Customer Reviews


162 Reviews
5 star:
 (127)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gift for my mother in law who is an ex-teacher from Yorkshire
She is going to love this stocking stuffer. I bought this on the strength of the TV interview with the author. Great shipping and packing from Amazon as usual.
Published 16 months ago by Gillian Jordan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy Reading
I really enjoyed this book especially with the Yorkshire connections.
It was very easy reading though and you cna get through it very quickly.
Published 9 months ago by great


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gift for my mother in law who is an ex-teacher from Yorkshire, 14 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
She is going to love this stocking stuffer. I bought this on the strength of the TV interview with the author. Great shipping and packing from Amazon as usual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read but no Challenges, 9 Dec. 2014
This is the third in the light series concerning the village of Barton-in-the-Dale centering around the little village school. The school merger is in the planning stages with meetings and dignitaries galore. There are marriages in the offing and will a new housing estate be built?
This is a light book which is easy to read. It is an ideal book if you want to put it down quite often as the thread is easy to keep track of. The characters have distinct personalities but they are slightly setereotypical - a grumpy caretaker, a gossipy owner of the post office.....characters which have been frequently seen before in books of this type. There aren't really any big surprises in this book making it quite comforting to read. However, there are no real challenges either.
My biggest gripe with this book was the constant explanations of previous events. Each time a character or event occurred for the first time we were treated to a synopsis of their involvement and significance in the previous books of the series. I found that this interrupted the flow of the story and found it quite patronising. Why not have a few pages at the beginning of the book summarising the previous two books which the reader can choose to read or not as they wish? This would serve as a refresher for those who wanted it without interrupting the flow of the story.
I do wonder where the author is going with this series. There were quite a few similar events to the previous books which if repeated again would be too much. Perhaps a significant influx of new characters when the 2 schools merger will stop the series going stale.
This was a light, mildly amusing book which flowed well and was easy to read. It is ideal for a quick comforting read but didn't present any surprises or challenges.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The School Inspector Calls!, 20 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed following the next instalment of the series. I do hope there are going to be more, because I am itching to find out what happens next. I certainly recognised the children. I would recommend this book.
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER EXCELLENT READ, 23 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This author has a way of putting over things that have happened in the form of an amusing story. I get Phinn's books as soon as they are published. It is difficult to put it down until you have finished it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of humour and written in a very easy to read style, 27 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Characters spring to life throughout the novel which make the novel a superb read for relaxation purposes. It also has short chunky paragraphs which facilitate picking up and putting down read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 26 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having worked as a teacher for 30 years, Phinns words made me laugh and cry. They reminded me of the best things about children,
this I am very grateful for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy read, 25 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written story, of village school life, I enjoy this lovely easy read , the characters are great, the writer makes you feel par to the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yes this is easy an easy read, 23 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of these books that is easy to pickup funny . Yes I enjoyed this book will get the rest .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Phinn as always, a reliable enjoyable book, 27 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gervase Phinn knows his subject and characters well. His novels are predictably enjoyable, it is very easy to feel that you live in the village and the people living there are your neighbours. His books are written with genuine affection for all within. Not for Mr. Phinn the shocking tales of murder and cruelty that would seem to be the norm with most novels these days, I never have to worry when turning a page that something dreadful is about to happen to some poor child, instead gentle stories of everyday people their successes and failures all treated with a real spark of reality and humour. I smiled quietly and laughed out loud and felt sad to finish the book and leave all these people till another day. As you will now realise, I am a huge fan, although Scottish living in Scotland, love Yorkshire and especially the Dales, so can place myself in his locacations as I open one of his books and have read them all. So if you are, as I am, tired of hearing and reading of all the awful things that happen in this increasingly troubled world we live in and long for gentler ways, any Gervase Phinn book should give you hours of pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gift which I want to read myself, 18 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A colourful inviting cover, tempting an immediate read.
Will be requesting a loan after Christmas - roll on the new year
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews