Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great figure but not perfect.
The "Star Wars 'The Black Series' 6-inch Figure: #09 Storm Trooper" is a great looking figure. The articulation is great although the shoulders and upper legs suffer greatly due to the armour, however one would assume a real Stormtrooper would also suffer from the hindrance of armour. I especially like the head articulation it has a double joint neck/head allowing...
Published 1 month ago by SwordSwingin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't live up to the hype
Big Star Wars fan and I also like collectable figures so I thought I'd try this out as I'd heard good things about the Black Series, but sadly I wasn't that impressed with the Storm Trooper.

The detail was good enough, and although the paint job was adequate it wasn't quite right - slightly off where it needed to be. The figure was quite adjustable, but...
Published 13 days ago by Mike Renshaw


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great figure but not perfect., 6 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars 'The Black Series' 6-inch Figure: #09 Storm Trooper (Toy)
The "Star Wars 'The Black Series' 6-inch Figure: #09 Storm Trooper" is a great looking figure. The articulation is great although the shoulders and upper legs suffer greatly due to the armour, however one would assume a real Stormtrooper would also suffer from the hindrance of armour. I especially like the head articulation it has a double joint neck/head allowing good range of motion. For anyone familiar with Marvel Select figures the articulation from the Star Wars Black Series line is very similar to those with double knee and elbow joints, swivel and pivot wrists and ball joint shoulders and thigh/hip and an "ab crunch" torso. It holds the weapons well I found it helpful to pry the fingers open ever so slightly with my finger nail to get the blaster in hand then the fingers move back gripping well.

Paint application is good but could be better, the white you can't get wrong right? well.. in my opinion the white should be high gloss paint or be covered in a clear coat to make it appear shinier than what it is, it is a little too matte looking for my liking. I bought 2 figures so it isn't a one off. The only discrepancies in paint application on the finer detail is very minimal such as a slight bit of black missing on the helmet front band and the vents slightly off centre (barely noticeable)

Now for the more bothersome issue, in one of the 2 figures I got the left knee was not properly fitted, the peg which connects the knee joint to the thigh was not popped into the hole, this would be a return for most buyers as the leg basically does not work and looks bad. However after buying Marvel Legends figures for a while I know that dipping the leg in hot water for a minute then squeezing the peg into the hole and running under cold water is a simple fix. However I'm sure a lot of buyers would not want to have to do this on a new figure.

This line is great for the size of them usually Star Wars figures are in the 3-4" range, to have Star Wars with this great articulation and detail is great, the only bad things are well as I mentioned the odd lapse in QC and frankly the prices are very steep. Especially if you are looking on certain auction sites. In America these sell for around $20 which is at todays conversion rate £11.88p anything over £20 is steep in my opinion. For the price point I'd like to see high gloss white paint and a stand included at least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the stormtroopers strike back, 12 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars 'The Black Series' 6-inch Figure: #09 Storm Trooper (Toy)
Finally the 6 inch black series stormtrooper for a decent price,i like this figure but wished
hasbro had sculpted a better helmet,i like the stormtroopers from a new hope and empire and the helmets they wore i thought
looked better,this one is more like the return of the jedi version.
The figure comes with two weapons which the stormtrooper holds very well,you can get great poses as the
articulation is very good as well.
I think most star wars fans will love to army build with this stormtrooper and collectors will be glad to eventually
purchase this elusive figure.
A great figure to add to your EMPIRE,and with news that they are returning for episode 7 this
is another reason to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't live up to the hype, 8 Sep 2014
By 
Mike Renshaw (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars 'The Black Series' 6-inch Figure: #09 Storm Trooper (Toy)
Big Star Wars fan and I also like collectable figures so I thought I'd try this out as I'd heard good things about the Black Series, but sadly I wasn't that impressed with the Storm Trooper.

The detail was good enough, and although the paint job was adequate it wasn't quite right - slightly off where it needed to be. The figure was quite adjustable, but difficult to make the gun stay in the hand. I ended up putting the figure back into the box as it frankly looked better in there.

I'll probably not bother with any more as the quality doesn't justify the price.

Recommended only for big Star Wars fans who can overlook some basic quality control issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars on further inspection the overall paint job wasn't great. my first black series figure and also my ..., 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars 'The Black Series' 6-inch Figure: #09 Storm Trooper (Toy)
arrived next day (prime) straight away I noticed that shabby paint work on the utility belt. on further inspection the overall paint job wasn't great. my first black series figure and also my last. Hasbro need to make big improvements on quality. shame NECA didn't have the licence
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars These are the figures you're looking for....., 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars 'The Black Series' 6-inch Figure: #09 Storm Trooper (Toy)
This is a fantastic rendition of the Stormtrooper as seen in 'A New Hope'. Comes complete with two blaster rifles and multi point articulation. This is a must for all collectors of Star Wars related material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... display item but for the price i am well happy., 12 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars 'The Black Series' 6-inch Figure: #09 Storm Trooper (Toy)
Arrived in an ok time but the box was not a keeper it was worn on the edges so this one is now an out of the box display item but for the price i am well happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant product, 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars 'The Black Series' 6-inch Figure: #09 Storm Trooper (Toy)
Awesome piece to the collection really great design and looks amazing and feels strong well worth it to any fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Storming Black!, 31 July 2014
By 
Mr. J. McCormick "MacKosh" (Bootle, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars 'The Black Series' 6-inch Figure: #09 Storm Trooper (Toy)
one of the best sculpts in the series yet, very posable and look great in pairs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 July 2014
By 
Paul Armer (preston lancs) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars 'The Black Series' 6-inch Figure: #09 Storm Trooper (Toy)
fantastic sculpt accessories and posability
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not worth a penny more than 20 quid., 23 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars 'The Black Series' 6-inch Figure: #09 Storm Trooper (Toy)
None of these figures are worth more than 20.00. I bought my stormtrooper from amazon a couple of days ago when it was 18.00. Now its ovet 21.00 and rising. These are nice figures but smaller than NECA and certainly not worth the ridiculous prices everyone is trying to charge. Hold your nerve people. Dont give in to the scalpers, amazon included!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews