Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great film but a bit short.
My children love Toy Story (if I'm honest so do I!) and this was an absolute must have. As expected, this is a story about Buzz, Woody and the usual suspects getting into mischief. It's a great little film (with emphasis on the little) but I do feel it's overpriced. The actual film is little more than 20 minutes long and although very good and worth the money it really...
Published 11 months ago by M. Acott

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Always Buy Blu
I love the Toy Story films and having given up Sky Movies 18 months ago missed out on seeing this so bit the bullet and bought the imported bluray after much debate. The great news is that it works on UK players (did a lot of checking on web beforehand!) and comes packed with features that you couldn't get with the UK DVD - quite why we keep getting stiffed on releases,...
Published 4 months ago by A Nelson


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great film but a bit short., 13 May 2014
By 
M. Acott - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toy Story of Terror [DVD] (DVD)
My children love Toy Story (if I'm honest so do I!) and this was an absolute must have. As expected, this is a story about Buzz, Woody and the usual suspects getting into mischief. It's a great little film (with emphasis on the little) but I do feel it's overpriced. The actual film is little more than 20 minutes long and although very good and worth the money it really shouldn't be priced at £12 odd (the same as a standard 1h 20m film). I guess it's worth what you are prepared to pay and like I say, the kids loved it but it really should be priced more fairly (around the £5 mark).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Always Buy Blu, 4 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toy Story of Terror [Blu-ray] [2013] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
I love the Toy Story films and having given up Sky Movies 18 months ago missed out on seeing this so bit the bullet and bought the imported bluray after much debate. The great news is that it works on UK players (did a lot of checking on web beforehand!) and comes packed with features that you couldn't get with the UK DVD - quite why we keep getting stiffed on releases, features and box sets while America continue to enjoy superior offerings is beyond me (the 3D bluray Toy Box set being one, and the 3D Shrek set another - do UK marketers have something against combining 3D releases into one box set??) Anyway picture quality, sound etc are everything you would expect from bluray, the sad thing is that the feature - albeit short in length - feels strangely both stretched and rushed at the same time, as well as underdeveloped and repetitive of the feature films that go before it, particularly 2 and to some extent 3. What highlights this even more is that it is surpassed by the three Toy Short Toons included as bonuses. Maybe they should have done more vignettes - along the lines of the Pixar Short Films Collections - and released that instead. Overall a nice enough addition to the Toy Story line, but could have been so much more, and glad that it was up for less than £9 when I bought it, as would've felt really cheated paying much more (I was reluctant anyway, knowing that it was only a 20 minute short, but the array of features and lowered price won me round.) Will wait to see what Time Forgot and Toy Story 4 bring - knowing my luck, probably finally a deluxe UK bluray set! Albeit in 2018!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Woody and friends at the Motel of fear, 19 Feb. 2014
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Toy Story of Terror [DVD] (DVD)
Post the release of Toy Story Three, Pixar have produced occasional short cartoons featuring further adventures for the characters. This dvd contains one of those, a twenty minute long Halloween special first released in Autumn 2013.

When Bonnie and her mother go on a trip, she brings Woody, Buzz, Jessie, Trixie, Rex, Mr. Potato Head and Mr. Pricklepants along. Watching an old horror movie during the journey has a different effect on each of them. And reminds us that Jessie's experiences of being boxed up for years have left her very claustrophobic.

Mr. Pricklepants points out all the clichés and common scenes from horror films.

An overnight stopover in a motel sees the toys exploring, and running into trouble. As something stalks them, they might have to be very brave and think fast if they ever want the see Bonnie again..

Spin offs of this kind will often be done on the cheap with different animation and few or none of the original voice cast. That is thankfully not the case here, as the animation is totally up to standard. And all the original voice actors.

It's perfectly paced at twenty minutes, managing to get in some good character humour, some scary moments [a couple of which might be a bit troubling for very young children] and some very good new characters as well.

All in all, it's perfect Toy Story. And it's a lot of fun.

Do keep watching to the very end of the credits as there are extra scenes going on during them.

The disc has no extras.

English is the only option for languages and subtitles. It doesn't even bring up a set up menu, though, because the disc goes straight into the cartoon once loaded and all the copyright screens have cycled through. So you might have trouble getting subtitles to come on.

The disc has a recommended retail price of £5.00. And it is just a twenty minute long cartoon, nothing more nothing less. But it's a really good twenty minutes of new Toy Story material. So I think it's worth five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as long as i would have liked, 23 April 2014
By 
Mark Jones "Bigguyuk" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toy Story of Terror [DVD] (DVD)
OK, so who doesn't miss woody and buzz and all the rest (well they are not all in this one), and despite being a bit short, it still reminds me of how much I loved the Toy Story films, and am yearning for a fourth proper film.... please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars when it was first released i expected it to be just a tv special with actors and actresses that only sounded like the original c, 14 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toy Story of Terror [DVD] (DVD)
Unexpected sums up toy story of terror very well, when it was first released i expected it to be just a tv special with actors and actresses that only sounded like the original characters however much to my surprise i later found out it included the original voice actors including most of the newer characters from the third film too. It was nice to see a little more of Bonnie in action too. There is no way for me to really describe without giving away too much so i'll simply say its great for toy story fans you'll laugh and at the end you'll wish there was more. Its very heartwarming to see the characters again, however I wish it were more of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short Film!, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toy Story of Terror [DVD] (DVD)
Good story, kids enjoyed it but shorter than I thought ....not worth the nearly ten pounds I paid. Felt a little cheated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great short film - Daughter (who loves Jessie) loves it, 15 Feb. 2015
By 
Mr. James D. Richardson "namfreak" (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toy Story of Terror [DVD] (DVD)
Great short film - Daughter (who loves Jessie) loves it! Very cleverly crafted story, with favourite old characters and some great new ones (I like "Combat Carl"!)

As other reviewers have said, its a bit of a rip off for a 20 minute short film, but I suppose what you are paying for is the cost of the disc and the case - not the duration of the content!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Short but powerful!, 25 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Toy Story of Terror [DVD] (DVD)
This film is perfect! its not too long so that it includes too much detail and its not too short that it hardly tells you anything about whats happening. I can watch this DVD whenever I want cause I simply don't have to worry about the time! Great film and I definetly reccomend it to toy story lovers who sometimes need something short to do/watch inbetween things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The trials of the gang as the mystery deepens., 5 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toy Story of Terror [Blu-ray] [2013] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
A twenty minute plus adventure of the gang narrated as a horror story as they get separated from their new owner undergoing many trials and tribulations and an unscrupulous man attempts to sell them on the internet for large sums. Accompanied by three shorts to flesh out the disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great little short from Pixar, 18 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toy Story of Terror [DVD] (DVD)
I love this little Toy Story short! Bought from my Toy Story obsessed boyfriend as a Christmas stocking filler and it went down really well. Fun for any age range and especially nice to watch at Halloween! The item arrived promptly and was well packaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews