Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE MOST DANGEROUS PLACE ON EARTH
After watching some really bad war films, you know, the ones with Eric Roberts in them, I was relieved to watch this film and perhaps over rated it by comparison.

The film opens up questioning our cause in Afghanistan, a person who wants to do something to change the world, and ends with a positive answer. After a Marine Sargent gets his leg shot off, Corporal...
Published 4 months ago by The Movie Guy

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not half bad!
I must admit I was pleasantly surprised by this movie. Whilst it shamelessly promotes itself as 'Jarhead 2', it offers absolutely no similarities to the original Jarhead. This is a medium budget fast paced action movie as opposed to the Jake Gyllenhall high budget, slow burning 'effects of war on humanity' feature that you may or may not have seen.

With more...
Published 3 months ago by patrick


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not half bad!, 15 Sep 2014
By 
patrick (Herefordshire) - See all my reviews
I must admit I was pleasantly surprised by this movie. Whilst it shamelessly promotes itself as 'Jarhead 2', it offers absolutely no similarities to the original Jarhead. This is a medium budget fast paced action movie as opposed to the Jake Gyllenhall high budget, slow burning 'effects of war on humanity' feature that you may or may not have seen.

With more and more war movies centered around the effects of war on human beings, it is refreshing to watch a war film with actual combat. Despite being a little far fetched and over the top, Field of Fire does offer some mindless entertainment, with acting no better or no worse than many of the bigger budget blockbusters.

Settings were a touch un-authentic, and it seems fairly clear that there wasn't a single scene that was filmed in the Middle East.

Worth a watch if your fed up of all these 'intelligent' war movies that bore you to sleep, however, don't expect an epiphany.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ‘Part 2’ in name only, 18 Oct 2014
By 
Albatross "Never argue with idiots" (Suburbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Jarhead 2 - Field of Fire (DVD)
I enjoyed the first ‘Jarhead’ film and was curious as to what any ‘sequel’ would be like. However, at least I kept my expectations low as I knew this was not produced by the same cast or crew as the first, plus part II was released straight-to-DVD, so, how good could it be?

The answer... quite good actually, but only as a generic war film, rather than a sequel.

Okay, so occasionally the film mimics the original in style (think captions, mainly near the beginning) and it uses the term ‘jarhead’ a couple of times, but that’s about it. In fact... I’m running out of other things that link the two films.

So, the best thing to do is basically just ignore everything you know about the first movie and go with what’s on offer. And, what’s on offer is a war movie set in modern Afghanistan. A small team of marines (or ‘jarheads’ to be precise) are on a routine mission, only to find themselves forced to protect an important female local as she travels across arguably one of the most dangerous regions in the world.

Bottom line: if you like war films, you’ll probably enjoy this. It’s actually got a half reasonable budget and doesn’t feel too much like a straight-to-DVD movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE MOST DANGEROUS PLACE ON EARTH, 10 Aug 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
After watching some really bad war films, you know, the ones with Eric Roberts in them, I was relieved to watch this film and perhaps over rated it by comparison.

The film opens up questioning our cause in Afghanistan, a person who wants to do something to change the world, and ends with a positive answer. After a Marine Sargent gets his leg shot off, Corporal Merrimette (Josh Kelly) is given a field promotion and has to take much needed supplies to a unit and cross through Taliban territory. He reluctantly accepts the position having a pregnant wife at home and no desire to re-enlist. In fact his commander (Stephen Lang) asked him if he had submitted his letter of resignation yet, which caught me off guard, because having been in the service, enlisted people did not submit letters of resignation, only officers.

They take a truck convey, because an air drop would have made the film too short and besides there is a dust storm that we never see. Along the way, they run into difficulty causing Merimette to make those "world changing" decisions.

The characters are introduced by name, rank, and place of origin. Character build up happens with the fun military banter, which normally concerns sex and me having to Google "Queen Christina." Seriously? The acting was fair, the plot needed tightening up. For instance, one time when they were on foot they killed some Taliban with vehicles, but opted to proceed on foot. Not the decision I would have made, but then again I was never a Hollywood Marine.

Parental Guide: F-bomb. No sex. Early gratuitous male nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sit down with a can of Bud and watch it nothing else is on, 8 Nov 2014
This review is from: Jarhead 2 - Field of Fire (DVD)
I just watched this film and it was not as good as I expected, don't get me wrong it did have plenty of shots fired and what you would expect from this type of movie. I would say watch it if nothing else is on, but there are better movies out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MOVING WAR STORY AND ALSO VERY GRIPPING, 26 Oct 2014
This review is from: Jarhead 2 - Field of Fire (DVD)
Excellent film portraying in my eyes a truthful look at just how good marines are and how they fight
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 29 Oct 2014
This review is from: Jarhead 2 - Field of Fire (DVD)
Kept me entertained, why it's named Jarhead 2 I have no idea - movie in its own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good action, 6 Oct 2014
By 
W. C. Chelton (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good action film nothing to do with the first jarhead film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good return, 8 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great film though not the energy and storyline of the first
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 30 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not a great film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dont bother, 28 Oct 2014
I enjoyed the first ‘Jarhead’ film and was curious as to what any ‘sequel’ would be like. However, at least I kept my expectations low as I knew this was not produced by the same cast or crew as the first, plus part II was released straight-to-DVD, so, how good could it be?
it was rubbish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jarhead 2: Field of Fire [Blu-ray]
Jarhead 2: Field of Fire [Blu-ray] by Josh Kelly (Blu-ray - 2014)
£8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews