somewhere...... is sensational.Incredible stuff.This isn't just a hits compilation,early stuff such as Love Song,I Travel & The American are all here as well as Most of all the chart hits from the 80's & early 90's.To conclude,this is incredible stuff,mature arena pop/rock nostalgic maybe,but definitely an essential purchase if these lads did it for you,back then.Once you've watched this,your copy of U2 360 tour,will now be totally redundant,just as U2 ARE these days.Simple Minds = Simply Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not The Full Show, But Excellent Package, 30 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celebrate - Live From The SSE Hydro Glasgow (Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
OK, it's not the whole gig, but it was a Greatest Hits tour after all. Having been at this gig, I don't think that the songs which have been edited out, take anything away from the DVD. I have never, personally, heard a decent live version of 'Once Upon A Time', so not missing that one. 'Hunter And The Hunted' and 'This Fear Of Gods', don't fall into the Greatest Hits category, so from a record company point of view, I can understand why they were omitted. Why they played the dreary 'Let It All Come Down', when 'Belfast Child' would have been a far better option, I'll never understand. Their only U.K. number one, and it's left out of a Greatest Hits show! The electro version of 'Speed Your Love To Me' could have been left in, but that would have meant two instrumentals, alongside 'Theme For Great Cities'.
Not entirely sure that 'Big Music' is live. Very few close ups of Jim, during that one. He never was the best at lip syncing!! He did explain, beforehand, that it was being filmed for a video clip, so that might explain it (not on the DVD).
Overall, it is a very good package. The DVD and live album are both excellent. We waited over 25 years for a live album, since 'Live In The City Of Light', then get two within a couple of years (5x5 live being the other).
Whether you are a Simple Minds fan, or not, it is well worth having in your collection. 'Let Me See Your Hands!'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On fire & on stage , simple minds live excellence, 3 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celebrate - Live From The SSE Hydro Glasgow (Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
Everything ok? Asks jim Kerr , this is not a band fading out or living on past glories, this is a band on fire & in peak form.
The sound is superb, the visuals are outstanding, a must have for all fans of the minds you will not be disappointed .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nearly 40 years of Magic ., 24 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Celebrate - Live From The SSE Hydro Glasgow (Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
I WAS absolutely delighted when I got it and of course , as usual I unpacked it slowly and I immediately knew I was listening to something both rare and unexpected . Simple Minds , " This is it " .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ... a pity that what we have here is a wasted opportunity. They filmed & recorded the full show, 15 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Celebrate - Live From The SSE Hydro Glasgow (Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
Such a pity that what we have here is a wasted opportunity. They filmed & recorded the full show, so why do we only get a snippet?

Reminds me of the 80s BBC in concert series that got a video (VHS for American friends) commercial release, Spandau Ballet Over Britain springs to mind, which when get a dvd release give us just the same old edit instead of the whole concert which had to have been filmed before it got edited down to run in the time allotted for the particular tv slot.

Sorry guys, please do a proper job next time. Especially when recycling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I went to the celebrate tour in Wolverhampton and thought they are great live. Simple Minds alter the songs they sing ..., 26 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celebrate - Live From The SSE Hydro Glasgow (Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
I am a big Simple Minds fan. I went to the celebrate tour in Wolverhampton and thought they are great live. Simple Minds alter the songs they sing at different gigs so this set at Glasgow is a little different to the show at Wolverhampton. This is Simple Minds own city and you can tell, they put on a great show the sound is very good for a live recording and you are more or less on stage with them. A DVD and a two CD set for the price of a new CD album I think thats a bargin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 4 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celebrate - Live From The SSE Hydro Glasgow (Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
Fantastic CD you would actually think you were at the hydro...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews