Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable and interesting read
Whilst this book covers a great journey of one mans FA cup adventure, for me the real joy is how you can relate to Calvin's life experiences along side it. What really shines out is how new friendships are borne, and how football can bring family and people together. For any fan of football and the FA cup it's definitely worth a read
Published 1 month ago by AJ sykes

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
Worth a read as a football fan but not the best
Published 4 days ago by collette dignam


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable and interesting read, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Saturday & Sweet F.A (Kindle Edition)
Whilst this book covers a great journey of one mans FA cup adventure, for me the real joy is how you can relate to Calvin's life experiences along side it. What really shines out is how new friendships are borne, and how football can bring family and people together. For any fan of football and the FA cup it's definitely worth a read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic book about Football family and friends!, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Saturday & Sweet F.A (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed Calvin's FA Cup journey as it is a true story and isn't just about the football. The family and friends aspect makes it a very real and enjoyable feel good story which will appeal to football fans young and old male or female. It is very informative of different players and clubs histories which makes it so interesting. Definitely a five star read!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read!!, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Saturday & Sweet F.A (Kindle Edition)
Very good read from start to finish of the book,
Enjoy the whole story of the FA cup trail from the start to ending up at the Final at Wembley!
Look forward to your next book if the is one in the pipe line!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Saturday & Sweet F.A (Kindle Edition)
fantastic brilliant account of our fa cup journey and of football in general with both league and non league storys covered im glad Calvin chose us to share his journey hes become a good mate and i loved our footie chats with Richie his dad ive read this in 3 days cos im in it and i am biased buy it read it its mint as us mancs say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT READ., 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Saturday & Sweet F.A (Kindle Edition)
What a cracking read really enjoyed this book, great story, and as a watcher of football for nearly 40 years, i can relate to alot of Calvins and the others experieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, from grassroots to the glory of the ..., 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Saturday & Sweet F.A (Kindle Edition)
Great read , from grassroots to the glory of the prem, 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 5 July 2014
By 
Mr. J. R. Allen (Madrid) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Saturday & Sweet F.A (Kindle Edition)
Thoroughly enjoyable journey through the fourteen FA Cup rounds with Calvin, his old man, Alan, Jordan and Phil plus occasional others. After England's hugely disappointing World Cup in Brazil this book reminds you why we love the game. A must read irrespective of who you follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a brilliant read, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Saturday & Sweet F.A (Kindle Edition)
I purchased this book following a recommendation, and was hooked from the very first page to the last. Even though it was written by a bluenose, it had this Liverpool die-hard hooked. It follows the journey from the FA cup qualifying rounds right through to the final, following the team which wins each round. It is not all about football, it discusses family issues, death, financial struggles, and the author comes across as a very decent guy. Please write another football book Calvin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From grass roots to sacred turf, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Saturday & Sweet F.A (Kindle Edition)
If you, like me, read Calvin Wade's first two fictional books, 'Forever is Over' and 'Kiss My Name' and were intrigued about the author, this book will give you a sneak peak behind that door. It is a trip through each and every round of the FA Cup of 2013-14, which appeals to followers of football (soccer for those across the pond, there's no padding or helmets here). The football it serves up shows a keen interest in the game and allows us glory hunters who follow a successful club an appreciation of football in the minor leagues. There is also Calvin's own story that makes the trip poignant and flags up that in hard times there is a great charitable spirit out there to be found growing out of sad cases as in the appeal for funds for Christies for the cancer campaign but simple kindness exemplified by Stevenage FC personnel. I enjoyed the read and hope that sales of this book not only help raise funds for Christies but also help Calvin Wade as he forges a position amongst modern authors
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic FA Cup Journey, 11 Jun 2014
This review is from: Another Saturday & Sweet F.A (Kindle Edition)
A fascinating and thoroughly enjoyable journey through every round of the FA Cup from August 2013 until May 2014, a must read for any football fanatic or groundhopper, many memories and connections for me personally within the book, but it has something for every genuine football fan and particularly followers of the non league football scene will be able to relate to the contents I'm sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Another Saturday & Sweet F.A
1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews