Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars remo- good old fashioned adventure
had seen Remo in the 80's when it originally came out. I remembered it as good old fashioned adventure, as I watched it I remembered the plot, no swearing or sex scenes or graphic gore, wholesome yet gutsy, the whole family enjoyed it (including our 20 year old son who is used to the movies of today,blood and gore etc.) One for all the family really.
Published on 13 Oct 2009 by J. Humphreys

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could've been great...and it comes close
It has the dark humour of the Destroyer books and the script really nails the Chiun character. The plot involving a dodgy arms manufacturer is fine and there are some nice touches such as the fight on top of the Statue of Liberty. As an origins tale it works well with the training segments providing much of the humour. Given the subject matter, the movie could've been jam...
Published 16 months ago by Mr. S. Storey


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 24 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. E. Bray (North-west United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an amusing 'karate' send-up film, where a tired old American cop is recruited to quietly bump off all the bad guys who cannot be touched by the law. Plenty of action, shooting, explosions, and silly comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars remo williams dvd, 19 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
oldie but goodie. this film so well worth a watch with the 2 main characters really making the film thoroughly enjoyable, especially with a shared box of maltesers...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Reunion with an old friend, 3 May 2012
By 
John G Coulson (Wellington, Wellington, NZ) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I watched this movie in the video days and enjoyed the time, even read some of the books when I was even younger.
Its got a hero, a master and a girl (who went onto Star Trek)...everything for a great couple of hours entertatinment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not a classic, but lots of fun., 25 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Forget the plot; its by the numbers. The true joy in this movie is the performance of an almost unrecognisable Joel Grey as Chiun, master of the martial art "Sinanju" and fan of daytime soap operas. The bulk of the movie centres on Chiun's training of Remo Williams (Fred Ward), recruited by "The Emperor" Smith (Wilford Brimley) to fix a failing justice system and become the eleventh commandment..."Thou shalt not get away with it". Switch your brain off and enjoy.

"Chiun, you're incredible!"
"No. I am better than that."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Underrated and why?, 15 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"Underrated and why?" reads the title for my review of this film while the beginning would clearly be a cause for discomfort featuring an often overlooked casting of Fred Ward but as a reborn Remo makes his debut, the whole film is set for some hilarious and hair-raising action, martial art and stunt scenes thanks to the efforts of former James Bond director Guy Hamilton. Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Remo, 23 July 2011
By 
J. F. Naylor (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Originally entitled in the UK as "Remo Unarmed and Dangerous" 1.56 mins running time, a pure pleasure to watch a film with a little comedy and good action stunts. Great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Glad to be able to add this to my collection, 8 April 2011
Just as remembered when it first came out. Well worth the price.

Great delivery from amazon as usual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Adventure Begins, 3 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have always been a fan of this movie since I first saw it back on TV around 1989/1990 & although the leading man is no hunk like Tom Cruise or Mel Gibson (in their 80's heyday of which this movie was released circa 1985), Fred Ward more than holds his own. Both he & Joel Grey who plays Chiun, the recluse korean & master of Sinaju are what hold this film together. The chemistry between them is very good & you can buy into, I really found it amusing when he is training Remo (Ward) & the interplay between these two characters-they bounce of each other really well. If it was anybody else it might not work so well, as this film when you look at it in comparison to todays blockbuster is pretty tame & very formulaic. The story is actually wafer thin (I am not sure if director's cut or extended edition would every be released) as this is largely forgotten film that flopped at the box office because the studio didn't know how to market it properly. But if you pay attention to the bullet dodging sequences that are employed by the hero, you realise it was actually a precursor to The Matrix the Wachoskis just developed & made it better. There was potential for this film, as it was based on a long running american novel series (which is still running today, which I not too familiar with but am interested in reading, but sadly the opportunity was squandered. This was supposed to be a franchise like the Bond series (it was even directed by former Bond alumni Guy Hamilton who did the classic Goldfinger)but this was an origins tale & really needed a sequel to flesh the story & characters out more but alas this didn't happen. But the film has some really good moments of humour & action my favourite is the fight between Remo & the bad guys atop the statue of liberty,it is just priceless & showcases the film at it's best. I brought this fullscreen version on region 1 a couple years ago but have always wanted a widescreen version (of which I recently purchased from amazon at a resonable low price). But the menu is crappily presented on the Widescreen version with symbols replacing the letter version (they should have just copied the region 1 menu as everything is the same aside from the Widescreen ratio). This film is ripe for a remake & I think given the technology availiable today & in the hands of competent you would have the makings of a great action film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 9 Jan 2010
By 
C. J. Vallucci (england ( liverpool )) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
was great could not get the film anywhere thanks great stuff brand new perfect quick too thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 80's action & adventure, 23 Sep 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What was to be the start of a series that never came to.

Nice wide screen copy. It's a fun movie, that you can just enjoy. Shows it's age & no doubt that things sure have moved on with effects.

But sit back, switch off your mind & enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Remo Williams: The Adventure Begins... [Blu-ray]
Remo Williams: The Adventure Begins... [Blu-ray] by Guy Hamilton (Blu-ray - 2014)
13.71
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews