Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Feeling The Force
Whether or not you still believe Basement Jaxx to be a vital force in
the Listening World will depend to a large extent on your staying power.
It seems hard to believe that their debut 'Remedy' first hit the streets
in 1999. Is it me or does that seem like an absolute freakin' age ago!

Look, my money is still following the music. Simon Ratcliffe...
Published 7 months ago by The Wolf

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad
Not as good as previous albums
Published 5 months ago by JANINE


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Feeling The Force, 25 Aug. 2014
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Junto (Audio CD)
Whether or not you still believe Basement Jaxx to be a vital force in
the Listening World will depend to a large extent on your staying power.
It seems hard to believe that their debut 'Remedy' first hit the streets
in 1999. Is it me or does that seem like an absolute freakin' age ago!

Look, my money is still following the music. Simon Ratcliffe and Felix Brown
continue to have the right stuff as far as I'm concerned. There's a crisp,
knowing and refreshing sweet-soul-disco quality to Junto which effortlessly
synthesises much of what has gone down on the dancefloor over the past
quarter of a century or more and they deliver it with pizazz and panache.

If you don't immediately start jiggling to a song like 'What's The News'
then you need to get a rhythm gland transplant; it's as splendid a piece
of mirrorball-heaven as I've heard this side of the 80's and then some!
The tropical Afro-Latin mayhem of 'Rock This Road', too, is totally
addictive and the shuffling beach party beats of 'Mermaid Of Salinas'
channels the spirit of Sergio Mendes into an irresistible Brazilian frenzy.

The Force is clearly still with them!

Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A welcome return to form for Basement Jaxx!, 25 Aug. 2014
By 
Mr. D. K. Baxter "HouseSpurs" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Junto (Audio CD)
I've been eagerly anticipating this new offering from Simon and Felix for many months now hoping that I was going to enjoy it as much as I did their earlier work all those years ago. I just felt they had ever so slightly lost their way with the last couple of albums. Delighted to say it hasn't disappointed at all and this is a true return to form that is as good as Remedy or Rooty. This really is what Basement Jaxx are all about and what they do best, accessible catchy house pop tunes sprinkled with latin influences, which I really hope propels Basement Jaxx back to to the forefront of mainstream dance music as this really is where they belong. The albums proves that they are more than still capable of producing a current and in demand sound with an originality that still has the signature Basement Jaxx sound. The special 2 disc edition really is a no-brainer for me, the bonus disc showcases some extra material and remixes that highlights their slightly darker, clubbier sound that is a great addition to the standard disc.

Highly recommended and statement to the newcomers in this genre that Basement Jaxx have still got it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The rhythm, The tracks, The Bassline, The Jaxx!!!!, 23 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Junto (Audio CD)
Basement Jaxx are finally back and in my humble opinion this could be they're best work for a very long time.Ive only made it to see these guys once at the Isle of Wight festival a few years ago and they're amazing but album wise since 'remedy' theyre debut these guys have not really managed to cut it for me and by that I mean I love individual tracks on the Jaxxz albums but not the entire package??? However Junto ( I got the special edition, which isnt one of these special editions with one or two 'bonus' tracks which just don't cut the mustard this particular special edition has a second CD which has something like 7 bonus tracks!!!) is possibly they're greatest album so far.Imagine sticking this CD on in your bedroom your car or wherever hitting the play button then instantly being transferred to the craziest party you ever go to and thats the closest I can describe this unique and brilliant album, this is without question one of the albums of the year. An utterly crucial purpose for anybody who is going to a festival this year and those that love dance music/house music just COMPLETELY EXCELLENT!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make sure you buy the deluxe edition, 4 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Junto (Audio CD)
Make sure you buy the deluxe edition. It is a £1 cheaper at the moment and has a dozen extra tracks. They are mixed as dance tracks and sound tip top. I prefer them to the proper album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... for something new to listen to but am very glad I did it's a great album, 21 Oct. 2014
By 
M. G. Arbuthnott (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Junto (MP3 Download)
Purchased this just for something new to listen to but am very glad I did it's a great album. Lyrically there is not much going on but it is a dance album. What is so good here is the sound. Clealry a band working at a high level of competency in their field. The album crosses a number of dances genres- all successfully- while having a couple of trackis that standout out as phonically really new. Great!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Discoing in my car!, 8 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Junto (Audio CD)
I absolutely love this album! I am wearing it out on my car stereo and I am sure people think I am totally crazy, with the bass cranked up, discoing in my car! I dare you to keep still to Power to the People, What's the News and Mermaid of Salinas. I expect they will be using some of these tracks for the samba or salsa on Strictly soon....Basement Jaxx are often picked up for TV theme tunes because of their unique and catchy sound and I doubt this will be any different. If the Latin beat isn't your thing then there is enough other choice on this album ranging from soulful melodies to the drum and bass like track, Buffalo. Fabulous work guys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Junto (Audio CD)
Nice to hear some old skool house music. Wonderful album, best of the lot for me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Their finest hour, 12 Oct. 2014
By 
Papalamour "papalamour" (caernarfon. Cymru/Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Junto (Audio CD)
Stunning joyful collection of songs. A rebirth, cannot be faulted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... Jaxx never fail to impress and this album is great., 20 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Junto (MP3 Download)
Basement Jaxx never fail to impress and this album is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Junto (Audio CD)
Is a recommend for all die hard Basement Jaxx fans!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Junto (Bonus CD) [VINYL]
Junto (Bonus CD) [VINYL] by Basement Jaxx (Vinyl - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews