Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The book is an easy read to be fair but has some great insight ...
I'm not really usually one for non fiction books or sport books in general but as everton fan (as is the author) thouht would give it a go. Must admit have been very pleasantly surprised. The author follows the 2013/2014 FA Cup through all rounds starting at the preliminary ones all the way to Wembley. Well hopefully he does as I'm about half way through. The book is an...
Published 6 months ago by james houghton

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It was okay. The same bits were repeated at ...
It was okay. The same bits were repeated at times and it was spoiled by name dropping and odd things that show a premier league bias, such as describing Hull City as playing in "orange" rather than amber.
Published 6 months ago by Dave


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The book is an easy read to be fair but has some great insight ..., 16 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Saturday & Sweet F.A (Kindle Edition)
I'm not really usually one for non fiction books or sport books in general but as everton fan (as is the author) thouht would give it a go. Must admit have been very pleasantly surprised. The author follows the 2013/2014 FA Cup through all rounds starting at the preliminary ones all the way to Wembley. Well hopefully he does as I'm about half way through. The book is an easy read to be fair but has some great insight into lower league and semi proffesional teams and grounds, as a premiere league only follower is good to be reminded there is so much more football around the country than finishing in the top 4 and 30 million deadline day transfers.

Also enjoyed there is much more than just writting about each match in the book, the authors personal woes with giving up a good job he disliked so much and trying to become a full time writter and the financial burdens of doing what makes you happy. Along with the weird and wonderful supporters that follow all levels of football any given match day.

Well worth a read and feel bad I downloaded it for free as well worth a few quid at least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An F.A. Cup Winner, 28 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Saturday & Sweet F.A (Kindle Edition)
Absolutely loved Another Saturday & Sweet F.A. for me the F.A. Cup is without doubt the best cup competition in the world, as a non league fan the early rounds are always magical, and sadly overlooked by the television companies, how great and beneficial it would be if the BBC or ITV televised the extra preliminary rounds and so on,
Calvin captures the excitement of the F.A. Cup perfectly, from the acquiring of tickets, early adrenaline fueled morning starts the traveling to away games and the nail biting games wishing your team on through to the next round and then the added nervousness of the next round draw,
Although t's a Footballing journey book, Calvin also writes about his personal life too, sometimes funny, and sometimes not so, with personal difficulties than could have ended his attempt to complete the book, but these personal moments, only add to the Charm, and your really get to like Calvin not only as an author put as a genuine top bloke, who'd you would absolutely share a pint or two with, and that would extend to the people who joined him thought the journey, from his dad, to Alan and Jordan, and Phil, and many more,
Another Saturday & Sweet F.A. could of been a fantastic televised documentary, in the vain of Michael Palin's travel show, and I'd love for Calvin to embark on another footballing venture, he has the likability and charm to become the Michael Palin of the football world,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A heartwarming, fantastic read. A must for football fans., 1 Dec. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well what a book, I have read an awful lot if books about non-league, and this is up there with the best (Mowbray's Route 66, and From Tividale to Wembley amongst the best).
What I like the most about this book is even if you aren't a football fan, it will still be highly enjoyable. The book is about Calvin's trip from the FA cup preliminary round to the final following the winners after each round.
Yes, this has been done before, but what makes this book stand out is his personal life. I really got to like Calvin throughout the journey (not the X-factor type journey though, this one actually means something) and also the friends he meets during the trip, especially the fundraiser Alan. I had a tear in my eye at one point.
Calvin is extremely honest about himself and and sometimes too harsh on himself.
I couldn't put the book down, and wish him well in his writing career, he seems like one of the good guys of the world. (Although he does like one too many exclamation marks!!!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent book for all Football Fans, 5 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Saturday & Sweet F.A (Kindle Edition)
Just finished to book which is an excellent read that any footie fan from Premier league to the lowest tier will enjoy.
It tells Calvin's journey from picking a team in the qualifying rounds of the FA Cup and following the winners of each match until the final.
This is a book that non football fans would probably enjoy too as we learn about the Author , his family, working life, sporting exploits.
The relationship growing with his Father through the journey and the friends he makes on the way is truly uplifting. It is fair to say that you feel better after reading it and I for one would be happy to have him as a friend.
I have downloaded his first book which has also had good reviews and looking forward to another good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Read!, 14 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Saturday & Sweet F.A (Kindle Edition)
I'm becoming quite a big fan of Calvin Wade. His first book "Forever is Over" actually inspired me to write my own book. I enjoyed his second book "Kiss my Name" just as much!

This book obviously is completely different from the other two, them being fiction and this being a semi autobiography style book. However, the style of writing in this is the same as Wades earlier books, his writing style makes it very easy to read, you feel as if he is talking to you directly.

I was looking forward to this book quite a lot, apart from like Wades earlier work, as I mentioned, I too am an Everton fan and I knew that there would be a bit of bias/stories in there towards the Toffees. Having said that, there is a lot more to this book than just football. Wade actually opens himself up to the readers, actually exposing his personal & financial problems that he was suffering during the beginning of writing this. That must have been very difficult to do and was a very bold move. I think that however was a big clincher in this book, I felt within a few chapters that I knew Wade a lot better and I could begin to relate to him a lot. This isn't just an author, this is a real person telling the story, they have the same day to day problems as us.

Alan, who Wade meets on his journey sounds like a great bloke and I hope he achieves everything he wants and more in his fund raising for "The Christie".

Thoroughly enjoyed this, would definitely recommend this to any football fans, I don't usually read non fiction but I enjoyed it a lot. Even if you aren't a massive football fan, you'll most likely enjoy it, as I said earlier there is far more to this book than just football.

Can't wait for the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable and interesting read, 3 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Saturday & Sweet F.A (Kindle Edition)
Whilst this book covers a great journey of one mans FA cup adventure, for me the real joy is how you can relate to Calvin's life experiences along side it. What really shines out is how new friendships are borne, and how football can bring family and people together. For any fan of football and the FA cup it's definitely worth a read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic book about Football family and friends!, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Saturday & Sweet F.A (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed Calvin's FA Cup journey as it is a true story and isn't just about the football. The family and friends aspect makes it a very real and enjoyable feel good story which will appeal to football fans young and old male or female. It is very informative of different players and clubs histories which makes it so interesting. Definitely a five star read!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read!!, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Saturday & Sweet F.A (Kindle Edition)
Very good read from start to finish of the book,
Enjoy the whole story of the FA cup trail from the start to ending up at the Final at Wembley!
Look forward to your next book if the is one in the pipe line!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Saturday & Sweet F.A (Kindle Edition)
fantastic brilliant account of our fa cup journey and of football in general with both league and non league storys covered im glad Calvin chose us to share his journey hes become a good mate and i loved our footie chats with Richie his dad ive read this in 3 days cos im in it and i am biased buy it read it its mint as us mancs say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT READ., 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Saturday & Sweet F.A (Kindle Edition)
What a cracking read really enjoyed this book, great story, and as a watcher of football for nearly 40 years, i can relate to alot of Calvins and the others experieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Another Saturday & Sweet F.A
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews