Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Covers each era but has a few artists I'd never heard of until now - but all makes for a great playlist!
Cracking hip-hop retrospective, from the legend that is. Covers each era but has a few artists I'd never heard of until now - but all makes for a great playlist!
Published 28 days ago by damo135

versus
7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great for newbies but not for collectors
Close, so close... but not quite.
Got really excited when I saw this advertised on TV last night. Sure the track listing is epic, on paper the concept is bang-on. However, look at the running times of the tracks. While this is a fantastic intro for newbies and youngsters into the whole retro thing, us of a certain age who grew up on 12" vinyl mixes in clubs and...
Published 27 days ago by Trim


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Covers each era but has a few artists I'd never heard of until now - but all makes for a great playlist!, 18 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Grandmaster Flash Collection (Audio CD)
Cracking hip-hop retrospective, from the legend that is. Covers each era but has a few artists I'd never heard of until now - but all makes for a great playlist!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good CD's and good value for money..., 18 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Grandmaster Flash Collection (Audio CD)
Listened to the album today, mix CD is really good and the 3 other CD's have all the great Hip Hop tracks and also some I've never heard off. Overall very good value for money and
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 10 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Grandmaster Flash Collection (Audio CD)
The original & still the best old skool music. Just wish there was more tracks from Grandmaster Flash
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Grandmaster Flash Collection (Audio CD)
Awesome CD which has introduced me to some top tunes I've never even heard before!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such a fantastic album, full of hip hop classics, 18 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Grandmaster Flash Collection (Audio CD)
Such a fantastic album, full of hip hop classics. The scratch CD is an added bonus too. Grandmaster Flash is the legend that pioneered turntablism. Love this record, every track's a floor filler!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Grandmaster Flash Collection (Audio CD)
Fabulous for all hip hop lovers. A must! Grandmaster flash should be proud!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great for newbies but not for collectors, 19 Aug 2014
Close, so close... but not quite.
Got really excited when I saw this advertised on TV last night. Sure the track listing is epic, on paper the concept is bang-on. However, look at the running times of the tracks. While this is a fantastic intro for newbies and youngsters into the whole retro thing, us of a certain age who grew up on 12" vinyl mixes in clubs and pirate radio stations this is just a collection of short commercial radio edits. Some such as The Sugarhill Gang's Rapper's Delight are almost a QUARTER of the length I remember (over 14 minutes on 12").
Having said that, it would have to be a mega 8 CD's to satisfy us collectors, and most of the original 12" mixes are still out there in one format or another.
Hopefully this will spark up enough nostalgia to commission a full length collectors edition ?.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 31 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Grandmaster Flash Collection (Audio CD)
great album although lacking some tracks i hoped would be on here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pure Class, 14 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Classy classic selection from GMF
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's not Flash, 27 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Grandmaster Flash Collection (Audio CD)
I expected more. Don't get me wrong, the track listing is great but it's nothing more than a collection of classics put together in a box set. What did I expect? Some scratching and mixing would be a good start... Flash, the pioneer of a corner-stone of hip-hop hasn't put his signature on it at all - the bonus (4th) CD is a continuous mix but none of the CDs have the what you'd expect from something coming from Flash - no scratching, no samples, no loops, no mixing.

I have most of the track listing already, I bought this box set hoping for it to mixed in and smothered in Flash flavour - overall I'm disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Grandmaster Flash Collection
The Grandmaster Flash Collection by Various (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews