Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite low budget movies.
I've loved this film since the first time I saw it almost 20 years ago.
It grabbed me right from the start when the superb theme tune by The Dickies kicked in. The clowns themselves are suitably menacing, they look like badly filled fancy dress costumes gone wild but when they show their teeth it's time to watch out. The line "they were travelling through outer space...
Published on 11 Oct 2008 by I. R. Kerr

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars We Have Come For Your Children...
The Chiodo Brothers (Stephen, Charles and Edward) are legends of the makeup and Animatronics fields - From the base '80s-ness of "Critters" to the low-brow satire that is "Team America : World Police" they have reigned supreme in this department, giving even Screaming Mad George a slight run for his money. But why give them a movie of their very own? Surely that would be...
Published on 27 Sep 2008 by Brady Orme


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars KIller Klowns LOL!, 2 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Do not take this film seriously and you have a very funny and very entertaining comedy horror about clowns that land in a bid tent to capture humans in kiler cotton candy or balloons and feed on them!

YOu have all the classic clown gags - such as custard pies, puppet shows, several big clowns coming out from a small car etc... but with an evil twist.

The acting as many reviewers have said is appalling except Officer Mooney who is hilarious with his attitude to 'yoofs'!

There was only a trailer as an extra. Thats a shame as it would have been nice to hear a commentary or watch a featurette on the making of this film. I am surprised a sequel was not made but maybe Hollywood will remake it like every other film these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Guilty Pleasure, 22 Aug 2010
By 
P. A. Gallagher (Glasgow UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It's riddled with cliches that were old before the 50's ended. The comic relief characters and situations are excruciatingly unfunny. The acting is uniformly awful (this despite the presence of veteran character thesps John Vernon and Royal Dano). The special effects range from low budget to no budget...

...but for its sheer inventiveness and macabre sense of humour this 80's absurdity deserves its "so bad it's good" cult classic status. Back in the day it had me with its spoof Alien tagline "In space no one can eat ice cream".

If you're of a strong disposition I'd recommend pairing it up with 'Howard the Duck' for an 80's Creature Feature double bill that's as painful as a mullet, but not as public.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't push the big red button!, 17 Jun 2009
Schlocky B-Movie, badly dubbed, but absolutely hilarious in its tackiness.

After a meteor lands in a small town, an amourous young couple discover that it is actually a crashed spaceship in the shape of a big red glowing circus tent. Huge, puffed-up and grotesque, the ships crew of 'Klowns' look like twisted Teletubbies, but rather than interact with the humans they simply want to kill them, using gaudy laser guns that turn their victims into bloody candyfloss.

With a raucous soundtrack, vacuous performances, and rubbish costumes, this should have been awful. However, it was pretty funny and utterly tongue in cheek.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ridiculous, dumb, stupid...yet it's great!, 3 Jun 2004
By 
Chris Hall "DLS Reviews" (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
You know the score with this film just by reading the title. Yep, it's as good as it sounds. We're talking about a stupid comedy horror that has absolutly no intension of carrying a respectable plot or even of carrying off some half descent acting. What it does do though, is amuse you throughout the whole film with the cheesy script and 'super-scary' clowns!!!! We really need more of these films made. I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars oldie but goodie, 4 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Oh no it's on Blu-ray! This is my husband's all time favourite film, he makes me watch it at least twice a year, he forced me preorder it as soon as it was available. :o)
I love horror and this is an oldie but a goodie, the clowns are creepy even now and although made in the 80s there's still something chilling about it.
that said, i keep hearing rumours about killer clowns 2...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Greet Low Budget Horror Movie, 5 Oct 2007
By 
M. A. Ramos (Florida USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It plays like a typical late 50's sci-fi film. Teenage couple explores strange falling star. Old man gets to it first, and becomes the first victim of the alien terror. Teenagers try to make the authorities believe them. Eventually, the police come around, but of course, not until after much damage has already been done.

The alien spacecraft resembles a gigantic circus tent. Which is fitting since the aliens are Killer Klowns. These Klowns go on a hunt through a quiet little town, killing people as they find them and preserving their bodies in giant cotton candy cocoons. They use balloon animals, popcorn shooters, and even shadow puppets as weapons of death. The special effects and art design are actually quite good for such a low budget film. And the Klowns have to be one of cheesy science fiction's greatest creations: big, ugly, and grotesque, with wide grinning mouths, sharp teeth, and devilish eyes.

Now it is true that the acting is mediocre, but I felt it actually enhanced the enjoyment of the film. This film deserves the cult following over it has earned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You'll love it or hate it, 6 April 2000
By A Customer
I loved it - despite the hammy special effects, the odd camera wobble and the one joke plot! It is definitely a "beer and pizza with a couple of mates" film. If you don't enjoy the film close your eyes and enjoy the soundtrack - the Dickies theme tune is the best. You'll never look at a circus the same way again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An old classic, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a film from the 80's that will always be in my mind, whilst several of my friends did highly criticise and despite this movie, I adore it. An incredibly surreal and stupid account of aliens that look like Klowns that have landed on this planet to harvest humans in a Candy Floss looking cell, is stupidly FUNNY....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sequel Please!, 3 Feb 2009
Anybody who says all the best B-movies came from the fifties obviously hasn't seen this little gem. It really is an admirable piece of film making which is very clever and inventive. It is reminiscent in someways of The Blob (50s version)in that a teenage couple witness a "comet" fall from the sky and then spend the movie running around trying to get people to believe them. However, this is far more "tongue in cheek" than most movies in its genre and could almost be passed as a black comedy rather than a horror.

The movie isn't particularly scary, although I do remember finding it very freaky when I was younger. People who have a phobia of clowns should probably stay away from this movie though, because as the title suggests they are the stars of the show. It is worth watching for the inventive and amusing ways in which the Klowns kill and cocoon their victims alone. But as it happens the film also has a lot more to offer as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Popcorn Shotgun!, 30 Sep 2011
"YOUR IN MOONEYS JAIL NOW!"

JUST BUY IT! - IT'S HILARIOUS
What you get:

.ALIEN KLOWNS INVADE SMALL TOWN
.BALLOON ANIMAL DOGS THAT COME TO LIFE & CHASE PEOPLE!
.ACID PIES IN THE FACE THAT MELT PEOPLE
.SHADOW PUPPETTS THAT KILL
.KILLER PUNCH & JUDY SHOWS
.DOUBLE SECRET PROBATION!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Killer Klowns From Outer Space SteelBook [Dual Format Blu-ray + DVD]
£24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews